We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY DISAPPOINTING” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namutoni

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namutoni
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
412 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We travelled to Namutoni directly from Okaukuejo and were originally quite pleased to find that our room was considerably larger than that at the previous camp. However, there was nothing else that compared favourably. As far as the room itself is concerned, neither I nor my partner find open plan toilet facilities to be particularly civilized, and a shower curtain would have assisted in preventing the whole bathroom area becoming drenched. The chalets are connected to the fort, where the restaurant and shops are located, and the waterhole by a system of wooden walkways which in many places are in need of repair to avoid the possibility of persons tripping, particularly after dark. The chalet was not terribly well located in relation the waterhole, being quite some distance away, and it anyway would have been difficult to see game had there been any at the waterhole because of the reeds, although I do accept that our visit was poorly timed for this purpose. Inside the fort, the two staircases to the ramparts were closed, both being dangerous and seriously in need of repair. The food in the restaurant on both evenings that we stayed was poor, with little choice available, and the service was mediocre. To cap the whole experience, the advertised game drives were not available because, apparently, the guides were involved in a workshop. This camp needs a lot more than a workshop to put it right, and I would not recommend that it should be visited in its current state.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    183
    164
    46
    13
See reviews for
76
251
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Namutoni campsite was our favourite of the three NWR campsites in Etosha. We had a shady, clean, grassy spot and there was a cute mongoose family that lived close by. They were not a pest unlike the baboons at Waterberg! The bathroom facilities are clean, give or take the odd bug or insect, but we had hot showers and no issues with the upkeep of these facilities. The pool area is also lovely and well maintained. Areas of the fort are old and need repair and this was also the worst waterhole for viewing out of the three main holes. We didn't eat in the restaurant and found the reception staff efficient but not overly friendly. We saw excellent game north and in the surrounding areas on our drives.

Room Tip: It was low season when we were there so we could choose our own campsite. There is heaps of shade an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromont, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our 4rd stop in Namibia. Rooms are nice with a vast and very modern washroom.
But food is so-so I took the crocs and it was very very bony. Even well cooked , it is still mostly bones. I did not like it. My wife choose beef but again hard like rocks. Moreover the waitress made to many mistakes. A supper to forget.
This is the entrance to the camp. It is vast and well located. For one day it is perfect but do no count on good eating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we arrived at our first camp in Etosha we were greated by staff who clearly had no interest in wanting to help us. The camp is in a bad need of paint, the grass in unkept, the wooden walkways are falling to pieces, the decking around the pool is missing, the wooden stairs inside the fort are closed as they are a hazard, there are 2 pairs and both are closed. We purchased from the shop and in all 3 instances were shortchanged and over charged amd had to ask for a correction. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well equipped but our aircon leaked water so badly we had to switch it off, and our friends in the other rooms toilet was not working. The food was good, surprisingly and the prices were however higher than the other 2 main camps. I would avoid staying here and rather stay at Halali or Okaukeujo, however the game around the old fort is plentiful and the flamingos are not to be missed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etosha National Park hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place looks so run down I got really scared, but as we were shown inside the bush chalet was very nice, except the air con in our room was blowing hot air. We got totally exhausted and felt that we almost couldn't breathe, yet we couldn't think rational. Suddenly the manager comes knocking on our door letting us know he just heard that we got room 41, where the air con doesn't work and he wants to move us to another room. We were so astonished by this (still have in mind this is Namibia).

Breakfast and dinner (the a la carte) as well as service in general was way much better here comparing it to Okaukuejo and Dolomite (all three being government owned and managed). Seems like the staff actually care and are proud of the establishment at this place, which is so lovely to encounter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
217 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2011.

Again, clean, average rest camp in Etosha. The waterhole is pretty but unfortunately we didn't see anything there, lots of frogs though. It is close to the lodges but a small walk from the camp site. Nothing you can't handle after sitting in a car all day though.

The plus of this camp is the location. Less tourists seem to visit the Namutoni surroundings so we saw more giraffes and vultures there than everywhere else. And after a lot of searching, we found the Damara Dikdik.

A good last stop before leaving Etosha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Out of the five camps in Etosha Namutoni is our least favorite. As photographers we want to photograph animals but the waterhole at the camp is not popular with the animals so you could sit there for hours and not see anything, unlike the waterholes at Halali, Dolomite and Okaukuejo where there is a constant stream of animals by day and night.

There are no braai (BBQ) facilities at the new chalets so you are forced to eat at the restaurant.

You must park your car a few hundred meters away from your chalet and then walk so if you forget somethng in your vehicle it's walk again!

The rooms are very nice and there is a wooden walkway leading to each chalet and there are porters who take your luggage from the drop-off area to your room. The porters push the luggage on trollies and the wheels make a terrible noise on the wooden boards so if you are trying to sleep during the day - forget about it!

Having said that, the waterholes around Namutoni (Klein Namutoni, Chudop and Kalkheuwel) are very good for animals so we tolerate the bad things about the camp so we can get to these waterholes early in the mornings and late in the day otherwise we would not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
7.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
17.9 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
78.9 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
77.8 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
94.4 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namutoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namutoni

Property: Namutoni
Address: Entrance Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Namutoni 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Namutoni Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing