We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disaster”
Review of Firebreak Pub and Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firebreak Pub and Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cosy, intimate pub and grill with a great atmosphere. Best known for it's homemade wood fire pizza's and gigantic flame grilled steaks. It is a family-run business and the owner/chef provides personal attention to all clients. Come and enjoy fun-filled evenings with some very interesting locals. This is Jagermeister country. Pub open from 11:00 till late Kitchen open from 11:30 to 20:30 Deliveries in Graskop
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a disaster”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The first night we phoned to place an order for delivery as our menu stated orders can be placed from 11:00 - 22:00, when I phoned to place an order I was told the kitchen closes at 20:30 already. The following night I phoned much earlier to place an order for delivery and I was asked to phone Jaco (the son) s he was at the bar. Jaco took the order but could not deliver as he was alone at the bar. He asked for 30 minutes to prepare the pizza's. After 30 minutes we went to collect our food, it smelled devine and it was pretty large boxes for the pizza's. We arrived home and opened the first box to find a pizza half the size of the box and it tasted like cardboard with spice. We ordered the Jet fuel and cockpit pizza. After the disappointment of the first box we opened the second box and not surprised at all, we had another baby pizza that even looked like cardboard. We were seriously not impressed with the food. There was no extra delay in collecting the pizza so we can not even blame time for the low quality in food. There was no one at the bar, no one in the parking lot, just us collecting our order.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Illse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenciaB, Owner at Firebreak Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi there, Let me firstly apologize for the bad quality of the pizza's and secondly for not being able to deliver your order. Unfortunately I couldn't be at Firebreak in person as I had a hip and ankle operation, normally I am always there and tend to the food and pizza orders personally. Just a correction on your review from our side. It clearly states on our menu's that our kitchen closes at 20h30 and the bar at 22h00. Must have been an oversight. If in future you visit Graskop again I would appreciate it if you could come back to Firebreak for two complimentary pizza's that I will personally prepare for you. We have an excellent reputation where our pizza's are concerned and I would like to proof that to you. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this unfortunate bad experience and I hope you give us a second chance to rectify that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personalised service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

When we got to the Firebreak Pub we received personalised service which made us feel very special. The pizzas were excellent!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cossy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenciaB, Owner at Firebreak Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much. Pizza is our signature-dish. Glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“A diamond soaked in Jägermeister!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute gem this little place was. If you drive through town and don't pay attention you will miss it.

We happened upon this little local pub that is filled with so much character and colorful locals. If you are looking for a more personal insight into the local flavor of people this is a must!

My fiancé and I had such a great time. With a barman that makes you feel welcome and does a wonderful job at entertaining his customers, we never felt like outsiders even when we just sat on the side lines.

Firebreak pub is a must visit if you are looking for a fun time and excellent pizza... Be warned, Jägermeister is the house drink and it flows from a seemingly bottomless reservoir.

Helpful?
Thank DorianMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenciaB, Owner at Firebreak Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It is good to know that our commitment to our customers are noticed. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lekker hide away ”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

A more personal experience with the locals. Perfect getaway from the usual over commercialized spots.

Love the heli fire fighting style, was hoping to hear some interesting stories from the pilots, but none in the lowveld at the time. Fire season is in winter

Helpful?
Thank Kwestie5953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenciaB, Owner at Firebreak Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Glad you enjoyed it. Please pop in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quite a little find”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you don't catch the sign as you drive to the Canyon you'd never know this was here. Small place, good atmosphere, friendly bartender. Awesome pizzas but more like a pub than a restaurant which suits us. Met some interesting locals who made for an entertaining evening. Beware the Jagermeister!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barneypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenciaB, Owner at Firebreak Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good day,

Thanks for the wonderful review about Firebreak Pub in Graskop. We are looking forward to see you again soon. Greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebreak Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing