We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pamper yourself”
Review of Onguma Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onguma Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a great time at Tented Camp - we had initially requested the Fort but it was unavailable due to renovation. Tented Camp turned out to be what we wanted - it affords privacy, overlooks an active watering hole, and luxurious clean accommodations. The tent has an outdoor (private) shower and a luxurious indoor bathtub (and another shower), and if you leave the curtains open at night, you might sit up and spot animals outside at the lit watering hole.

If you need to reach back to civilization, the lodge offers free fast wireless, and it reaches to some of the tents. The food was delicious, and we appreciated the Saturday evening barbecue provided at a separate location.

Plenty of wildlife on the Onguma grounds, or you can join one of the game drives (6 hours long!) to Etosha, bright and early while the light is still good (bring warm clothes though).

We appreciated that the staff went extra lengths to accommodate the fact that it was our anniversary.

Also we came in from Tsumeb by chopper and were apparently the first users of the lodge's airstrip. Lodge personnel came and picked us up and returned us to the airstrip free of charge, and even spent a bit of time introducing us to the local wildlife on the way. Great getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are within Wi-fi reach, and just as private as the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAZMPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We loved Onguma Tented Camp from the first view to our last minute there. Sadly we only got to spend two nights here--I could have easily stayed a week just relaxing around the property.

The accommodation is top notch, the staff was wonderful (especially Hans who took such good care of us), all of our meals and snacks were perfect, the activity at the waterhole was great, and the small swimming pool with a view over the waterhole just made the whole experience the best of our two+ weeks in Namibia.

Our room was huge, having two closets and sinks is always a great idea. The bed was firm and comfortable. Having an outdoor shower was a fun touch. There is a small fridge in the room, fully stocked. The towels are big thick ones. Really it's luxury at every turn, and who ever designed the rooms has really thought of everything.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed at the tented camp on a recent visit to Southern Africa. The staff were friendly and the camp was well presented. It was however very hot - and there was no airconditioning. The staff really went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed - and the meals were consistently good - the service at times though was on the slow side. Our guide Erice was outstanding and went to endless trouble to make sure that we saw the best that Etosha had to offer. The tents were very well set out and the outdoor shower was a bit of fun. Without aircon - we needed to cool off in a cold shower a few times a day. The water hole although small had game every evening for us to watch. Thank you to all the staff for a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The first good thing to say is that we were greated, treated, driven, guided and fed by Namibians from the area, a very nice touch and the opportunity to find out more about the people who live in this beautiful, and alas quite corrupt, country. The tented camp is not a bargain, though it is an all included - meaning drinks also. Very hot for afternoon naps, it cools off at night and the management goes out of it's way to make your stay pleasant. Less plush than the main lodge, but plenty of animals to see on the water hole just in front of your tent and a more intinamte and less snobish atmosphere that on the 10 star lodges, where the rooms are huge and luxurious, though the idea is to spend time outdoors. A pleasant stay, 2 nights enough.

Room Tip: the closest to the water hole, the best, so tents 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Apart from staying in etosha, this is as close as you can get to the park entrance gate.
The tented lodge was overlooking a lovely waterhole visible from our deck. Rooms were comfortable and stylish.

The food was what won us over. My husbands steak was beautifully cooked and all meals were well presented and served by a very attentive waiter.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_w_s_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I only have good things to say about this lodge. The accommodation, the food, the staff - all were amazing. Even saw lion, elephant and rhino on one of the evening game drives. I now understand why you get escorted back to your tent in the eveing..;-)

Room Tip: All 7 tents have privacy and overlook the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oh! we loved this camp, stylish but not over the top so as not to draw you away or distract you from the beautiful bushveldt you are in. Once in camp i didn't go on any game drives as I was happy to just sit and watch who came to the waterhole in front, and LOTS of animals visited all day long, zebra, kudu, wildebeeste and impala. The staff were fantastic, and the food good BUT it seems at these small intimate hi-end luxury camps/lodges that they find it very hard to cater for vegetarians. They never have fresh produce,if they do , its is rationed!! The larger lodges that take a hundred or more guests have abundant fresh produce so we have found in our travels. Makes me think twice about staying at the exclusive places. But we still loved our stay here. Maybe we'll return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
88.3 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,024 reviews
1.6 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 37 in Etosha National Park
271 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 37 in Etosha National Park
330 reviews
85.3 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#3 of 37 in Etosha National Park
512 reviews
92.2 mi away
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
#18 of 37 in Etosha National Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma Tented Camp

Address: C38, Namutoni Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $150 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onguma Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation consists of a fourteen bed tented camp, built around a waterhole. The seven spacious tents extend the u-shaped design, allowing for both privacy and fantastic views. Styled similarly to the main complex in the colors of the bush, each tent is designed with the same attention to detail and has a feeling of natural luxury. Each tent has both an indoor and outdoor shower, a gorgeous modern interpretation of an old zinc bath, a separate toilet, two stone basins and a private sitting area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onguma Tented Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing