We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fish River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Seeheim Hotel Namibia(Keetmanshoop)
$86
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$31
$29
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Canyon Village(Fish River Canyon)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Canyon Lodge(Fish River Canyon)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Canyon Roadhouse(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alte Kalkofen Lodge(Keetmanshoop)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nwr Hobas Campsite(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveler rating
395
184
35
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
184
35
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanyon rimamazing viewsoutdoor showerwest siderock poolsinfinity poolonce in a lifetimehigh clearancetwo nightsan adventurelong drivewelcome drinknormal carrough roadremote locationday tripaccess road
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 631 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

With so much to see and do in Namibia we almost never return. We rather explore something new. With Fish River Lodge it was different. We were longing back and when we found a nice offer on StayToday we quickly grabbed it.
Although it was a second visit the first view out over the canyon still catches you. It is just so magnificent and it seems like the environment affects everyone. It was Easter weekend and rather a lot of guests and still it is so quiet, people almost whisper and still there were families with small children.
Unfortunately the staff misses small things and it is a little bit annoying with poor water pressure in taps, no towels after a dip in the pool, bad calculations when checking out etc. And still, the staff is an asset here. They are genuinely nice and friendly and their singing after dinner in the restaurant must be one of Namibia's best! I really like this place and there might even be a third visit.

Room Tip: There are twenty rooms along the rim. No 1 and 20 furthest away from the restaurant, No 10 and 11 closest. Views are similar - marvellous!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As everyone has said the drive to the lodge is fun and 4 WD definitely recommended, we saw mountain Zebra, Kudu and ostrich on the way. This is an amazing Lodge, run by the friendliest of staff, they couldn't do enough to help, always smiling and they really do the best with the food that they can source in this remote location. However it is the site on the edge of the canyon that really makes this place special, it was absolutely stunning to sit overlooking such an immensity, with no contrails in the sky, and for a blissful moment the wind dropped, the generators were off, the insects and birds were silenced by the heat, and I could hear nothing. How rare is that!
Mind you the night before the wind was roaring at hurricane force so all thoughts of sleeping outside were banished, I will never forget the sight of my husband hanging onto the balcony support, clothes madly flapping and staring at the sight of the milky way unadulterated by any light pollution at all. Also check if you are going back to the South African border to see if the "closed" road is open - it was and we had a stunning journey through "badlands" and along the Orange river back to South Africa.
Do the sundowner trip - Willem was very knowledgeable and very entertaining, he even tried to teach us click language. After a few long days driving we really didn't have the energy to go down the canyon - maybe next time. Thanks to all at Fish River Lodge - a very special place.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the lodge have more balcony privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well worth the extra spend and journey to the Lodge. Quite an adventure in our 4x4. Stunning location overlooking the canyon. Lodge and rooms all along the cliff. Rooms very in keeping with the lodge and very spacious. Great individual terraces for relaxing - can also chill out by the (very cold) pool. We were greeted from out arrival with everything explained to us. Our only dissapointment was the food, when spending that much we expected better quality and more than fruit & ice cream for dessert. We were treated to some Namibian singing & dancing after dinner which was fun. Activities cost extra but we were only there for a night so did walks ourselves either side of the lodge. Night sky was amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms individual bungalows on the canyon edge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukguysdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are planning a visit to Fish River Canyon you have to stay here. The last part of the journey into the lodge is on rough road and recommend you travel in a 4 x 4, but the journey is well worth it...breathtaking views! We stayed for 3 nights. On arrival we were warmly greeted with a cold drink and a friendly smile. Our room was right on the edge of the canyon. Awesome! The views are spectacular. The staff were fantastic making sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable...nothing was too much trouble. Take a trip down to the bottom of the canyon...a full days trip but well worth it. In the evening the staff sang and danced for us. ..Africa at its best...just magical. A truly memorable experience and we would like to thank all the staff for making it so.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Do you want to experience one of the best places on this planet then go to Fish River Canyon and stay at the Fish River Lodge. We did and loved it! Re-connect to nature! Breathtaking views of the canyon, a beautiful lodge set up and an even better team to make you feel welcome from the minute you step in the door. Even getting there is an adventure itself – when coming from the north and departing B4, first on what seems like never ending gravel road and then an off road track to get to the lodge situated on the rim of the canyon. The excitement grows along the way and when you arrive it’s – wow, wow, wow. If you don’t want to drive, fly in as an airstrip is 3 km from the lodge. We stayed for 5 nights and got spoilt rotten! Thanks to all the team at Fish River Lodge for making our stay a memorable one – we miss you all and can’t wait to go back!
Gislaine & Stefan

Room Tip: Chalet's left hand side from the main building; No. 3 to 10
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews