We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay at for a family trip”
Review of Summit Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summit Lodge
Ranked #11 of 15 Graskop B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great place to stay at for a family trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went down to Mpumalanga for a Easter getaway. This was our 4th visit to Summit Lodge
and never a dissapionment. Staff and management always very friendly and helpfull.

We stayed at the train (backpackers). Great fun for the kids as our room is a compartment of an
old train coach.

Summit Lodge is also very central to all the nice places the low-veld has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNALIZEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    6
    11
    2
See reviews for
12
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at Summit Lodge back in 2010 when things were run down and it just wasn't a nice place to be. I came back with some friends this year (we've just left) and what a difference the new owners have made! An overhaul of the restaurant menu means we're now faced with all sorts of nice delights from fish, to chicken, steaks, salads and pastas. All of the plates we tucked in to were enormous size. The pub has a nice ambience and it's a great chance for you to get chatting to locals. Chris and Laura have done a great job overhauling this place and with their amazingly friendly staff, they're surely to go a lot further!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in a rondavel at Summit Lodge for two nights. The room was fine, everything we needed and at a good price. It is a brilliant location for the Drakensberg panoramic routes, and all the best places are within very easy reach.
The grounds at Summit Lodge are well maintained, there are some wonderful plants, attracting butterflies and birds. There is a good swimming pool and a particularly good braai area. Other plus points are the secure parking and wireless internet access.

The staff were all very obliging and helpful, preparing pap and salad for our braai, offering help and advice.
The meals in the restaurant were good value and tasty, with a variety of dishes on offer. We would happily stay here again and would recommend it as a good place to stop-over in Graskop.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonvisitor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We loved the stay here. The food was the best we had in all our Africa travels. Portions were large and the dining area was beautifully done. We found all the staff very friendly and the management was very helpful. They ensured we had everything we needed and were always available to help out and to visit as well. You can tell the grounds are very well maintained and well groomed. It was clean accomodations and priced right. Such a great place to stay and close to everything you need. We stayed for 4 nights and ate in the dining room for every meal and must say the food was excellent and above all the other places we stayed at throughout east Africa and South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed at Summit lodge a few times, mainly because it seemed fairly cheap.

It is cheaper than some of the other places, but dinner was overpriced.

We were a group of 10, despite spending a air bit of money we got chased out of the dining room..... they wanted to tidy it up and get it ready for the next day.... BUT... we were the only people staying there at the time !!!

I have given them good business, dissapointed every time so far, booked again hoping for better ... but to no avail.

But, on to more specific things :

The rooms are rondavels.

Fairly clean... but old. and a bit tacky.

Keys do not fit properly, old locks, door knobs falling off.

Food, very very average.

Management at the summit lodge think they are doing you a favour by letting you stay there.

They also have an old train wagon.

Its the "budget" accommodation.

You can sleep in the compartments of the old train.

Its a very hard and cramped sleep, and rather stay in the rondavels.

Actually, rather stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Graskop hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graskop hotels
0.3 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valley View Backpackers
Valley View Backpackers
#6 of 14 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#5 of 15 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge

Property: Summit Lodge
Address: 8 Market Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing