We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good. I always like it”
Review of Halali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halali Resort
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good well appointed room but the weather was seriously hot before the rains. This made viewing at the waterhole difficult but we saw some good night time action, ellies v hyena, black rhino. The local viewing had been affected by the fire but Goas still good.
Food much better here than Okaukuejo and no wasps! Pleasant and efficient restaurant staff just reception a bit formal. The buses came and went disgorging loads of people in full safari gear taking pics of the swimming pool. Nevertheless always worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Halali Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 946 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at Halali for a night while driving through Etosha. what can I say: this is exactly where you want to stay in order to be able to really enjoy Etosha!!
it's half way between Andersson gate and Von Lindequist gate and the ideal 'base camp' for early morning and late night drives.
the rooms are fine (lovely honeymoon bungalow, really), the waterhole is perfect for a break from driving without missing the 'show', the food is alright... but this place is not about the facilities - it's about the location!

we'd highly recommend the organized night drives - an absolute highlight.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules_canada_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Conveniently located in the middle of Etosha, Halali offers simple chalets with separate sitting room that could use a good renovation furniture being rather tired. A/C but no wifi. Had we chosen to use the outside brai the so-called kitchenette would not have done its office due to its very incomplete crockery and cutlery.
After having read so many negative comments about NWR's camps we were pleasantly surprised to get a friendly welcome at the reception. The restaurant has a nice outside sitting area and the staff was more or less efficient depending on who attended your table, but nothing to really complain about. Very good buffet with various choice of game meat, side dishes and desserts.
We didn't use the swimming pool which seemed nice enough although seriously lacking of sunbeds and shade.
The Moringa waterhole is nicely set up in a circle of rocks a few minutes walk from the accommodation and is visited by many animals although we favored the waterholes outside the camp during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The camp is very nice and our honeymoon suite with a private garden was great. The food was good but not as good as Okaukuejo and could have been a lot hotter. We had a buffet for two nights costing $170 each and the third night we were told there was something special a brai exactly the same food but cooked outside for$230 each. The fourth night was again something special a brai at $230 and this time it was windy and we almost got smoked out! When there is no alternative to eating in the restaurant it is annoying when they increase the prices like this and hold you to ransome.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has a lovely garden
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In terms of national park, I usually have a golden rule and that is to stick to camping if at all possible. This ensures that you can only complain about your own food, cleanliness of your accommodation (tent) and as long as the power is on and you have clean ablutions you should have all the facilities you need. In terms of Camping Halali is fantastic and if you are not a big Ice cream fan you can possibly stay clear of the shop meaning you should have very little to complain about. We use the pool which was clean and enjoyed the waterhole. I was what you call a happy camper! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Halali is the newest of the Etosha camps and has the most campsites. The campsites are a decent size and positioned close together, although this did not cause a problem during our recent trip. There are a number of ablution facilities so it seems that only 4 - 6 campsites share a block.

I really enjoyed our stay at Halali. The game in the area was good and the camp was clean. However the service at the shop and restaurant was TERRIBLE. If you want to feel unwelcome and like the staff are doing you a huge favour by being there then Halali will provide! It really was unfortunate as I loved the camp.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Background: The word "Halali" is of German origin, which roughly translates to the Brit "Tally ho" or target (prey) sighted. Inside Etosha, however, the word has a different connotation: that sport hunting is over. Located halfway between Okaukuejo and Namutoni resorts, and about 10 km from the main road which links these two other camps, Halali is a mixed-use resort offering both chalets and campgrounds. (As our overland group was self-catering, this review does not cover the on-site restaurant.)

PROS: Location is a big plus. Being the middle campsite and 60 km away from either Okaukuejo and Namutoni meant that you can visit one place in the morning and the other in the afternoon. Halali is the smallest, most intimate (chalets are closer together) accommodation among the three resorts. It is of good value for what you get. Other amenities include skylight chalet roofs, a swimming pool and restaurant. There are two waterholes (Moringa and Helio) in close proximity to the camp. As in Okuakuejo, wild game is far easier to spot and photograph here. Although variety is scarce, they tend to have far larger herds of animals. The Moringa waterhole is the best for elephant spotting -- herds and herds come by all throughout the day. And by night, a few groups of rhinos come out. Birding isn't too bad either.

CONS: Despite being the newest (opened in 1967) of the 3 NWR resorts, it ironically appears to be the most rundown, especially the campsite (broken light fixtures, non-functioning electrical powerpoints, etc). The condition of the chalets are midway between the other two resorts. (This may be because signs of recent renovations at the Namutoni resort point to it being a priority focus for improvement.) Also, I would skip the night safari drive on this site. Our driver was also the guide, so you can imagine him focusing more on the driving than locating game. Besides, my headlamp was even brighter and reached farther than the torch he brought but barely used.

Verdict: Too bad there isn't a separate review for the Halali waterholes so I'll have to lump them together. In general, 4 stars for the Moringa waterhole, 3 stars for the resort camp. So, your choice would depend on what you are after and what you can live with: the accommodation vs the wild game. Overall, still worth a visit for the awesome waterhole, if nothing else. Grade B+.

.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
44.4 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Etosha National Park
971 reviews
40.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
827 reviews
41.4 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.4 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 36 in Etosha National Park
68 reviews
56.8 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#3 of 8 in Etosha National Park
154 reviews
42.9 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 36 in Etosha National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halali Resort

Address: 70 km from Okaukuejo, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Halali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Halali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halali Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing