We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, unbelievably successful game viewing”
Review of Ongava Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ongava Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had only one full day at Ongava and were blown away by our guide Rio's ability to get us to see all the animals we wanted -- white and black rhino, elephants, giraffes etc. Then he finished the day with 6 lion cubs sitting with us and playing in front of the land rover until we finally had to go back. The accommodations are very comfortable, spotless. The staff was kind and friendly, bringing a special dinner to my room when I arrived sick from eating something elsewhere.
We were all glad to have visited Ongava. This is not the fanciest safari camp we visited, but it was completely satisfactory.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in 3 different Wilderness safari camps in Namibia and this wasn't the best but it also wasn't the worst. I must admit I wasn't sure whether to give it a 'very good' or 'average'. Maybe safari camps in Namibia are a bit different from the rest of southern Africa. They certainly are not over the top luxurious as they can be else where. It seems to come down the individual management of each camp. At Ongava Tented the staff were fine but maybe a little lacking in enthusiasm - they were going through the motions but seemed a bit bored by it all. The tents were clean and comfortable and the food was okay but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Ongava Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate the comments you have made.

We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience. We are doing our utmost to ensure that attention to detail is a matter of priority at Ongava Tented Camp. We have found that our assistant and relief managers require additional training to enhance their hosting skills, so that a seamless handover is achieved when the managers are away on leave. With our new Guest Experience Manager in place, we are confident these concerns will be addressed and improved upon tremendously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What do i say about this place!! It was just heavenly.. i am really glad that i chose this place. first of all, game viewing is awesome. even if Etosha doesnt satisfy you,they will surely do! (etosha is the national park, they are a private game resort adjoining Etosha at the western side)
Then their ambiance.. you will feel just out of the world! The place is like just out of the movie. And yes, they see thoroughly to your comfort! even with a hot water bag at your foot at night! this was sooo unexpected,it just felt like heaven!!
Their food was very very good.
I loved their open shower system.
Though it is an unfenced camp,you will never feel unsafe.
Night drive was awesome.And they provided us ponchos also!!
I just loved the place, and one night is really not enough here. I look forward to go back :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was lucky and smart enough to bid on a charity auction package for 5 days/4 nights at Ongava. This tented camp was really special: accomodations, staff, food and ambiance. I would highly recommend! Our guide, Rio was so passionate about getting us to all the right animal viewing spots and we did see incredible animal activity.
Nice that Wilderness Safaris offered this for Breastcancer.org and I also lve their "Children in Wilderness" program!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KenyalionNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We went in Feb during rainy season, and boy was it! But that didn't hamper one of the best holidays we've had. Tented camp is superb in every aspect: accommodations, food, hospitality, and, most important, the safaris. Unbelievably knowledgeable staff and guides - flora, fauna, history, culture - whatever your interests, the Ongava team will make it happen.

Couple of recommendations if visiting in rainy season: manage your expectations - the wildlife won't come to you; you go to it. Gear yourself for the thrill of the chase (tracking, anyway). This was fun for us, be we're strange that way. And it WILL rain, so be prepared...dry socks a must. Also, if driving into Ongava and the tented camp, recommend parking at the main lodge (high ground) and shuttling to tented camp. You don't need a car once you're in and getting out can be tricky if the rains are heavy. It might sound like an extra step but it's to easy that it's worth it. Besides, the main lodge is something to see so take advantage while you're parking the car to stop in. Spectacular in its own right.

We drove through Etosha from Namutoni so we spent all our time on Ongava. But if you have not seen Etosha and are staying at Ongava, then recommend taking a safari with the Ongava guides into Etosha...worth the drive.

Cannot say enough about our spectacular Ongava experience! Everyone needs to visit! If you haven't heard a lion roar at 3AM 100m outside your canvas tent, you MUST try it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ac0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I spent two weeks on tour and the time at the tented camp was the highlight. Accommodations are very nice, huge tent with in-door/outdoor shower, toilet, sinks and bed, but still a tent. I think I stayed in tent 4 – great view of the watering hole and immediately next to the “lodge” for meals, but still private for outdoor showering. The other couple we were with was in Tent 3 – less private but directly in-front of the watering hole. Lions spent one night walking back and forth to the watering hole just outside tent 3. Guides were great – very personable and accommodating. There are two manages of the tented camp that alternate days on. One is more “hotel management” the other is more “animal conservation.” The staff of the camp will act more or less flexible depending on who is managing.
FYI – there is a pool, but nobody uses it. It is the size of an outdoor Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We have stayed at Ongava Tented Camp two nights on our honeymoon. The camp is located right outside of the Anderson Gate of Etosha National Park. The Ongava has a huge private game reserve where it is possible to enjoy beautiful game drives with the guides of Ongava. The tent was very amazing, with a gorgeous shower open air. Excellent food and service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
8.7 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,035 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 37 in Etosha National Park
334 reviews
8.6 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
91.3 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 37 in Etosha National Park
272 reviews
89.3 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
904 reviews
93.4 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#12 of 37 in Etosha National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ongava Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ongava Tented Camp

Address: Etosha - Ongava Game Reserve | PO Box 58, Okaukeujo, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $1,059 - $1,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ongava Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ongava Tented Camp is tucked into a hidden valley at the foot of a dolomite hill in Ongava Game Reserve bordering Etosha National Park. Eight large comfortable Meru-style tents all have en-suite facilities, open air showers and private verandas; the family unit sleeps four. The main area, built of stone, canvas and thatch, fronts onto a much-frequented waterhole; watching wildlife coming to drink from here or from the swimming pool is a favourite pastime.Ongava's proximity to Etosha allows for game drives in the National Park and on the Ongava Reserve itself. Other possibilities include guided walks, birding and spending time in hides. Ongava holds one of the largest rhino custodianships for the Namibian government in the country and is one of the few private game reserves in southern Africa where guests can see both black and white rhino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ongava Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ongava Tented Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing