We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, impeccable service”
Review of Onguma Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onguma Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Apart from staying in etosha, this is as close as you can get to the park entrance gate.
The tented lodge was overlooking a lovely waterhole visible from our deck. Rooms were comfortable and stylish.

The food was what won us over. My husbands steak was beautifully cooked and all meals were well presented and served by a very attentive waiter.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_w_s_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Onguma Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

I only have good things to say about this lodge. The accommodation, the food, the staff - all were amazing. Even saw lion, elephant and rhino on one of the evening game drives. I now understand why you get escorted back to your tent in the eveing..;-)

Room Tip: All 7 tents have privacy and overlook the waterhole.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Oh! we loved this camp, stylish but not over the top so as not to draw you away or distract you from the beautiful bushveldt you are in. Once in camp i didn't go on any game drives as I was happy to just sit and watch who came to the waterhole in front, and LOTS of animals visited all day long, zebra, kudu, wildebeeste and impala. The staff were fantastic, and the food good BUT it seems at these small intimate hi-end luxury camps/lodges that they find it very hard to cater for vegetarians. They never have fresh produce,if they do , its is rationed!! The larger lodges that take a hundred or more guests have abundant fresh produce so we have found in our travels. Makes me think twice about staying at the exclusive places. But we still loved our stay here. Maybe we'll return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Onguma is a private reserve right next to the entrance to Etosha. On the site there are a small number of differing lodges. From the gate to the tented camp is about a 20 minute drive.
The lodge is great really high end feel and the staff excellent. We were the only people staying for two of our three nights and to be honest we were meant to feel very special, no effort was spared to make us feel relaxed.
Food is excellent, served in a tented dinning room overlooking the waterhole.
If you want to see animals you do need to travel into the park as there is only small game around the lodge and we felt this was the only draw back. On the drive you go along the fence of Etosha and one morning the other side of the fence we saw a rhino. However on a night ride around the Onguma we saw nothing. However its an easy drive to the park and the service and setting more than make it for it.
The tent is really a mixture of canvas and permanent building, with an outdoor shower and indoor full bathroom.
All in all a really special place to spend a few nights, expensive but well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Got upgraded here from the Bush Camp, what a place! The tents really are luxury with internal and external showers, big bath, twin hand basins etc. Wake up at night and peer our of your bed at the lit up waterhole to look for new arrivals. The service is top class, comes with good training. The food was excellent and a very good wine selection to go with it. They even recommended wines to pair with the food.

Room Tip: All tents have a view of the lit up waterhole so any will do.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

OMG is all I can say. We stayed here only one night and did not take any game drives BUT that being said, the stay was fantastic and I wish we had more time. The tented rooms are large and comfortable. Two luggage spaces, two clothes hanging areas, lots of counter space for your stuff, three places to bathe (outdoor shower, indoor shower and huge tub), super comfy beds, oddly no mosquito net, luxe linens and soaps. No internet. The public area is an outdoor living room and bar, very stylish decor. There is a seating area around the firepit (even the dirt is raked in an artistic pattern - there is such attention to detail), nice for evening drinks. Evening is very romantic with candles in the rooms and public areas. The entire facility overlooks the waterhole. Top marks to the chef, best food we had in 11 days in Namibia. The set menu didn't appeal to two of the four diners in our party and something else was easily arranged and delicious. Onguma is located immediately outside the eastern gate of Etosha; there is a short ride to get to the different camps/lodges on the Onguma property. Can't say enough good things about our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What's more, the food is particularly good, even by high Namibian standards! The guides and service quality were also top level stuff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the explorer themed decor, hearing lions in the distance and meeting zebra on our walk back from dinner. The only downside was that the week before we arrived there had been a lot of rain. As a result the Mosquitos were out in FORCE, and I was EATEN ALIVE every night while we slept. We recommend adding a mosquito net to the bed. Also, some of the zippers on the tent needed repair, as well as some of the tent netting. Otherwise, a fantastic time was had: great place to relax and switch off.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RichvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 36 in Etosha National Park
252 reviews
88.3 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 36 in Etosha National Park
965 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
476 reviews
88.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 36 in Etosha National Park
315 reviews
87.2 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 36 in Etosha National Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma Tented Camp

Address: C38, Namutoni Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $140 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onguma Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation consists of a fourteen bed tented camp, built around a waterhole. The seven spacious tents extend the u-shaped design, allowing for both privacy and fantastic views. Styled similarly to the main complex in the colors of the bush, each tent is designed with the same attention to detail and has a feeling of natural luxury. Each tent has both an indoor and outdoor shower, a gorgeous modern interpretation of an old zinc bath, a separate toilet, two stone basins and a private sitting area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Onguma Tented Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing