We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Find”
Review of Graskop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graskop Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graskop
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a garden room at this hotel as advised by TripAdviser and were not disappointed Really nice roomy room with table and chairs in the garden.The hotel itself had large airy lounges and bar together with a large swimming pool.
When we arrived however after a fairly long journey and to a town we did not know we were told that we could not have dinner in the hotel.But a two minute walk from the hotel we found the Glasshouse Restaurant where the food and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardandjeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 631 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms very interesting each with thier own artist theme. The choice at breakfast was extensive and the location convenient at the centre of Graskop which is close to Blyde River and Kruger Park. Also check out the Mozambican restaurant across the the road which was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoorseyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, with wonderful garden rooms at very affordable rates. Warm welcome by very friendly staff, giving valuable advice on day trips and helping us to check in and print boardingpasses. Good restaurant in special setting of mix of traditional and modern style. Clean swimmingpool in well maintained garden. For occupants of gardenrooms own parking place a few meters from the room. Other guests can also park within the fence.

Room Tip: Book a gardenroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wow each room is a suprise ! We had a lovely bungalow / garden room. The staff here is just so nice. It was rainy and cold on one of our days and the wonderful bartender lit the fire for me while I was using the wi-fi just so I could warm up. We stayed here in September 2012 on our way to Kruger National park and also to visit some friends in town. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel coming from Blyde River Canyon and had not booked ahead.
From the street it looks bleak, but we were surprised to discover an inviting pool and a lovely garden in the back yard. There are rooms in the main building but we chose a room in the bungalow where you can park your car safely next to your room. Each unit has a separate outdoor space where you can sit and admire the beautiful garden. The internet connection in the lobby is good. The restaurant served a three course set dinner and the food was good. But the next night there was no restaurant service because they had too few customers. Above all we liked the design and style of the hotel, spacious restaurant area and sitting room with a view to the pool. The furniture is a mix of old and new. One of the owners is involved in collecting art items and specifically promote African artists whose works are exposed in the restaurant area and in the lobby. We are now the proud owners of a beautiful piece of African art. It is an art gallery next to the hotel which is worth visiting. Graskop is a small but nice town which has bars, restaurants, small shops and ATMs. There are also several attractions nearby like God's Window, Pilgrim's Rest and Forest Falls.

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms in the garden, more quiet than rooms in the main building and on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

when we arrive there after 4 hours trip we where all disapoited. a very old hotel , not clean , bathromm was full of Fungus not able to open the window at least its not too bad was not sure to be ready to touch it! avoid this place if you can,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibedard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We needed a place to stay the night on the way to Kruger, and we found the location to be good. We appreciated the family-sized room and the close proximity to Paul Kruger gate at Kruger National Park, as well as the locked gate for car parking. The breakfast was basic but hearty, so we were set for the one night we spent there. I can't see doing more than a night, but it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
24.7 mi away
Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort
11.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
19 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
393 reviews
19.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
17.1 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graskop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graskop Hotel

Address: Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Graskop
Price Range: $106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Graskop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An art gallery you can sleep in" - Greenwood Guides - 2006. Privately owned "art" hotel. In the heart of the Panorama Route, Close to the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, and various waterfalls. Malaria free area. 19 Artist rooms, each decorated by a different artist, and 15 Garden suites, all with en suite facilities. Bed and breakfast at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Graskop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graskop Hotel Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing