We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cost/benefit, cozy place”
Review of Graskop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Graskop Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's a great hotel, right in the middle of the panorama route. I recommend staying in Graskop for this route, it's the closest place. The hotel was very nice, we stayed in a garden room because we preferred a "clean" decoration to the artsy ones. We arrived late but the staff managed to accommodate us for dinner, they were all very friendly. One important advice is to arrive here before dawn. At night the region gets very foggy and driving is dangerous. The visibility is very poor and there might be loose cattle on the roads as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatibarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 608 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Graskop hotel for four days during the past festive season. It is an artists paradise in terms of the decor in the rooms, and longe. With a homely feel, the rooms were clean, and hospitality up to par. I recommend you try the breakfast, everything tastes homemade. It is ideal for getting around the panorama route as its central

Room Tip: Ask for a double room facing the street as it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and loved the Graskop Hotel.
Lots of fascinating art throughout the hotel and rooms and art deco furniture in the lounge .
Out high point was a 5 course xmas dinner with duck AND perfectly grilled fillet for mains.
The starters were sweet melon with gammon which we followed with a trout terrine and third course of butternut soup.
The homemade trifle dessert was delicious and we got a cup full of rum and raison fudge and shortbread.It was a complete surprise to have my best meal of the year at Graskop and at R175 per head.
Congrats to the chef

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed there with a friend in November 2013 and it was an unforgettable place. I felt home immediately. The rooms are cosy, the staff super friendly and the food absolute fantastic (5 stars !! home cooking) !!
I would always go again !!! High recommendation from me. Have fun, Alexandra (Sascha)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and muffins plus a good selection cooked to order. Clean and tidy rooms but small double bed. The garden room with patio was pleasant. Good location in the centre of town with secure parking outside the room - a bit like a motel. Staff pleasant and helpful but a bit impersonal overall.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were nice enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_IrelandMarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

You would not expect to find such a quirky hotel with imaginative arty rooms and lounges in rural Mpumalanga! Each room is designed by a different artist yet is warm and cozy. The room was clean and the beds super comfy! Very warm reception and good vibes. The hotel has fireplaces in the lounge, bar and dining room and the feel of traditional hospitality good old times. There is a lovely big oval-shaped pool to swim (wish I could have used it - unfortunately it was not swim weather during our stay). Loved it and would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatandByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were booked into Graskop hotel by a tour group. What a pleasant surprise! Such a small town with such nice accomodation. Warm reception. Clean rooms. Excellent service. Very nice and tasty food. Simply a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobus & Carin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
11.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
19.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
8.0 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
17.1 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
310 reviews
16.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graskop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graskop Hotel

Address: Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Price Range: $81 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Graskop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An art gallery you can sleep in" - Greenwood Guides - 2006. Privately owned 3 star "art" hotel. In the heart of the Panorama Route, Close to the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, and various waterfalls. Malaria free area. 19 Artist rooms, each decorated by a different artist, and 15 Garden suites, all with en suite facilities. Bed and breakfast at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Graskop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graskop Hotel Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing