We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss on the edge of eternity”
Review of Fish River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bliss on the edge of eternity”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The welcome and view when we arrived was unrivalled and so worth the 10 hour drive (from Walvis Bay) we had just completed. You walk in through the beautiful wooden double doors and look out over the vast expanse of the canyon right in front of you!
Check in was fast and friendly with some cool refreshment before we were shown to our chalet. The chalet was completely private and beautiful and rustic. Coffee making facilities (with hot water in a flask from the lodge if you needed it), a fan and a comfortable bed. And that bed! Wow, you can lie in bed and look out over the canyon a couple of meters on the other side of the stoep. The winter(inside) and summer (outside)showers were both huge and the lodge supplied insecticide as well as mosquito repellant.
We had massages in our room on Saturday afternoon and Kayno (hope i have the spelling right) did an amazing job.
The wind was absolutely howling about 90% of our time there but the amazing, ever-changing vistas and the very friendly and professional staff made us forget about that. If you're a light sleeper it might disturb you, but we enjoyed all of the experience.
Kudo's to John (brand new, he had only been there for 3 days) our guide on the sundowner drive on the Friday evening, he did an admirable job of keeping the wine and snacks on the table in the gusting wind.
The food was of a high quality on all the days we were there, with the Gemsbok (Oryx) steaks on the Friday night and the Pears poached in red wine on the Saturday night both favourites of my husband and myself.
We did not do the drive into the canyon as one 10 hour drive to the lodge and another 13 hour drive back home to Cape town after our weekend discouraged us from taking a 7 hour drive down the canyon but we took a slow drive through the park and manage to get some beautiful shots of mountain zebra and a solitary springbok.
We spent 3 nights at this absolutely beautiful lodge, would definitely go back there and recommend it highly.
Keep up the good work Fish River Lodge - On the Edge of Eternity

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing from what i could see. The view from each one is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    157
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
85
346
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is just breathtaking. Why? Because it sits on the edge of a canyon! Each room is made out of a single chalet, with indoor and outdoor private showers, a patio and the spacious bedroom, all within 2m of the edge of the cliff!
From your bed you look straight over the canyon, you feel like you are floating over it. Also because the bed was fantastically comfortable.
We had sundowners at the pool looking over the canyon and then a lovely dinner.
The food is nice and they try very hard. Unfortunately they don't have a "menu a la carte" understandably they are in the middle of nowhere. I think the food comes in by airplane.
The hotel is very good value for money compared to other hotels in Namibia.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a double bed, otherwise you automatically get singles if you don't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Unfortunately, we had the worst experience with Fish River Lodge.

First, they do not tell you until you have confirmed booking that the road to get there is terrible, and only accessible with 4x4.

We had a huge Nissan Xtrail 2x4, and our car broke down on the way. After hours of terrible driving.

We had planed two days to get there and could not make it. We called the lodge the day before our check-in, when our car broke down. We asked to cancel our reservation, and for a refund, explaining our unfortunate circumstances. the response was a blunt "no, too bad for you"

They even refused to pay us back the 50% return for cancellation.

Dishonnesty at its worst. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smarttravellerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans d, Public Relations Manager at Fish River Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Smarttravellerdc,

We are very sorry to hear that your car broke down during your vacation and that you were unable to visit Fish River Lodge. Our staff have received many accolades for their friendliness and helpfulness from guests and it is a pity that you did not have a chance to experience this first hand. We will follow up however with the Manager regarding your complaint.

The B4 is a good paved road and the D463 road is only 90 km to the Lodge turn off and, although unpaved, is generally in good condition as it is graded regularly. It is 20km of slow driving from the turn off to the Lodge and is accessible by 2 x4 vehicles. In fact 60% of our guests reach Fish River Lodge by 2 x 4. In our website we do advise though that slow driving is needed on the last part of the road due to the terrain.

It is unclear to us therefore where and when your car broke down as you mention that the breakdown occurred the day before you were due to arrive at the Lodge. It takes only 2 - 3 (yes, correct) hours to get to the Lodge when you leave the B4 paved road.

Our cancellation policy allows for 10% refund for cancellation within a week's notice and for a no-show 100% cancellation fee. Guests are advised however, to take out travel insurance to cover any unforeseen mishaps along the way.

We do hope you are able to visit Fish river Lodge some time in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This extraordinary accommodation is located at the edge of eternity. We were amazed by the view of the canyon from the main building, pool and suites. We think that this experience cannot be found anywhere else. Beside the beautiful, modern, clean accommodation the staff really welcomes you and provide everything you need. The food is excellent. The drive to this lodge is an experience on it's own. We would advise to bring a somewhat higher car. Beside the excursion in to the canyon, you can also walk along the rim of the canyon on your own. The view and sunset is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nederlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place is remote. 114 KM from the main road on gravel and then dirt roads but worth the effort. Make sure you rent a 4x4 pick-up for this trip. The scenery is spectacular and, if you can manage it, the walk into the canyon is a must but not for the inagile or unfit. The food is good and the accomodation, although fairly basic, is comfortable. Power failures are part of the daily routine so make sure you have torches. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and fixed my punctured tyres quickly and effectively. In September the nights were very cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As close to God-like nature as you can get. Amazing staff, great service and food. They made my five year old son feel welcome and included. A paradise for photographers! Worth every penny spent. The road is a challenge and we did 20 km per hour in our a6 Audi.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the canyon, maybe try for one closest to the restaurant for it is dark to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place just grew on me and I was very reluctant to leave. We drove a 4 wheel drive car and were glad of it for the road clearance and big tyres, but 2 wheel drive cars seemed to be getting through unscathed. The road was nothing like as bad as I'd feared from earlier reviews but it is narrow in parts so you don't want to meet oncoming traffic! There didn't 't seem to be any management at this lodge but somehow the staff seemed very coordinated in their efforts and everyone mucked in when needed eg when the lodge was full on our third and final night, the guide who'd taken us on a half day canyon hike (highly recommended) turned up to wait on table. The staff were particularly friendly and engaged. Be prepared for howling winds (and some lamentably draughty windows) when it might be quite still 100 yards either side of the lodge. That, the temperature generally and a little unseasonable rain overnight, meant we weren't able to try sleeping outside, which I'd have loved to do. I loved the design of the rooms but felt that the windows might have been bigger for a bit of star-gazing. There was tea and coffee in the room and a flask to get water from the restaurant (otherwise tea and coffee were available in the restaurant), a shower inside and out, bug spray (saw no bugs), fan, no a/c, a very reasonably priced laundry service, slowish wifi in the public areas, no hairdryer, fridge or dressing gowns, but, much needed when we were there, hot water bottles put in the beds when we were at dinner and very welcome braziers in the restaurant for dinner. You might want to reserve a table near one of these and away from the windows (see above!). The food is a set 3 courses and pretty good considering the location. They can cater for allergies etc. We enjoyed both rim walks. The path to the left of reception as you arrive is about an hour or so and is well way marked by edging stones, and the one in the other direction is a short 30 min stroll and gives great views of the lodge. The staff singing with such enthusiasm and panache on the final night of our stay was a highlight of my 3 weeks in Namibia. You too might be lucky enough to experience this if it's a full house

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank helenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
17.0 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
477 reviews
17.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
566 reviews
27.1 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Lodge

Property: Fish River Lodge
Address: Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish River Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing