We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The fire were still burning...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halali Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halali Resort
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The fire were still burning...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Just our luck, there was a fire a week before - they said- but we could see the fire still smoldering? All the animals were gone...just a few elephants walking around and only a view animals at the waterholes. So sad! It is a drought that is more severe than the last 30 years...so sad... The restaurant could not cope with all the guests arriving and we waited a long while for our food...and it was no fireworks either. The sleeping quarters was small but neat. The pool clean. No animals at the waterhole...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LadyT165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    309
    315
    91
    22
See reviews for
153
429
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed in the campsite during a tour organized by Nomad tour.
the toilets are good and clean
there is a swimming pool but we didn't use it
lots of animals at the waterhole during all day and night (zebras, elephants, springboks, giraffes and even rhinos).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1ch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Please don't compare with other private lodges in Namibia ; You will not find originality, delicate decoration, fine cooking in the restaurant...BUT this is the place to be in Etosha : it's central, you've got a great great waterhole (we saw hyenas, rhinos, lot of elephants during the day and at night) ; remember the park is closed from sunset to sunrise : so you people will be unable to see wildlife during theese hours except at the camp site's waterholes.

The rooms are big enough with a private garden and spa ; some rooms got a hole in the roof so you can enjoy thoose marvelous austral skies from your bed !

Breakfasts ans meals are OK, staff is as friendly as possible in such a huge camp.

An advice : don't try the night game : there is only one person in the truck who both drives and searches the animals : so the chance to see something is really thin...Just enjoy the sunset at the waterhole.

Definitely you've got to stay here at least one night.

Room Tip: Choose "honeymoon" double bedrooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Preferred this campsite to Okakuejo as it was quieter and in a great central location to explore around for two days. The waterhole was amazing, with at least 3 Rhinos on both evenings we were there. The campsite is not very private but as there were fewer people we didnt have anyone very close to us. No greedy jackals trying to creep up on us here as there were in Okakuejo. Swimming pool was great too, perfect for the times between game drives. Would recommend reading the book in reception which says what has been seen where, we got some great tips from that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank followthesun0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Housing is a little nicer in Okakeujo but camping is far better here. We found the waterhole here very active for the three nights we stayed and there's decent seating around it. There are so many little kids at Okakeujo that they're constantly loud and scaring off wildlife--this one is much better for a quiet viewing experience. For game drives, the central location is great. If you're camping, recommend stocking up on food prior to entering the park and grilling every night. Food selection at the rest camps are poor and the restaurant is mediocre and very expensive.

Room Tip: There are no assigned campsites at halali so get there early to snag a good spot.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The stay here was average. Quite a good campsite. Didnt see as much animals here as in other camps. They charge more for coffee and double the price for cake compared to the other two camps. Prefer Okakeujo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthinusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etosha National Park hotels

Hemiksem
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed here in april 2012. The second (of three) camp site we visited in Etosha. From a camping perspective the best of the three. Food at the restaurant was mmm. The pool is big and enjoyed by yours truly and our son.
The waterwhole here is just magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelLinsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
41.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
44.6 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
41.5 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.9 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
60.3 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
56.9 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halali Resort

Property: Halali Resort
Address: 70 km from Okaukuejo, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Halali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Halali Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing