We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Flycatcher Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flycatcher Castle
Ranked #7 of 15 Graskop B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

If you haven't stayed at Flycatcher Castle yet, there is definitely something missing in your life. This is an experience that cannot be missed!

To call it merely 5 star accommodation would be a sin. This experience is relaxation, entertainment and inspiration all rolled into a magnificent work of living art.

I cannot fathom wanting to stay anywhere else in Mpumalanga. I will definitely be back to visit this castle and its charming host!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NickStavrinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Flycatcher Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a difficult place to review. Because whilst we had a fantastic stay and really enjoyed being in such an artistic space, it's important to say that it will not be to everybody's taste. If you are looking for an amazing experience, something a bit different to the mundane run-of-the-mill hotels and particularly if you enjoy sculpture, then I would definitely recommend a visit.
The food is amazing, end of story. The host is a wonderful cook and the 5 course dinner we had was 5 star quality without doubt. The location is superb. Art is a personal thing but I enjoyed the works immensely and bought a piece. Our room, the mozart room, was perfect.
If you like to play it safe or are uncomfortable with art that expresses edgy issues including lgbt statements, then it may not be for you. This isn't a spotless 5-star b and b but rather a wonderfully quirky fantasy space to be enjoyed. The hosts could not work harder and are very approachable and want to do everything to make your stay enjoyable. But they do all themselves and things may not always run like clockwork. if you think you may enjoy it, then just go because you certainly will do so.

Room Tip: Mozart room worked well for us. Huge, I mean literally huge, comfy bed. Massive bathroom with standa...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The first question is, why stay in Graskop? The answer is that you are only a few minutes away from God's Window. From White River, you are 45 minutes away. All the other sights are closer to Graskop as well.
But then the second question is, where would you stay in Graskop? An excellent answer is the Flycatcher Castle, if you like interesting experiences. It's a fun place to stay because it is a castle, it is decorated in Art Deco style inside, and the innkeeper is an interesting and helpful person. He is an artist at heart, and he goes about preparing the included dinner with the same enthusiasm and artistry as he does his sculptures. The dishes are a "feast for the eyes" because of his presentation, but more importantly, they are a feast for your tongue. At one of our meals, he presented us a plate with a flower made out of food. It had 14 different flavors and the fun was combining various ones to see what the combination tasted like.
There is also lots of interesting art to look at, and the Innkeper may treat you to a concert in the castle's chapel.
Why stay in an ordinary hotel or B&B when you can stay here? It may look expensive, but remember that your dinner meal is included.
If you like wine, however, I would recommend you stop by a bottle store and bring your own. The innkeeper's choice of wine leaves a little to be desired.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Manie and Marco who offered us some sweet sherry. Manie was a gem when it came to suggesting places that we could visit in the surrounds of Graskop and beyond. He shared valuable information about the tourist areas.

While at the Flycatcher Castle it felt as though we had travelled in time into a place one cannot even begin to describe. The art, the food and the peacefulness cannot be compared to anything we have ever experienced before.

We had a 5 course meal prepared by Manie and Marco on the second night of our stay. Phenomenally awesome. The dessert was a chocolate mousse like I have never had before.

I would recommend this place unreservedly. There was nothing unpleasant about our stay at all.

By the way... Do not miss a tour into the chapel if you go there! Amazing Place!

Room Tip: If you are an adventurous couple, ask for the Honeymoon suite with the splash pool! ;)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Flycatcher Castle is a gem which I am so thrilled my husband and I were able to experience.
We stayed for 2 nights in January 2014 and it was by far one of the best experiences we both have had. We stayed in the Puccini Suite and it was gorgeous and tastefully decorated. The bed and linens are extremely comfortable, the shower is extremely spacious (we had a view of the beautiful garden), and the bath tub is decadent.
Manie, the owner, is a man of many talents because aside from the architectural marvel that is the Flycatcher, the cuisine he prepared for us was AMAZING. I moved to South Africa from San Francisco (a foodie city) 2 months ago and it was by far the best food I have had in the country. Literally, Michelin star standard. The detail he put into every dish was greatly appreciated and the food tasted as good at it looked. I would come back to Flycatcher just to have dinner if I were in the area for the day.

When one thinks of a castle in modern terms, one might think of something slightly theme-park-ish but the Flycatcher is the furthest thing from a that. Nestled in the hills, it is a retreat where we were able to relax and take in the beauty of the nature which surrounded us. The exterior is reminiscent of medieval castles of Europe while the interior is a mixture of art deco and neo classical. Manie went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful (he even woke up at 4:30 am to direct us to a nice place to watch the sun rise) and I would highly recommend a stay at the Flycatcher. It was hard for us to say which was more enjoyable, the Flycatcher Castle or Blyde River Canyon... both are truly unique hidden gems.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

One of my best experiences. I enjoyed getting to know the artist, Manie Connoway. His passionate take to life, art & details are well displayed, along with some good humor, throughout the castle. The Ruby Room was amazing with a very interesting twist. (not for the fainted heart) The whole stay and experience reminded me to pay attention to what you see in life and notice the smaller details :) Every piece of the castle has a story and a past to tell. If you are an open minded, this place is a MUST SEE on your bucket list. Thank you for an unforgettable experience. I look forward to displaying your artwork in our home and following your upcoming projects :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaasKaasBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Flycatcher Castle . The hospitality was great as well as the ambiance created by Manie. The rooms are unbelievable and the food 5 star quality. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend staying here when in Graskop area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinetteNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graskop hotels
0.6 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#5 of 15 in Graskop
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daan's Place
Daan's Place
#3 of 14 in Graskop
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flycatcher Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flycatcher Castle

Address: 4 Hugenote Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Graskop
Price Range: $194 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flycatcher Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Flycatcher Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flycatcher Castle Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing