We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in the Wilderness”
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Wilderness”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Remotely set in a stunning landscape, the location is such that you can only see this lodge as an oasis. Normally you would have to camp (shudder!) to enjoy such a setting but here you have excellent facilities which are just extraordinary when you consider where you are. Accommodation is in detached thatched 'cottages' built of the local stone and, in some cases, into the rocky outcrops. Our cottage (13) was set into one of these outcrops and even had rocks coming into the room and shower. Try to get a room on the outer edge of the site to enjoy spectacular views. Rooms are quite small and simple but very clean and have air-con for cooling and heating (essential in winter). There is everything you need except that they only supply liquid soap and so you'll need to take your own toiletries if you want more than that. The food was much better than expected in such a location and was tasty, fresh and enjoyable. Wi-Fi was out while we were there (not that it was reasonable to expect it) which was compensated for by the ever helpful staff letting us use their office computer. All of the staff were very friendly. An example of the service is that at breakfast one day a member of staff came to say that he had noticed that our car had a puncture and would we like them to fix it. From start to finish it probably took less than an hour and they never charged for doing it. First class customer care. The only reason people (mostly German, as everywhere in Namibia which is an undiscovered gem by the British) visit here is to see the Fish River Canyon, second biggest in the world and about 30 minutes drive away on a very poor gravel road, hence the puncture. Other than beautiful walks there is little else to do. Two nights is probably the optimum stay, though the peace and quiet has appeals of its own.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the outer edge of the lodge to enjoy spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    176
    40
    6
    3
See reviews for
110
300
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spectacular setting, individually unique chalets, awesome granite rocks everywhere (including in the rooms), and incredible service from check in to waiters to bartenders to drivers. Food is limited to buffets, but quality and selection was very good. Drinks wonderfully cheap :-) All in all a great base for exploring Southern Namibia, and/or for doing the incredible Fish River Canyon hike, for which the Lodge will arrange transfers to the Hobas start and/or the Ais-Ais finish.

Room Tip: If you're staying for more than one night and it's not fully booked, it's worth checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'm a bit mystified by some reviews criticizing the service as this was the outstanding feature of our stay. My wife and I felt that the level of service and friendliness of the staff at Canyon Lodge was easily the best we received on our entire trip through Namibia.

I don't know whether the other reviewers hit a 'bad patch' that management addressed or what, but we had excellent service across the board.

The resort itself is amazing, many of the bungalows incorporating the rocks into their construction - you have to remind yourself that this place had to be constructed many miles from the nearest town. Food was very good and the wine list very decent. The grounds are very pretty and the surrounding landscape is beautiful. We loved our room and slept very well. A fridge in the room would be nice, but the lack thereof in no way would deter me from staying here again, in fact, this was our first stay at a Gondwana resort and it has convinced us to try and visit many of their other lodges on our trip next year.

I really loved this place and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This lodge could provide great stays because of the beautiful setting amidst huge boulders- but they definitely have a management problem. Unfriendly lady at reception, no offering of porter service (room was quite away from carpark). There are rooms with great views and room with no views. Although the lodge was far away from being full we got one with no view- maybe because our room was closer to the reception than the view-rooms and so it was more comfortable for the girl .showing us the room........
Canon Lodge belongs to Gondwana Group and we stayed at two other lodges of them as well., Kalahari Anib Lodge and Namib Desert Lodge., which performed much better.
Substitute management and this lodge could be gem

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to publish your feedback. We like to apologise for the bad service you experienced. It goes without saying that we immediately investigated the situation at the lodge. The persons responsible have been identified and the problems you mentioned have been dealt with. Thus your comment helped us to restore the same high standard of service you experienced in the other lodges of the Gondwana family you stayed at. Kindly be assured, that we train and motivate our staff to deliver a good service with a smile at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very unique place to stay, the rocks and landscapes, sunsets wonderful. Staff very nice. The rooms are also unique but a bit small and could have a tea/coffee station as far to walk to main building. Room Safe would also be nice. The curtains are too light and we put a blanket over the window. The food was not bad but could be improved to match the other gondwana property - klein aus vista desert - towels also a bit small. We had a great jog one day and lovely pool. Very unique place to stay, could not ride horses as groom was away - should have a backup person so this can be offerred. pillows to be replaced

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This location is truely unquie. The ancient rocks are a key feature and totally blended into the little accommodation units (as in the actual rocks are inside your room). The staff are very friendly and tge trip to see the fish river canyon is close by. It might not be 5 star accommodation but is something you will never get anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you need a double bed you will need to get one of only two huts other are two single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Canon Lodge - in hindsight it would have been worth staying two nights. The surroundings are very nice, there are two nice pools, one with a view of the deseert and mountains, and the little chalets are charming. It looks like Hobbit town! The only thing that does not fit is the entrance area - it looks like a Western town and a little artificial. Service is good, breakfast decent, only the dinner did not live up to the expectations, we had better in other lodges. But the Canon Lodge is definitely worth a stay!

Room Tip: Take a low number - it's a little further to walk, but the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
49.4 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Property: Canyon Lodge
Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing