We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish hotel and grounds”
Review of Graskop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graskop Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
London UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very stylish hotel and grounds”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our trip to SA after leaving a game lodge in the Kruger and driving the Blyde River Canyon route. It is an ideal stop for that purpose (or in reverse direction) and many people seem to do it. The small town of Graskop is by far one of the most pleasant we went to from a visitor's point of view and has some great places to eat like Harrie's Pancakes and the terrific Portuguese/Mozambiquan restaurant Carimambo very close to the hotel - wish we'd been hungrier.

It was a real shame that the weather did its absolute worst and it was pouring with rain the whole time we were at the hotel. The gardens and the large pool are lovely. Luckily the same is true of the public areas in the main building. I loved the reading room facing the pool, and the restaurant is very chic with one of the best buffet breakfasts of the trip. Lots of interesting furniture and artworks to admire.

We had two garden rooms with nice new bathrooms. The rooms are individually decorated - our sons had one which was fun and interesting, unfortunately the artist who did ours must have been suffering a block as it was almost entirely blinding white and felt a bit clinical. It was all very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Staff were helpful enough but without the warmth we'd become accustomed to in other places we stayed. It was excellent value for money compared to what you'd pay for a hotel of this standing in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    262
    134
    27
    9
See reviews for
145
284
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We found this gem of a hotel after a disappointing visit to Pilgrims rest.

It was enlightening to find rooms, individually decorated with local artists' works.

We were given a choice of a family room at the back of the hotel but opted for the individually designed rooms in the front.

If your are looking for a bed and some arty inspiration, try this quaint hotel in the magnificent and picturesque Mpumalanga Province.

Beware of rude cleaners who insist on cleaning rooms whilst people are in the bathroom, completely interfering with the privacy of guests.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutsh-Thrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Graskop Hotel for 1 night in November 2012 after being in KNP for 6 nights. It was very comfortable and best of all had internet access(wi-fi) in the lobby. Our room was a beautiful garden room and was a special place for our last night of a trip of a lifetime !! The breakfast was included and was served in front of a warm fire. It was a full breakfast with eggs to order and fresh fruit, breads, tea and coffee. The atmosphere of the entire hotel was very warm and welcoming and we felt right at home. We were centrally located in Graskop so we could walk around and explore the town. We would definitely return to the Graskop Hotel if our travels take us this way again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel (annex art gallery is located in the center of Graskop. The interior is designed by South African artists and they did a very good job. The lounge and dining room are awesome; the combination of African and colonial artefacts creates a perfect atmosphere.
The comfortable rooms aren't big but are well furnished in a very basic way.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Graden rooms are great
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Enjoyed the individually decorated rooms and the artwork throughout the hotel. Secure parking. Breakfast was reasonable. There is a swimming pool although the weather wasn't kind enough at the time of our visit. Graskop is a great place to stay to explore the Blyde River Canyon area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights on the advice of our hosts in Johannesburg. The blank facade belies the imaginative interior - rooms are each decorated by a contemporary African artist (ours overlooked the pool and gardens) and there is a little gallery. Staff are gentle, friendly and welcoming. It is centrally located in this busy and interesting little town and we used it as a base for visits to Kruger, Blyde River Canyon and Pilgrim's Rest. We spent the remaining month of our trip trying to emulate it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graskop, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This quaint hotel with its individually decorated rooms and landscaped garden is in walking distance to all Graskop's interesting little shops and great restaurants. Enjoyable self drive day trips can be made to all the natural attractions on the Panorama route such as God's Window, Burkes Luck Potholes and Blyde River Canyon. The Kruger National Park is a mere 41km from the hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
11.8 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
2.0 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graskop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graskop Hotel

Property: Graskop Hotel
Address: Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Graskop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An art gallery you can sleep in" - Greenwood Guides - 2006. Privately owned 3 star "art" hotel. In the heart of the Panorama Route, Close to the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, and various waterfalls. Malaria free area. 19 Artist rooms, each decorated by a different artist, and 15 Garden suites, all with en suite facilities. Bed and breakfast at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Graskop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graskop Hotel Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing