We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, relaxing, well maintained chalets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zur alten Mine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zur alten Mine
Ranked #2 of 15 Graskop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy, relaxing, well maintained chalets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a short but pleasant stay at Zur Alten MIne. The place is located about 4 km from the city, so it is really easy to get to a place to eat or do some shopping. The chalets were fully furnished, with a small kitchen and two rooms with double beds. Rainer, the owner, gave us great advices on what to do and where to go. The highest point is the wonderfull breakfast, with a great assortment of breads, jams and ham and other cured meats.
I certainly recommend Zur Alten MIne if you want a stop before or after the Kruger, to explore the beautiful Blyde river region.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    92
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
152
258
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful, relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. Enjoyed the gardens, lots of place to play. neat and serviced daily. We were pleaseanyly surprised when coffee, rusks and firewood were topped up daily. missed having a microwave and teapot though. Ideally situated from all the viewpoints but away from the hustle of a town. like your own bit of paradise.

Deepak and Samantha

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer M, Manager at Zur alten Mine, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your coments - it is much appriciated.
Next time if you need something like a microwave or teapot - just ask. We are more than happy to help you out with everything you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a relaxing, calm and beautiful place. The welcome from the hosts was warm and friendly. Chalet was clean, neat and fully furnished with all necessities. Planning to go back for their breakfast... It smelled nice when we were checking out.

Prince & Nolwazi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceNolwazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had the privilege of being able to stay at Zur Alten Mine over the Christmas weekend, and only have compliments on the clean, homely,well situated accommodation and friendly hosts. I would recommend Walli and Rainer's bit of paradise to all going to the Graskop/Sabie area! Trips to all the main site seeing areas are easy due to the central location, and advice on the best dining in Graskop is given from Rainer and Walli's personal experiences. The Chalets are well appointed and allow for a comfortable stay even for an extended stay (I would recommend nothing less than 4 days!) There is nothing that compares to being woken by the birds in the neighboring forest or the song of frogs in the evening from the pond out front. We certainly will be back!

Room Tip: I would rate the log and honeymoon chalet's as the best situated, with the 2 log chalets being t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The B&B is situated near Graskop, away from the tourist hotels yet at short distance from the major tourist destinations including Kruger. Chalets aren't luxurious but serve the purpose. Main hall has a lovely fireplace with plenty of wood. Kitchen has most of the necessary appliances for a short meal, however a microwave is sorely missed.
Walli and Rainer are nice and helpful. Though we reached a bit late in the evening, we were greeted with a smile ( and woof - 4 pet dogs).
Breakfast had a lot of variety, however for vegetarians option is limited (only omelettes/cheese).
Overall, I would recommend the place..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank himniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer M, Manager at Zur alten Mine, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated.
When our customers check in we always tell them if they need something, they should let us know. Because the kitchen space is limited we don´t put in microwave, but if you need one - just let us know; we always have one in spare ;-)
Our Breakfast consist of at least 3 different kind of breads and homemade rolls, fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, a variety of cheese, fresh vegetables, eggs(fried, scrambled or boild) , homemade jams and a variety of cold meats and cooked ham - so we think, even for vegetarians - a lot to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Chalets are beautiful. Hosts super friendly, we arrived late without informing them which is a bit of a no no but Walli and Rainer couldn't help but be gracious and nice about it. Lovely people. Fantastic rural location. The breakfast was solid! Such good value. The only shame was that we couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here. We loved this place! The little chalet was perfect and the bathroom had very luxurious fixtures. It is about 10 minutes out of town and so it is quiet and peaceful. There are goats, monkeys, and a pond with lily pads and lots of green grass. Buy the breakfast, it is a good value! The hosts are wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
1.9 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
2.1 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur alten Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur alten Mine

Property: Zur alten Mine
Address: R532/R533, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur alten Mine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Graskop and overlooking the beautiful Mpumalanga escarpment you will find our Guest farm. The name ZUR ALTEN MINE is German and means "to the old mine". In the old days there was a private gold mine on this 10.5 Hectare property. Our guest farm is ideally situated to explore the Panorama Route with its spectacular view sites such as Gods Window, the Bourke's Luck Potholes and the Blyde River Canyon . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Zur alten Mine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Alten Mine Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing