We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are planning a visit to Fish River Canyon you have to stay here. The last part of the journey into the lodge is on rough road and recommend you travel in a 4 x 4, but the journey is well worth it...breathtaking views! We stayed for 3 nights. On arrival we were warmly greeted with a cold drink and a friendly smile. Our room was right on the edge of the canyon. Awesome! The views are spectacular. The staff were fantastic making sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable...nothing was too much trouble. Take a trip down to the bottom of the canyon...a full days trip but well worth it. In the evening the staff sang and danced for us. ..Africa at its best...just magical. A truly memorable experience and we would like to thank all the staff for making it so.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    148
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
77
319
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Do you want to experience one of the best places on this planet then go to Fish River Canyon and stay at the Fish River Lodge. We did and loved it! Re-connect to nature! Breathtaking views of the canyon, a beautiful lodge set up and an even better team to make you feel welcome from the minute you step in the door. Even getting there is an adventure itself – when coming from the north and departing B4, first on what seems like never ending gravel road and then an off road track to get to the lodge situated on the rim of the canyon. The excitement grows along the way and when you arrive it’s – wow, wow, wow. If you don’t want to drive, fly in as an airstrip is 3 km from the lodge. We stayed for 5 nights and got spoilt rotten! Thanks to all the team at Fish River Lodge for making our stay a memorable one – we miss you all and can’t wait to go back!
Gislaine & Stefan

Room Tip: Chalet's left hand side from the main building; No. 3 to 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

You reach this lovely place via a road which is really cool driving with your 4x4. It is 1,5 hour and the view and the lodge are more than worth it!

Everybody has their own bungalow, the architecture fits perfectly and blends in the background of the canyon. You have your own private yoga place with view on the canyon, not to mention the outside shower! The bungalows are decorated in a minimalistic style, which we found nicely fitting with the environment.

The pool at the restaurant has the same amazing views and gives you the feeling of really being at the edge of the world.

The staff is friendly and well trained, the food was lovely and breakfast too much to eat it all.

We loved being here and wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.

I don't recognize anything from Mespay's review. I think guest like him/her should check better where they are going on beforehand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolientje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
276 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst lodge I have ever been to.
The road is disgusting. Broke our suspension. Hello mrs rockerfellow!!! Your USA tip at a restaurant could fix the road. What arrogance expecting people to visit the resort on a shocking road.

The reception lady was like a slow ignorant lizard. We walked in and 5 staff were slouching in a corner. Not one of them for up to greet us after 1.5 hours on the worst road I have been on in Africa!!!!' And to pay a lot of money for the privilege, finally slow lizard approached us as though we had disturbed her sleep.

We were starving and thirsty . Had a very ordinary lunch for n$100

The rest of the staff were helpful friendly and lovely .

The room at 3 pm. Even though empty gave us the room furthest away from the centre. In 40 degree heat.

I got that changed . Our room was stiffling - was for two days. The architect should be crucified. Dumb dumb design.

NO AIRCONDITIONING

Please read this.

It is revolting in summer.

The food is aweful. Breakfast greasy. Dinner tasteless.
I got sick - can never be sure but resembled food poisoning.

So next day in bed in the boiling inferno.

The canyon is great but go somewhere else to appreciate it.

I hated every moment of being there. A waste of my time and money.

Exploitation of staff. I am going to investigate.

Don't bother .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Go see for yourself. Breathtaking views, amazing rooms, the most outstanding staff and impressive cooking. We are regular visitors by now as one cannot get enough of this place. Make sure you sleep outside, they provide extra bedding and stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neela86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Amazing how its possible to build such a beautiful lodge just on the edge of the canyon! We stayed here some days ago for 2 nights and enjoyed the modern architecture - very refined. The staff was very helpfull and professional, special thanks to Clara and Adam - and Ben for taking us down to the bottom of the canyon. Swimming in Fish River was great. Our stay was nearly perfect - only improvement we would advise is to make better food. The food was OK, but in such a place you expect a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente Vold K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our only regret was arriving there very late at night and we were extremely tired. Our family road trip vacation started here and we truly enjoyed our short stay. This is not for the faint hearted, it takes an hour of rough driving just to get to the lodge which is located on a ridge of the Fish River Canyon. The views are breathtaking, especially the sunsets and sunrises.

The staff were magnificent and could not do more to please us. Despite the remote location the food was acceptable. I would not go there expecting any gastronomical feast, so advise of special dietary needs well in advance.

The communal areas and the lodge is well designed and blends into the surrounding areas very well. The accommodation is spartan but is expected of such a location, and is one of their unique points.

We did not go on any excursions, but used our day to relax and recharge. The poll is very cool and is a welcome respite on a very hot day.

We recommend this lodge as a must visit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
17.0 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
17.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
17.0 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
262.3 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Lodge

Property: Fish River Lodge
Address: Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish River Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing