We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay - very central”
Review of Zur alten Mine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zur alten Mine
Ranked #2 of 15 Graskop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“The best place to stay - very central”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Zur Alten Mine for 4 days, what wonderful place to stay and the very friendly and helpful hosts Walli and Rainer, gave us the local knowledge of the best places to visit as well as a wonderful breakfast each day.
Beautiful, well equipped log cabin, with stunning views, very central to all the tourist areas.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    103
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
166
278
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this lodge. We arrived with heavy rain but as soon as we were settled in the lodge we saw through the window a huge rainbow that welcomed us! It is a convenient place to visit the Blyderiver Canyon. The owners are kind and helpful. The lodge is like a Swiss chalet. The open fire is romantic but it was not easy to get it work properly. There is a nice breakfast in the morning and for dinner there are a few options in the city of Graskop, recommended by the host.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the “Zur Alten Miene“ in April 2013. The place is really great with a nice garden and a huge pond. It is close to all the attraction of the Panorama Route and only about 3 or 4 km away from Graskop so it was no problem to go out for dinner. There is a great place to eat called “The Glass House”. The food there was really good. We went there both evenings. We got nice breakfast at the lodge with everything you need, including fresh baked bread. The owners helped us with planning our tours there and also gave us advice on which road to take to our next destination which was really helpful! The cottages are cozy and fully equipped with a kitchen and a fireplace. There is also a balcony with a braai. Everything was very nicely decorated and clean. We would definitely choose this place again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkisGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed two nights at Zur Alten Mine. Access to Graskop was only 5 min by car and the panorama route starts there so very convenient. Walli & Rainer were very helpful and keen to make my stay enjoyable. The cabin was a bit smoky since there is a fireplace in the main room so that may affect those with smoke allergies, but for me it added to the ambiance. The little details like a hot water bottle for the cool nights were appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I were visiting South Africa after a 12 year interval and due to timing we could only stay one night in mid-April in the Graskop Area. After reading the various comments on Trip Advisor we settled on Zur alten Mine and what a find.!! The directions in Rainer's email were spot on and we arrived without any issues to be greeted by Rainer and their three dogs.

Rainer had previously asked my wife and I to switch to the Honeymoon Cottage to accommodate guests who were staying 7 nights and overlapped with our booking and what a lovely cottage it is.

My daughter and family stayed in the family cottage.

Breakfast was one of the best that you could get anywhere with freshly prepared eggs the way you want them, homemade bread, cheese, ham, tomatoes and cereals. What a great way to start the day!

Rainer had previously recommended we have dinner in the Glass House in Graskop, lovely venue and can be recommended, also see review on Trip Advisor

Would love to stay at the resort again when more time permits.

Room Tip: Put on the heater before using the bathroom of the Honeymoon Cottage in Autumn, Winter and early Spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hi,

Firstly Rainer & Walli were very inviting and that personal touch is what lacking at most other establishments.

The cabin were we stayed had all the required amenities and exceeded our expectations for the rate we paid.

A nice touch was the daily supply of wood for the fireplace, it created that relaxing and cozy private cabin in the woods ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerickPieterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed in Zurich Alten for 3 night during the beginning of April. We truly loved the place. Both the landscape of this resort as well as the chalets themselves are outstanding. W got the honeymoon chalet, which has a lovely fire place in it and is actually like a little apartment, with kitchen, balcony and lots of grass, flowers and trees all around. Every day there's fresh flowers put in the room and the feeling of being there is lovely.
The breakfast is nice and the couple running the resort gives a good service. They are service oriented, geared towards making their customers happy and is happy to guide with the sightseeing in the area, the distance to Graskop is very short and it's nice going out there in the evening for dinner. Tough it is surely possible to self cook in the chalet.
I would love coming back again and again to this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
3.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
361 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
2.3 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
60 reviews
2.2 mi away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#5 of 15 in Graskop
168 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur alten Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur alten Mine

Property: Zur alten Mine
Address: R532/R533, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur alten Mine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Graskop and overlooking the beautiful Mpumalanga escarpment you will find our Guest farm. The name ZUR ALTEN MINE is German and means "to the old mine". In the old days there was a private gold mine on this 10.5 Hectare property. Our guest farm is ideally situated to explore the Panorama Route with its spectacular view sites such as Gods Window, the Bourke's Luck Potholes and the Blyde River Canyon . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zur alten Mine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Alten Mine Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing