We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of luxury in between camping - wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
291 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in between camping - wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night after camping at the Roadhouse campsite. Our chalet was clean and comfortable, the beds were very very comfortable (shame we had to leave early, as I could have done with staying in bed for a few more hours!)

Our little chalet - like the others - was built around the bolders and granite stones. It must have been a logistical nightmare for the architect who designed this -as the bolders were everywhere (reminded me of Matopo Hills in Zimbabwe) The paths to the restaurant were lit at night - there was also a cool swimming pool with views to die for.We saw a rock dassie feeding on the lawn close to the pool.
The restaurant was cozy and the buffet dinner was also quite nice. Staff were very very helpful and friendly - and most of all, everything was clean!

This place is quite unique, and well worth a visit.
I forgot to pack my white silky top which I must have left on the bed in chalet 3 on the 7th April - if you read this, and you found it - any chance of a return????
Please PM me so we can discuss (unable to make contact before as SA cell not working)

Thank you for a very pleasant stay - most enjoyable !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review of Canyon Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the unique ambience of the lodge. Our staff will be delighted to hear your compliments.

We immediately phoned the lodge after we read your review, but sadly we do not have good news concerning your top. The maintenance staff at Canyon Lodge could not find your top anywhere in the room. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you had a an unforgettable experience and we would love to welcome you at the Canyon Lodge for a longer stay the next time you visit Namibia.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    166
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
104
287
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited canyon Lodge in March on our way down to Capetown.
We arrived late in the afternoon without a reservation. Immediately we got a room. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We had a cottage with a beautiful view over the valley. Unfortunately we had no time to stay longer, but this was not the last time we will visit this Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Canyon Lodge and we would love to welcome you here again in the future. The staff will be very happy about the compliment and we will gladly pass it on. Thank you very much for the great review and we hope to see you at the Canyon Lodge.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
397 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

location would get 5 points, restaurant 3-4, the little cottages basically 5 points for ideas and views but 4 concerning luxury and comfort. see pics for explanation. We LOVED the idea of building the village of cottages in midst of a huge stone yard and incorporating the huge granite stones as walls in the cottages. There is quite a walk if you are down towards the hill to get to meals and your car but lovely. The pool is even further down a pathway in a unique amazing setting but it was too cool when we were there. Aircondition and heating works well. there is a lovely sunset walk you can book with amazing views - outstanding small excursion - they open a bar on top of the stone formation for sunset drinks.
the only disappointing thing was really the buffet menu - which offers quite a few of things but nothing really special or gourmet.
Make sure you arrive before sunset to appreciate the scenery, we had a flat tire on the way and arrived in total darkness which is a challenge !!!!
no minibar in rooms or coffee maker.

Room Tip: Nr. 10 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our visit to Canon Lodge within the Gondwana/Ai-Ais Parkland was truly amazing! The grounds and huts are incredibly picturesque, like out of a fantasy movie. The Fish River Canyon region is definitely worth seeing, despite the difficulty of getting there... difficult because the roads are not good at the best of times, but in our case, the instructions that were provided to find the Lodge were very inaccurate (both the first choice route and the secondary one), so do yourself a favour and (1) rent a 4x4 vehicle, and (2) get proper directions from the resort well before arrival. We couldn't find it on google maps or mapquest, so we were at the mercy of the blurb that was provided to us along with the confirmation of booking. The other important thing that we discovered, and to our panic, was that the SIM cards we had purchased in South Africa did not work in Namibia, which meant that, when we found ourselves lost in the middle of nowhere, we were unable to call the hotel. So, the (3) favour you will do yourself is to ensure that you have a proper SIM card for Namibia's cellular telephone system before going off the highway!

Otherwise the resort was well worth the stress we endured to find it. It truly was magical. The thatched roof huts are straight out of the Hobbit books! Distanced well from each other, the privacy was excellent, save for the dassie that visited us in the night to quietly steal a chocolate. The grounds are incredibly picturesque in a very rugged way. We spent a day at the pool, which was quite enchanting, sitting in the water surrounded by red boulders and wasteland. The meals and wine were excellent and the staff most welcoming and friendly, especially the concierge, whose name now escapes me, unfortunately, as he's well worth the acknowledgment. My apologies to him, as he shared much information about his homeland.

We read somewhere that Namibia is the land that God created in anger... which fascinated us the entire time we were there. Visiting the Fish River Canyon is well-worth the road trip, too. As the world's second largest canyon, it is a phenomenal site.

Room Tip: We were in room 23, which is on the outside edge of the property overlooking the most spectacular vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoOceanBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review of the Canyon Lodge. We are well aware that the lodge is hard to find and we are constantly working on getting all our lodges on Google Maps. It proves to be rather difficult because the lodges do not have a physical address. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay despite the stress of getting to the lodge. We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after a great drive from the Kalahari, visiting quiver trees and the giants playground on the way.
We received a warm welcome and gracious tour before being shown to our cabin. Every cabin is different and we had superb westerly views to enjoy the sunset. Afternoon tea was most welcome and we managed to fit in a swim before sundown. The pool is located on the edge of the camp, hidden amongst rocks away from the main house - lovely. There is a fridge and an honesty book for refreshments.
Dinner was very good indeed and the selection of wines could not be faulted. How do these lodges serve such lovey fresh salad in the middle of nowhere?
We spent a day exploring the canyon and environs and stopped for refreshment at the Canon Roadhouse - do go there, it was interesting and fun.
The manager Stefi was friendly and spent time chatting with all the guests. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone here. We were sorry to leave but happy to continue our exploration of this amazingly friendly country.

Room Tip: Al rooms are the same price so just ask to see one or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We appreciate your outstanding review of the Canyon Lodge. Many of our fresh vegetables come from our very own Self-sufficiency Center in Stampriet. The SSC supplies our accommodation facilities with fresh vegetables and fruit as well as cheese, cold meats and fresh meat and about 70% of our fresh produce is covered by the SSC. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Canyon Lodge and would love to welcome you here on your next vacation to Namibia.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are regular travellers to Namibia, and this was a lodge we have visited twice before. It did not disappoint on our third visit. The setting of the chalets amongst the granite rocks is unique, some of them having rocks in the rooms. We enjoyed the swimming pool which was a perfect temperature and which overlooks the desert. The dinner served on the terrace was excellent and we found the prices to be reasonable. The staff are friendly and efficient.

It is a place that we would return to again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaRocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the trust in our lodge. We are pleased to hear that you are and have been satisfied with the services Canyon Lodge provides. It is a great compliment for us to have you as a regular visitor. We appreciate your positive review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

2 Night stay on the 18th and 19th of December. Great setting, lovely pool. Love the springboks grazing on the lawn. Friendly helpful staff, relaxing atmosphere. A true oasis in the middle of the desert. Close to the canyon. Unforgettable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roelof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director of Gondwana Collection at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We will always strive to remain your oasis in the desert and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Mannfred Goldbeck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
64.0 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 5 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Property: Canyon Lodge
Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing