We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort”
Review of Toshari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toshari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfort”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Toshari for two nights and it was the perfect place to relax after a hot day of game driving in Etosha. The pool and small bar are perfect to help you unwind before dinner, and the bedrooms are clean, comfortable and modern. Gardens were beautiful with the lodge's meerkat fond of visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    96
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
93
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was the second time I stayed here, and it was very good. Vey nice rooms, good food and velue for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in Nov 2011 to visit Etosha NP. It took awhile for the AC to kick in, having it in the corner of the room blowing away from the beds wasn't the brightest idea, but overall the lodging was comfortable once the temp came down a bit. We used our mosquito nets (although the hostess told us there hasn't been malaria here in years), but since the rainy season hasn't really begun, it wasn't too buggy (once we killed the 4 or so that had made it in before our arrival).
Food was good, although I did start to have some upset stomach those days, not sure if it was related to the lunch we had on the way up, or the more mayonnaise'y salads in the heat.
Etosha water doesn't taste the greatest (but supposedly clean), so we stuck to bottled water throughout.
Pool was a good way to bring down the temp and relax after the long drives in the park. Thomas, the resident meercat, was entertainment.
Although the drive to the park was not quick, we did see quite a bit of wildlife in route: giraffes, warthogs, etc, so it was well-worth it to save a little by being outside the park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everitt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have stayed in Toshari Lodge for 3 nights in August 2009 when we visited the Etosha NP. The (brick, concrete) cottages are very clean and have a nice decoration. All four of us had sufficient space. SHowers and washrooms are above the country standard and very modern.

All the food for breakfast and Dinner is in buffet style and extremely good. Especially the meat dishes. The staff is very friendly and makes a little show after dinner which was very nice and one can feel that the people have a lot of fun. One day there was a BBQ buffet - ecellent as well.
Drive to Etosha Gate is short - when visiting the eastern part of the NP

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Toshari Lodge. The family suite had everything we needed for a restful night. Supper was very tasty and well presented. The lively singing by the staff at around 9pm was a real treat. Overall, really good value, and a nice family friendly stopover en route to Etosha.

John and Sophia and kids

Room Tip: Units 1-3 are family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

One of the best "african style" lodge in Namibia, with good price/quality ratio.
Suite si comfortable, meals are nice, and staff is very kind.
Lodge is far from Etosha about 50 km, but Etosha is easy to reach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tittydag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at Toshari Lodge that is almost 50 km far from the Etosha gate but it is a excellent lodge, the room very comfortable good bathroom (but in our case no hot water), nice restaurant and all the area was nice as it seems the lodge had been a litle improved. The meals were very good a the staff very kinde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Etosha National Park
921 reviews
92.2 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
792 reviews
14.5 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#25 of 36 in Etosha National Park
58 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#22 of 36 in Etosha National Park
67 reviews
101.2 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#26 of 36 in Etosha National Park
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshari Lodge

Property: Toshari Lodge
Address: between Outjo and Okaukuejo | 25 km from Etosha National Park, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on an outcrop of dolomite rocks, under a forest of Mopane and white Seringa trees, Toshari Lodge offers a warm welcome and affordable but enchanting accommodation just 25 kilometers from the Anderson Gate of Etosha National Park.A refreshing dip in one of our sparkling swimming pools will revitalize you after a long day on the road and wholesome Namibian cuisine, complimented by herbs from the garden, freshly baked bread and fine Cape wines, will fortify you for your next adventure. Relax in the beautiful green gardens surrounding the striking African lapa with its stunning photographs of local Etosha wildlife & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Toshari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshari Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing