We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We only stayed for a day in August and we loved the visit here.
The service was great, food very good, very friendly stuff.
Absolutely amazing architecture in the middle of nowhere.
We'll definitely go back for longer time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namib F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    31
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
17
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Excellent location on a hill slope, beautiful and large individual houses accomodation with all amenities. Very kind, welcoming and efficient staff. Excellent food. Very nice spa for massages.

Game drives are possible inside this private property, animals can be seen, but much less than in Etosha national park which is 70 km away (add USD 80 to go there with Epacha Game Driver).

Room Tip: Ask for an accomodation on the top of the hill (more steep walking requested to get there, but much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmutrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This lodge is in Leading Lodges in Africa, so we were expecting great things. The room was very spacious, and the bathroom vast, with an extra shower outside. Although the indoor shower manage to wet the whole room, as it didn't fit properly. But there was a bath, so good all round provision. The public rooms were spacious again and very colonial. But the public areas were on the flat and our room was an uphill climb of 5 minutes on crazy paving. Particularly difficult when descending. All cars are left at the main block. The dining room and food were good, but the level of English was poor with the staff who dealt with us. Unusually so for Namibia. On leaving, their credit card machine didn't work and hadn't so a little while, after refusing to leave all our card details ( credit card fraud is high in Namibia) they allowed us to leave and pay later, which we did. There is a game drive, as this is in a reserve. However many of the animals are in a breeding programme, so the amount of game viewing is limited. We found that if you are going to Etosha, this is just too far away to be a useful stop as it takes too long to get into the park.

Room Tip: Get one on the flat if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moscovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The only drawback to this place is the distance from the rooms to the central facilities. Some are a long way away and it's an up hill walk on an uneven path. Everything else is stunning. The rooms - chalet style detached buildings- were breathtaking. Huge beds; a balcony; a massive bath; inside and outside showers all made for a magical experience. The grounds were vast and populated by varying forms of wildlife. Some inside the grounds - friendly - some outside but still visible not so. The restaurant served a very good five course meal; the wine was reasonably priced and drinkable. Service was efficient. The swimming pool was a good size and the spa provided one of the best massages I have ever had at a very fair price. I would love to go here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

And not only because of the story behind the lodge.
The entrance is a cathedral in wood and the rooms spacious, clean and a nice view , the swimming pool perfect. We can not forget the helpfull staff and last but not least the best food
we had till now in Namibia. The location is about one hour drive to Okaukeujo but was not a problem what so ever. When we visit Namibia, Epacha will always be on the list.
Bart & Claire

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The lodge was very quite when we stayed in early September. Only two or three rooms being used. This made it seem a bit awkward when you walked about. The chalets are really large with some great views and comfortable beds. Generally clean and tidy but on our last morning we didn't shower as the bathroom was overrun with ants/termites. The service was really good though, especially our game drive host, Michael, who took us around both the lodge's park and into Etosha where we spotted a massive range of wildlife including rhino, lion, elephant, giraffe, zebra and ostrich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Feel very let down by this place. Every hotel has a room it allocates only when desperate - we got it! Even our tour bus driver had a better one! Our room was reached via an uneven, unlit path and, in taking us to it, the Manager's assistant tried 3 doors before locating the correct one. Good start, eh? Air con didn't work so General Manager was sent for and had the same issue finding the room as had his assistant. The room was dirty, sheets torn and we had none of the snazzy features advertised eg outside shower, balcony with patio furniture. The food was dreadful. If all five courses of a gourmet dinner were placed on the same plate this still wouldn't have been full.

Room Tip: Make sure you DON:T get rooms 20-22 of the Presidential Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabsKingston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
14.7 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 35 in Etosha National Park
916 reviews
97.7 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 35 in Etosha National Park
790 reviews
16.2 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
297 reviews
16.4 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
58 reviews
14.5 mi away
Andersson’s Camp
Andersson’s Camp
#15 of 35 in Etosha National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epacha Game Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epacha Game Lodge and Spa

Property: Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Address: P.O. Box 362 | Outjo, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epacha Game Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epacha Game Lodge & Spa is situated on the 21 000 ha Epacha Game Reserve. Each of the individually decorated en-suite chalets has its own private balcony, complete with a breathtaking view across the bush.All chalets are equipped with air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, ceiling fan and coffee and tea facilities.In keeping with the Victorian era in Africa, all chalets are furnished with antiques & decorated in subtle, relaxing colors. Guests can spend time relaxing in our lounge overlooking a waterhole or in the library, smoking room, billiard room or at our pool bar, be rejuvenated by stress relieving therapies in the Mystique Spa, which offers the following facilities: sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, splash pool, thelaso therapy room, treatment rooms or outside treatment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epacha Game Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epacha Game Hotel Etosha National Park
Epacha Game Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing