We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Canyon Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyon Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We camped in Site No 1 for 2 nights. Good braai facilities, power point and tap close by. Good bathroom facilities - thank goodness for plenty of hot water! Our first night was freezing!!!! Used the restaurant for dinner on our second night. Good tasty food and very cosy with the fireplace. Just a pity that the staff seemed to congregate around the fireplace and be a little oblivious to guests. Visited the Fish River Canyon and Ai-Ais so it was a very convenient place to stay. Very interesting place in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 497 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wow, what a lovely stay we had here. We loved the décor as both my husband and I love old cars and signs. He was in his element. Rooms were comfortable. The food was delicious and the setting of the whole place was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed a night here while checking out the Fish River canyon. A good camping spot with a shady tree, light above the bbq area and a power point to connect the fridge and charge camera batteries and mobile phones. Nice shower and bathroom facilites close to the campsite. The staff were friendly and helpful. The roadhouse is close to the canyon +-15km's away.

Room Tip: We stayed in campsite #4. It had a big tree in the middle of the campsite and was a short walk away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Very original place. And funny... super kitchen! Friendly staff. Location is one of the good accommodations close to the canyon. the rooms are ok. But not so cosy as other places in Namibia. Rather cold and unattractive.. and no fridge. We had a problem at the bar. We left half a bottle of wine after diner. To finish the next day... the day after the bottle was almost emty when we got it back. but the manager corrected the problem immediately. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilvis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nice, friendly service. Everyone very helpful. Interesting setting, food good, with good value for money. Close to Fishriver Canyon. Roads in a good condiion. Rooms basic, but good for overnight accomodation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

A unique stop near Fish River Canyon. Rooms were good, as was the food. Good service from friendly staff. Fuel available (as it should be with such a name) and WiFi (provided you are in the right spot, by the bar). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this camping site. Lovely and big with private ablution. Beautiful gardens and bird life. The ablutions are about 200m from your campsite and when we stayed there they were not clearly marked which ablution for which campsite. They have private toilets but the showers are shared. Restaurant and bar on site as well as bed and breakfast option in rooms. The staff are not at all knowledgeable about the 3 lodges in the group as well as the fasilities they offer. And also not very helpful. No sign of management.
But we had a lovely stay in the campsite and enjoyed the trip to the Canyon tremendously.
We recommend that you leave your caravan or trailer there if you visit the Canyon, as you must past this spot again on your way out of the area.
We can recommend this camping site.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Hannelie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
33.6 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
372 reviews
9.9 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
586 reviews
9.2 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Roadhouse

Address: On the C 37 | 20 KM from the Main Lookout Point at the Fish River, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish River Canyon
Price Range: $170 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyon Roadhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its elaborate decor Canon Roadhouse has acquired a sort of cult status in Namibia: the good old days of the automobile are celebrated in the theme restaurant and bar. Enjoy a slice of our legendary Amarula cheesecake among coachwork arranged with loving care. The geology, flora, fauna and history of the area are explained on display boards at the Canyon Information Centre. Situated directly on the road to the Fish River Canyon, 14 km from the gate to the viewing points, Canon Roadhouse offers 24 immaculate en-suite rooms with air conditioning, a swimming pool and a petrol station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Canyon Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Roadhouse Hotel Fish River Canyon
Cañon Roadhouse Fish River Canyon
Canyon Roadhouse Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing