We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-see and surprisingly original oasis near the Fish River Canyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must-see and surprisingly original oasis near the Fish River Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After a long but interesting drive from Springbok South Africa and 76 km of good-quality dirt road from Gruenau, this Roadhouse is only 14 km from the entrance to the 2nd largest (Fish River -) Canyon of the world. Like an oasis in the Gondwana desert reserve, with gemsbok, zebra, ostrich and kudu sighted on the way, it has a beautiful garden with terrace and swimming pool to enjoy a cool beer and a very original and quirky Indiana Jones-like themed restaurant, bar and reception. Easy to see why this Lodge has achieved cult-like status (try Pandora's box in the toilets, read the funny posters !), with antique cars and paraphernalia strewn about between the tables, buffet and souvenir shop. Accommodation is in 24 basic but excellent quality air-conditioned rooms with en-suite walk-in shower, arranged around a court yard, also decorated with farm implements and antique cars. Manager Johan and his friendly staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. Also visit the very interesting and educational Canyon and Gondwana Information centre and admire their conservation efforts. Try the fantastic springbok- and oryx steak on the menu and drive on a reasonable 80 km dirt road to the nearby upmarket Canyon Road Village and Ai-Aiis Spa and Hot Springs Resort, for an interesting day-tour. While the Roadlodge offers free Wi-Fi, this is mainly centred around the reception area and unfortunately the petrol station does only accept cash, which may be a problem, since the nearest ATM is 130 km away (they're working on better electronic credit card facilities it, we were assured).
All in all, a wonderful & surprisingly original place, warmly recommended and one of the highlights during our trip in Southern Namibia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are overjoyed to hear your recent visit to the Roadhouse was such a delightful one and you enjoyed the unique memorabilia and décor. Thank you for complimenting our staff, and please be sure , we have forwarded your very kind words to the manager/s to thank them for all the efforts they put in to making your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    219
    46
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
218
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This roadhouse is unique with its old cars and memorabilia just everywhere inside and outside the buildings. You have to see it to believe it! The bar/restaurant area has a great atmosphere and the food and service is very good. A perfect place to stay to see the Canyon. We had a flat tyre and the manage arranged to get a new tyre for us from the nearest town which was very helpful. The rooms are 3 star but nice and comfortable, There are marked walks around the surrounding area to get views of the valley and the roadhouse which is worthwhile and take about an hour or so. Remember you will need petrol and they only take cash! We stayed two nights which was just right. This place is recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
What a delight it is to read about your recent stay and that you enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you for your kind words about the décor and setting. We always enjoy feedback from guests and are also thankful we were able to assist with your tire problem. Please include us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stop by at The Canyon Roadhouse on our way from Upington to Fish River Canyon. This classic place is like the only civilised place out of no where, with beautiful garden and amazing collection of automobil stuff. The food and service was good, and great to have cold Hansa draft in hot Namibian weather! We just stop for lunch and stayed at the Canyon Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chee Kong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location, setting and the interesting decor collection. Thank you for complimenting our food and service; we have already forwarded your comments to the lodge manager/s and staff for making your stay a memorable one. Visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Would be nice to have laundry back the same day especially when one plans to pack and leave early the next day. Restaurant service and dinner was great on the first night not so good the second night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are thankful for your comments and for taking the time to write a review. Our apologies for the inconvenience you suffered. It is one of those unfortunate, or rather fortunate situations as this area gets minimum rainfall per year. We did not expect to get so much rain that day and it being overcast completely. The end result off course; the laundry did not get dry as quickly as usual. But we would like to apologise once again. We hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Positive surprise in the middle of nowhere. Special ambiance. Main buolding is a kind of museum. Friendly staff, good service, good rooms. Part of the Gondwana Hotels. A little bit further south is the Canyon Lodge. Totally different but wondeful. Try both.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about Canyon Roadhouse, we appreciate the time you took in writing about your stay. We have forwarded your compliments about the friendliness of our staff to the lodge manager/s. We hope you will consider visiting one of our lodges in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Title says it all I guess... How great to encounter this hotel in the utter desolate landscape, with its quirky shop, layout and decor. But nothing quirky about the drinks at the bar, the food or the service - all top notch...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj-spark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing such an inspiring and positive review about your stay at Canyon Roadhouse and that you were so pleased with the decor, food, drinks and the overall layout. Be assured, we have forwarded your compliments to the lodge manager/s and staff to make sure they know how much their efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

While driving around we came across the Canyon Roadhouse - what a great place! The inside was amazing with all the old vehicles - thoroughly fascinating. We decided to have a look around and to have lunch. A sandwich and drinks was all we needed. Very good. Could not take our eyes off all the old cars and farm equipment - the ambulance with a prosthetic leg was so realistic. The Posters of Marilyn and Elvis took us back to our youth! We did not stay overnight but might do if we are in that area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic and positive review about Canyon Roadhouse. It is a real treat to know you were so overwhelmed by our establishment and that you enjoyed the light meal. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
17.0 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
66.4 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
AmBesten Guesthouse
AmBesten Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Roadhouse

Property: Canyon Roadhouse
Address: on the C 37; 20 km from the main lookout point at the Fish River, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyon Roadhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its elaborate decor Canon Roadhouse has acquired a sort of cult status in Namibia: the good old days of the automobile are celebrated in the theme restaurant and bar. Enjoy a slice of our legendary Amarula cheesecake among coachwork arranged with loving care. The geology, flora, fauna and history of the area are explained on display boards at the Canyon Information Centre. Situated directly on the road to the Fish River Canyon, 14 km from the gate to the viewing points, Canon Roadhouse offers 24 immaculate en-suite rooms with air conditioning, a swimming pool and a petrol station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Canyon Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Roadhouse Hotel Fish River Canyon
Cañon Roadhouse Fish River Canyon
Canyon Roadhouse Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing