We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the mountains”
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful situated with great views and a short drive to Fish River Canyon. Small cabins built in between the rocks in stunning surroundings. Very nicely done. All clean and functional. Beautiful swimming pool (could not be used during our stay due to cleaning). Good food (buffet). However a question about he hygine as birds kept picking at the food without staff seeming to care very seriously. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. We have immediately informed the management of the lodge about the problem with the birds and the staff will pay more attention to them in the future. We apologize for this inconvenience. Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the unique setting and the service at the Canyon Lodge and we hope to welcome you back at the lodge on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 587 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Lodge is fantastic. Small chalets built into the massive boulders lying around the site, with winding pathways connecting them all and the main house. The food was very good, the staff very friendly and accommodating. Nice pool area at the bottom of the complex, overlooking rocky mountains and plain. We were really glad that we changed our plans and arranged to stay 2 nights here. It also meant that we had a whole day to explore the Fish River Canyon and surrounding area. Recommend a drive to the "Canyon Roadhouse" - they have an incredible display of old cars and paraphenalia, with good coffee, cheese cake etc .

Room Tip: Request a chalet closer to the main house otherwise the walk can be quite far - especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you very much for the great feedback on your stay at Canyon Lodge. Our staff and kitchen will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food so much. We are very pleased to hear, that you had a memorable stay at the lodge and also visited the Canyon Roadhouse with its unique decor and famous Amarula cheese cake. We would love to welcome you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Canyon Lodge in South Namibia is a great place to stay and explore the Fishriver Canyon. Its like little houses build between the boulders. The view from the rooms near the end is fantastic. The Canyon Lodge is part of the wider Gondwana Collection, and all lodges, guesthouses are well maintained and taken care off. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our request for vegetarian food was dealt with straight away, without any problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for the great feedback on your stay at Canyon Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stunning view and unique setting of the lodge. Your compliments will be passed on to the staff and the kitchen and we are very pleased that they could help to provide you with a memorable stay. We would love to welcome you back at the lodge very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely place in a unique setting. Some cabins are better positioned than others, but they are spotlessly clean and a spacious bathroom. The view from the pool is to die for. Staff is very friendly and helpfull and the food is the best of all the Godwana Hotels!!! For SADAC members - get your Gondwana Card for unbelievable discounts.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms against the rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the Canyon Lodge. We are delighted to hear that the staff at the lodge could provide you with such a memorable experience and that you were satisfied with the service and the food. We are glad you enjoyed your time in this unique setting and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved this place. It was like a Flintstones village - lots of little cabins built into the rocks (the back wall of our bathroom was solid rock). The views from the main lodge terrace and pool are amazing and the staff super friendly. Some cabins are better located than others, so ask for one with a good view (we had b26, which was fab).
Only thing that could be improved is to heat the pool a bit, which was arctic!

Room Tip: B26 was very nice with double aspect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have enjoyed our two day stay at the Canon Lodge. The rooms are quaint and impeccably clean. The staff is unbelievably friendly, helpful and above all knowledgeable. Food is good and the scenery is fantastic. It is worth every cent!! Get the Godwana card for fantastic discounts!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and great. We had one further from the restaurant, but looking over the plains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you very much for this great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We will pass your compliments on to the staff of the lodge and are pleased to hear that they could help to provide a memorable stay . We hope to welcome you back at the lodge on your next visit to Namibia.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Tourism is never without environmental impacts and in dry Namibia these include such issues as water wastage and waste management problems, As an environmental scientist I am bowled over by the way this lodge and all the others in The Gondwana Collection have tried to reach the highest eco-friendly levels possible.
Canon lodge has created its own oasis in the desert: it not only tries to educate visitors on being water-wise but it has also invested heavily in water recycling plants which ensure that there is minimal wastage of this precious resource. In addition, the Gondwana investors have - through their lodges - contributed hugely to the sustainable development of Namibia through the rehabilitation of old farms to their original ecological state.

In the past most of the land around this lodge was farmed with small livestock - an unprofitable activity that placed increasing pressure on the soil and local wildlife (both plants and animals). Most farmers in this area - especially if it was their primary economic activity - suffered poverty and loss, especially when the climate hit very dry years. The developers of Canyon Lodge can be applauded through their philosophy to buy up as much unviable farmland as possible in the area, remove all fences ( which inhibit game movement) and slowly reintroduce the wildlife that was historically found in there (this includes but is not restricted to desert adapted springbok, zebra, gemsbok, ostriches etc). It is a tremendous success story not only from a wildlife point of view but also socially, as the Canon Lodge provides jobs and excellent training ( through the umbrella Gondwana group) to many local people. They really are trying hard to make a difference in Namibia !

This alone would make me revisit this lovely lodge - something I look forward to doing again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for this outstanding review and that you took the time to write us some feedback on the Canyon Lodge. We are delighted to hear, that our environmental efforts are appreciated and we are constantly trying to further improve the eco-friendliness of all our lodges. We are already excited for your next visit and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
497 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
372 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stamprivier
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range: $229 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing