We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our return to Lisbon Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisbon Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisbon Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our return to Lisbon Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As with our first visit, we just love the peace & tranquility of Lisbon Hideaway. It is an ideal place with every convenience well thought out. The wooden chalets are well appointed & very comfy. Well done & thank you, Phillicity! It was great to see you again & we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Howard,

It is such a pleasure having guests like yourself returning to our little hideaway. Thank you for making time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.

Blessings from Lisbon,
Phillicity

PS: Thanks for the great chat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Regretfully, we only spent one night at this beautiful, secluded establishment. Our comfortable log cabin, perched on stilts, with a stunning view across the valley, was equipped with everything we needed. We were welcomed by the owner, Felicity, who, when she heard that we were passionate animal lovers and bird watchers, proceeded to tell us about the special animals and birds encountered on her pristine property, which has a sparkling river running through it. The Cape Clawless Otter can be seen at the river and on rare occasions they even venture across the green grass and can be found under the cabins. The Black Backed Jackal also frequents the area and can sometimes be observed. Many bird species can be observed too, such as the Jackal Buzzard, Owls, Geese, Weavers, Bul Buls, and many more.
If you are looking for peace and quiet, in an exquisite environment, then Lisbon Hideaway is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarilynHoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. Our little hideaway is definately for nature lovers like yourself. We look forward to your return. Hopefully it is a little longer and we can go for a walk in the wetlands.

Blessings from the Panorama,
Phillicity

PS: Join us on facebook to view our latest pictures & specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We safari'd in Kruger for a week in October of '13 and used Lisbon Hideaway as a jumping off point - we couldn't have picked a better place. It's perfectly located between OR Tambo and Kruger, right in the middle of the Panorama route. It's simple, clean and afforded a beautiful morning view. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend anyone else to do the same!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter - all 3 are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

We hope you had an awesome stay in SA!

All the best,
Phillicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claycatty
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend a while back. The cabins were brilliant - spacious, clean, well kitted out. Could easily sleep 2 couples and some kids in one cabin. Nice big lawn for activities while braaiing, and good position in terms of taking in all the attractions in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claycatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Claycatty,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review! It means a lot to us when we receive feedback from our guests.

Thank you highly recommending us to future guests!

Warm Regards,
Phillicity

PS: Follow us on Facebook for our latest news & specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful location and wonderful place. ideal for families and nature lovers. River to play and bath in. fully equipped cottage. I just missed the hairdryer and someone to do the service even on weekends. Big, clean beautiful views.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nuria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Nuria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us! We value your feedback & take all your recommendations to heart.

Warm Regards,
Phillicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the place to stay while visiting Graskop and the Blyde River Canyon
Its location is perfect it is very close to the panoramic rode of the god window and the Lisbon falls and also close to the Blyde river and the Bourke’s Luck Potholes.
The area is very beautiful only 3 cabins located in a country which were taken from picture, there is a lake beside those cabins where my children enjoyed a lot.
Nothing but quite, awesome sunset, clear sky with zero light prolusion where you can see all the starts
Wilma and Felicity are very friendly and helpful they explained us the area and what is that we need to see and since we had very short time they tried to optimize our root in order for us to see everything we planned.

The morning was amazing, this is the place you want to wake up into.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Shlomi,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review about our little hideaway. We appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests & hope that it is helpful to future guests!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in SA & will return soon to our beautiful country!

Warm Regards,
Phillicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This little hideaway has become my home away from home. Set in the stunning country side you shall find 3 wooden cabins. Each cabin sleeps 6. 4 adults and 2 children. All self catering. Each have a full kitchen with all it's needs. Perfect place to relax. It's also central to all the tourist spots. Sitting on the deck and listening to the wind blow through the trees and the water from the steam as you look over the trees and mountains. It's a place you have to go to experience nature at its best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Strictlykp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisbonHideaway, Owner at Lisbon Hideaway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear KP,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our little hideaway!

We value your feedback & hope it will assist our future guests!

We look forward to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Phillicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graskop hotels
4.2 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
4.5 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Daan's Place
Daan's Place
#2 of 13 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Hideaway

Property: Lisbon Hideaway
Address: Lisbon Falls Road | Mpumalanga, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 7 km outside Graskop, just off the R532 towards Blyde River Canyon, Lisbon Hideaway serves as the ideal base from which to explore an extensive range of Mpumalanga's most admired sites and activities. If you are looking for peace and tranquility in the countryside after a busy day's sightseeing, then our self-catering accommodation is ideal for your stay. Our accommodation consists of 3 timber chalets and one stone cottage. Each of our three timber chalets comes with two bedrooms (2 three quarter beds in each room), one bathroom (with bath), open plan kitchen (fully equipped) and living area (with a bunk bed), large open patio, outside braai and undercover parking. Sleeps a max of 4 adults and 2 children under 12. Our beautiful stone cottage comes with a large open plan bedroom (with queen bed), bathroom (with bath) and a living area with a fire place. Includes a separate, fully equipped kitchen flows onto a large covered patio. Own outside braai area. Accommodates a max of 2 adults. There are no TV's in our units. All units are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lisbon Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Hideaway Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing