We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty tables but still a 6 hour wait on a Saturday”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Siniikaung Steak & Chop House
Ranked #12 of 146 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Saginaw, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Empty tables but still a 6 hour wait on a Saturday”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife got us tickets to see "The Price is Right Live" on a Saturday". We arrived 3 hours early and wanted to eat a nice dinner before the show. We went to the Steak House only to be told it would be a 6 HOUR wait. We looked around and saw empty seats and an empty bar. We were told we could not eat up at the bar. For customer service there should have been an exception for eating at the bar. The manager said they were shorthanded!!! On a Saturday which they know is going to be busy. The couple in front of us called ahead and were told that they don't take reservations. They were told to come at 630PM and that they would be assured a seat. Guess what? NO SEATS!! Not impressed with the Management of the Steak House!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jayball102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
national tour
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Loved the fresh fish. The steak that my friend had looked amazing. It is odd to see ashtrays on the tables. The service was good but very slow. THis is probably because there were about 10,000 people in the casino.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelinglizard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent - must splurge at least once!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have never had a bad meal here. It is pricey, but well worth it. This is how steak is done! The chef obviously takes pride in his or her work. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. We will return again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andeli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, MI
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pricey and slow service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went with friends for dinner and was a bit taken aback by the prices. It is a upscale restaurant so I understand the prices but was surprised at how casually dressed everyone was. Our server mentioned she was picking up our table as a favor to the assigned waiter who "was overwhelmed." Thought that comment was odd, especially from such an upscale place. The water person came over with enough water to fill two glasses then had to come back to fill the rest. We asked for lemon and had to ask three times. When it was brought to the table it was done on a skewer then set on a bread plate.

Service was slow, we had to ask for things several times before it was brought, and staff seemed either disinterested or untrained. The meal was good, but for the price I expected more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PetalMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful fine dining experience.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Casual dress code but surely top of the line dining. The steaks (mine filet mieagnon) was one of the best I've had. Great selection of beverages from coffee, tea, soft drinks, beers, wines, and mixed drinks. A place you want to take your time and enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siniikaung Steak & Chop House also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to Siniikaung Steak & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing