We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Canyon Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and while I found the decoration with car parts a little hokey, I thought the rooms were very comfortable and clean. I think I was in the new part of the roadhouse. The food was good and I liked the little shop.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    233
    50
    5
    6
See reviews for
111
238
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Don't get us wrong: We enjoyed our stay at the Roadhouse. But as we came from South-Africa, we were a little bit disappointed with the reception in Namibia. First we were treated as unwelcome cattle by the borderpatrol of Namibia, which was followed by a hard drive over gravelroads and then a very average reception at the Roadhouse. We're not saying that our reservation wasn't in order, because it was. But the personel looked less motivated than what we experienced in South Africa. This took us a little by surprise. The staff was friendly but didn't really seem into it. It had something more artificial, less spontaneous.
We stayed at the campsite and were unfortunate to bring a tent that could only stand using its pickets. The sand was incredibly loose. I started to wonder about other campsites that we planned to visit in Namibia, but we never had that problem at the other campsites. The campsite isn't prepared for the basic backpacker but only for large 4x4 vehicles with tents on the roof. After some struggle we managed to put it up anyway.
The facilities of the campsite are wonderful: the ablutionblocks great and clean, a light at every pitch and a very good grill to bbq. We ate at the restaurant, which is famous for the carwrecks in the garden. The food was OK, but the restaurant isn't particularly romantic, as it looks like a very large converted garage with a high roof. They do try to please the costumers, and our waitress was very nice. Maybe we were expecting too much after our magical week in South Africa the week before. It was OK, but not as great as expected. However: The canyon is worth visiting and the Roadhouse is a good gateway to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Canon Lodge for 3 nights and we experienced an excellent time at Canon Lodge. All the staff incluiding Simon went out of their way to be helpful. Well done guys we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms clean but very basic. Overpriced for what you get.
Service in restuarant shocking. Steak delicious but what was that other stuff on the plate?????????

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mildredCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by bad service or low quality of food. Gondwana invests a lot in training and educating its staff and thus will look into possible shortcomings at the Roadhouse. However, many guests seem to enjoy service, restaurant and rooms. Based on excellent reviews, TripAdvisor awarded the Roadhouse with its "Certificate of Excellence" just two weeks ago.

Concerning the rates: The Cañon Roadhouse operates in the medium market segment of accommodation in Namibia (May 2012: N$ 700 per person sharing), offering more or less three star facilities and services. Kindly also consider that the rates include contributions to nature conservation and eco friendliness of our lodge operation.

The Roadhouse is situated in the Gondwana Cañon Park, consisting of 1,260 km² of former farm land that has been turned into a private nature reserve by removing inner fences, building water points suitable for game and re-introducing several game species once indigenous to that area - such as blue wildebeest, red hartebeest and Burchell's zebra. In due course we even intend to release giraffe. At the same time the Roadhouse strives to minimise the impact of its operations on the sensitive semi desert environment. Waste is separated and transported to the nearest collection point for recyclable waste (Keetmanshoop, 170 km); waste water is treated in a recycling plant in order to water the gardens. For these and a lot of other measures the independent organisation Eco Awards Namibia has rewarded the Roadhouse with 5 desert flowers (the highest score possible). The Roadhouse likes to pass on these 5 flowers to you and your family - and the thousands of guests who stayed there since it opened its doors in 1998.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

if you are into old cars this is the place for you as they have them everywhere even in the dining area. the room was very comfortable and we were able to get tea or coffee before going on a very early trip to fish river canyon for sunrise and coming back for breakfast later.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stopped for a meal at Canon Roadhouse heading back from Ai-Ais. It's a magical place - in the middle of nowhere, this giant restaurant, bar and accommodation offering is like a green motor-car themed oasis.

With the best chicken mayo sarmies we've had in years served on thick homemade white bread, plus ice-cold bottles of coke, the visit to Canon Roadhouse was the highlight of our day. Photo opportunities abound and there are quirky and entertaining roadsigns from floor to ceiling, as well as myriad old motorcars and a wide variety of souvenirs.

Take a look at the funny "art" in the bathrooms! Definitely worth a gander.

This place should be a compulsory stop on any journey in the Fish River Canyon vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This Hotel is close to the Fish River Canyon in the south of Namibia, and is nowhere near Windhoek ( +/- 700kms away) so you should recategorise it.
We have just spent two nights there while visiting the Canyon. We enjoyed our stay - it was clean, the food was good and the service friendly. The decor and the theme of old vehicles in unlikely places was quite unique and an added attraction. We would recommend it.

Brian Ellis and family, Paris

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vendeebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
33.6 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
355 reviews
9.9 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
566 reviews
9.2 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Roadhouse

Property: Canyon Roadhouse
Address: On the C 37 | 20 KM from the Main Lookout Point at the Fish River, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyon Roadhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its elaborate decor Canon Roadhouse has acquired a sort of cult status in Namibia: the good old days of the automobile are celebrated in the theme restaurant and bar. Enjoy a slice of our legendary Amarula cheesecake among coachwork arranged with loving care. The geology, flora, fauna and history of the area are explained on display boards at the Canyon Information Centre. Situated directly on the road to the Fish River Canyon, 14 km from the gate to the viewing points, Canon Roadhouse offers 24 immaculate en-suite rooms with air conditioning, a swimming pool and a petrol station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Canyon Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Roadhouse Hotel Fish River Canyon
Cañon Roadhouse Fish River Canyon
Canyon Roadhouse Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing