We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lodge we have visited in Namibia!”
Review of Toshari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toshari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Regensburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lodge we have visited in Namibia!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have stayed in Toshari Lodge for 3 nights in August 2009 when we visited the Etosha NP. The (brick, concrete) cottages are very clean and have a nice decoration. All four of us had sufficient space. SHowers and washrooms are above the country standard and very modern.

All the food for breakfast and Dinner is in buffet style and extremely good. Especially the meat dishes. The staff is very friendly and makes a little show after dinner which was very nice and one can feel that the people have a lot of fun. One day there was a BBQ buffet - ecellent as well.
Drive to Etosha Gate is short - when visiting the eastern part of the NP

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    95
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
92
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Toshari Lodge. The family suite had everything we needed for a restful night. Supper was very tasty and well presented. The lively singing by the staff at around 9pm was a real treat. Overall, really good value, and a nice family friendly stopover en route to Etosha.

John and Sophia and kids

Room Tip: Units 1-3 are family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

One of the best "african style" lodge in Namibia, with good price/quality ratio.
Suite si comfortable, meals are nice, and staff is very kind.
Lodge is far from Etosha about 50 km, but Etosha is easy to reach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tittydag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at Toshari Lodge that is almost 50 km far from the Etosha gate but it is a excellent lodge, the room very comfortable good bathroom (but in our case no hot water), nice restaurant and all the area was nice as it seems the lodge had been a litle improved. The meals were very good a the staff very kinde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

A lovely hotel in the middle of Etoshi National Park. The rooms were awesome. I only stayed one night, but it was a wonderful surprise to have such nice accommodations during our tour. Most of our accommodations were average, and this hotel was a gem. Etoshi National Park was awesome. Since it is near the end of the dry season, the animals were gathered around the watering holes, and the sights were overwhelming. Off the beaten tourist track, but worth seeing.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband, niece and myself booked this place as a cheaper alternative to the lodges inside Etosha Park itself, and due to poor information from other sources, found ourselves stuck with unnecessary items. The management were great at accommodating our needs, and the staff were so friendly and enthusiastic, it made our stay a welcome break from our long travels. The rooms were clean and attractively furnished, and the main reception/dining building was stunning. The gardens and pool were well maintained, and we were happy to take advantage of these as a break from the park. The food was tasty and we were always very full afterwards! To add to the atmosphere, the staff perform amazing traditional songs during dessert, which always made my spine tingle. We actually cancelled our night in the park to stay at Toshari an extra night. And see at the bar if Cosmo smiles when you ask for "Toshari Moonshine"...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pge123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

You want to go to Etosha park! You like confort in your stay! Well...I will suggest to stay outside the South Gate in a small Paradise call: TASHARI LODGE (just a few km). For only 85N$ you have a real camping (not like the dirty ones in the Parks at 150N$)) nice space with your own brai... a little herbe garden and in the main house free coffee or tea with german cakes and cookies ALL day. It doesn't stop there... they received you with a great juice drink, you have great bugalows with all the comfort you need, a pool, a buffet at dinner time and so on.... But on the top of this you have a couple who are ahead of everything and would do anything....when I say anything it is... to make your stay the greatest!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 35 in Etosha National Park
914 reviews
92.2 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 35 in Etosha National Park
790 reviews
14.5 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
58 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#21 of 35 in Etosha National Park
67 reviews
8.7 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshari Lodge

Property: Toshari Lodge
Address: between Outjo and Okaukuejo | 25 km from Etosha National Park, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on an outcrop of dolomite rocks, under a forest of Mopane and white Seringa trees, Toshari Lodge offers a warm welcome and affordable but enchanting accommodation just 25 kilometers from the Anderson Gate of Etosha National Park.A refreshing dip in one of our sparkling swimming pools will revitalize you after a long day on the road and wholesome Namibian cuisine, complimented by herbs from the garden, freshly baked bread and fine Cape wines, will fortify you for your next adventure. Relax in the beautiful green gardens surrounding the striking African lapa with its stunning photographs of local Etosha wildlife & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Toshari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshari Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing