We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special lodge at Fish River Canyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Special lodge at Fish River Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for two night at this very special lodge. The chalets are uniquely build in the rocky mountains. The gardens are in superb condition even though it was winter. The staff are just great, and the lodge food is very good. This is another lodge from the Gondwana collection that is a must when visiting the Canyon or the southern part of Namibia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your stay was an unforgettable experience. Thank you for your positive feedback, we will forward it to the team at the lodge and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back at one of the Gondwana collection destinations in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    166
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
104
287
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of our holiday. The location was truly amazing, nestled amongst the rocks. The rooms were beautifully designed...each like a hobbit house with private patios with private views of the vista, the swimming pool and gardens were very well kept. The food, by the open fire, was scrumptious...a good choice at the buffet. Breakfast too was delicious. We had a lovely time staff were keen to help us and took pride in what they did. A definite place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for very much, for this positive review. It has been forwarded to the lodge management and staff, who will be delighted to read your affirmative words. We are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Exceeded expectations.... This is a lovely, cosy resort with more to do than meets the eye. Staff are excellent, facilities are great and the menu is varied and of good quality. Suggestion....the bar has two sections; smoking and non smoking and there is no division between the two. The only two smokers I saw during our stay were staff members. On cold nights when doors are closed it is a better experience for non smokers to not have the cigarette smoke smelling through the bar area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scottoz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We take positive as well as negative feedback seriously as we are always striving to improve our overall service standards. We will definitely follow-up with management regarding the smoking and non-smoking section in the bar area and would like to welcome you back on a future visit to Namibia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My parents and I visited Fish River Canyon in July... We had a wonderful time! The lodge is amazing, with a wonderful location that really epitomizes nature! The staff are all wonderful and very friendly! Also the food was very nice! All in all, I can't fault Canyon Lodge! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the unique setting, the food and the service provided. Your compliments will be passed on to the staff at Canyon Lodge who will be very pleased with such great compliments. We hope to welcome you back at the Canyon Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are always excited to return to this magical and enchanting part of Namibia wich energises your soul with clean air to breath and absolute tranquility,the food was great and the desert even better the south of namibia and especially the Canon Lodge with its green lawns in an almost desert area are an absolute must for any traveller you will not be dissapointed and with very friendly and helpfull staff you will feel right at home.Thanks Gondwana for once again making this stay a memorable one

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fourie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing feedback on Canyon Lodge. We are delighted to hear that our staff could contribute to a memorable experience and that you had a great time in the beautiful scenery surrounding the lodge. Your compliments will gladly be passed on to the lodge management and the staff and we hope to welcome you back at the Canyon Lodge soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

A unique lodge in a unique surrounding. Very well embedded in a beautiful landscape. Some lodges are built around the massive rocks and give you a feeling of being part of nature. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and are a great asset for GONDWANA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frauke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for this great feedback. We are very proud of the staff at our lodges and we will gladly pass this amazing compliment on to the staff of the Canyon Lodge, who will be very pleased with such great feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the unique setting and we hope to welcome you back at the Canyon Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family had a chalet - build inside the mountain. The view of the Namib desert from most (all?) of the chalets is spectacular. A photographer's paradise. Inside - all you need. The shower wall was natural cave-like - I couldn't fault anything. It is a relative long walk to the restaurant from some chalets, but the exercise is good after the excellent cuisine. The staff is well trained and friendly, typical Namibian hospitality. If you travel in the south of Namibia - this is a must.

Room Tip: Get a Gondwana card - especially if you reside in SADEC. Get a room that faces the sun set! (west-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the unique setting, the food and the service provided. We will gladly pass your compliments on to the staff of the Lodge. Thank you again for the great feedback and we hope to welcome you back at the Canyon Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
64.0 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Property: Canyon Lodge
Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing