We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, few frills.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 E Pickard, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fine, few frills.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night in May while visiting Central Michigan University. I was looking for something simple, inexpensive, and easy to find, which this place was. The hotel looks like it was originally a Microtel, with its tiny rooms just large enough for the bed. There was a tiny shelf holding the coffee maker that could have served as a sort of desk, and it did have a basic chair. The wardrobe was built in the the corner and had the TV on top. There was also a bench window seat with two drawers built in underneath. Two walls had large mirrors, making the room seem lighter and a little larger than it really was, although it still felt cramped to me. The bathroom was clean and not especially small. It did not require one to stand on the toilet to shut the door, but there wasn't much extra space. Everything was just enough. I wouldn't want to stay here long, or spend much time in the room except to sleep, but for a place to crash it was perfect.

They have free breakfast in the morning, which was similarly simple but enough. I saw juice, milk, coffee and tea, plus hot chocolate mix. There was bread for toast, muffins, eggo waffles, yogurt, and two kinds of dry cereal as well as some instant oatmeal packets and fresh fruit (bananas and apples). The seating was not plentiful, but while I was there it was not full, and they kept the tv on a morning news program at reasonable volume.

The immediate surroundings include several restaurants, a grocery store, and some other chain stores. It is right next to the highway, so convenient for travelers, but the city of Mt. Pleasant is not that big and you could stay here and still get to the other side of town in 15 minutes or less by car.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtpleasantinn, Guest Relations Manager at Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Mount Pleasant Inn and Suites. We are glad you had a positive experience here with us during your stay. You are correct, we were formerly a Microtel Inn, but we strive to be the best value in the area despite our small sized rooms. We appreciate your kind words about the many amenities we provide for our guests, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Jaymie Collins
Mount Pleasant Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Other than my 81 year old father turning ill this hotel was a very nice hotel. Very clean and Friendly. Midnight guy appeared to be new and didn't know a lot but afternoon Gal that checked me in was super sweet. Nice location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this hotel online and were charged $94 (not the $88 that was posted on the sign in front of the hotel). The motel was clean and the room was nice, although a bit older. There was no indoor pool. We were located about a mile from a casino and asked if they had a hotel shuttle to the casino and they said no, but would give us the number of a local cab company they used. Well, the number was wrong so we just gave up and decided to drive to the casino. The free breakfast was super limited and unappealing but they did offer a discount at the I-HOP across the street. All in all, we just felt like it was a lot of money for a hotel with few amenities this time of year in Michigan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeshoreLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 1 night while in Mt. Pleasant for a golf tournament. 1/2 the price of the casino and very clean. As indicated in the title, no frills + the rooms are small and the tv is oddly placed above the closet. It's on the main drag and there is some traffic noise. But if you're just crashing, and don't need glitz, nightlife, you can't miss here. You also get a discount to eat @ the IHOP across the street if you prefer to skip the free continental breakfast for some bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel rather than Soaring Eagle Casino Hotel just down the street. The room I stayed in had the TV mounted above the closet and the "couch" was the window sill. I never experienced that before. The free breakfast was not bad. The room rate and location sold me on this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I had room 228.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElliottRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed here after visiting the casino for the day. very relaxing and comfortable. very clean and friendly. reasonable in price. We would recommend this motel to our friends and family. within good distance for meals and entertainment. will definately stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sieggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed at this facility when it was originally a MicroTel and over the past couple years as it's new name. Clean, comfortable rooms & pleasant staff. Easy access from 127, consistently good rate & reliable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyre926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn Mount Pleasant
Baymont Inn Mount Pleasant
#5 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Wolds Motel
Wolds Motel
#11 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mt. Pleasant
Fairfield Inn Mt. Pleasant
#7 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites

Address: 5500 E Pickard, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858
Location: United States > Michigan > Isabella County > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property was built in 1997 and was redone in 2013. Our high standard of cleanliness, along with our friendly environment, makes the Mount Pleasant Inn and Suites a must-stay location. We have been told by MANY guests we have the best beds in town! We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a clean, comfortable hotel. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast that includes many delicious options. We also offer free wireless Internet access and free nationwide long distance calling. We are conveniently located in Mount Pleasant, Michigan, just off I-27 Freeway and on the east side of M-20. We are one mile from the Soaring Eagle Casino and three miles from the Campus of Central Michigan University. We are also conveniently located to many parks, golf courses and restaurants. We also offer a 24-hour taxi service that serves the entire central Michigan area. And those looking for a ride to the casino, it is only $4 per person per ride for a single rider. Or if there is 2 riders or more it is $2 per person per ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mt. Pleasant Inn And Suites
Microtel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing