We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views while waiting for Breakfast!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halali Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halali Resort
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great views while waiting for Breakfast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location cannot be faulted, simply amazing and each well separated room is located in an incredible position, right on the edge 100's of metres up! Elephant trip was super as was the sunset trip, both quite expensive. However our 7am breakfast request didn't arrive until 7.45 and then just the tea , so we gave up on the toast and settled for bread, but had to wait 10 min for that!
Well worth staying and dinner service was to be fair quicker but despite the great views wouldn't rate too highly. Staff are not always naturally friendly, some are and some aren't.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    309
    315
    91
    22
See reviews for
153
429
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillarys, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The only thing going for this place is its location right in the centre of the Etosha Park and in close proximity to a nice waterhole. We stayed in the “Honeymoon Suite”; in reality a cramped chalet perched in the middle of a dusty car park.

The inside of the room was fairly clean and pleasant but was tiny with nowhere to sit and relax. The Jacuzzi courtyard is fenced in with 10ft high sticks in an attempt to create some sense of seclusion but failing dismally. The Jacuzzi itself is a fibreglass spa stuck in the middle of the courtyard and is particularly uninviting.

However the worst part was the service. I encountered the rudest person I have ever seen behind a counter at the convenience store; whoever you are, get over yourself. I bought a few items, approached the counter and in the first instance was basically ignored. Then I got a hostile glance before she rung up the goods. She then half mumbled half grunted the total with her head turned away from me so I couldn’t hear it. I was pretty annoyed and made it obvious as I asked her to repeat, but she couldn’t have cared less. Then when I handed over cash I got a blank stare and a pause followed by “well don’t you have the correct change?” When I said no she huffed and shook her head at me.

You get a similar level of service in the restaurant and front counter. The restaurant was pretty grimy, and given the prices they are charging, the food is way below par. The place needed a good rake and a sweep with leaves and dust collecting everywhere. The only clean thing was the pool which was meticulously serviced each day.

Is it worth putting up with all of this to stay in a great location in the middle of the park? Probably yes, but NWR are rip-off merchants taking advantage of their circumstance. It’s the same in many of the parks around Namibia. The NWR resort is generally in the best location but it will be poorly run and maintained. Avoid them if possible, but if you want to be close to the action you often have no choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etosha National Park hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The camp is big, and quite dusty - and there is no view of the bush as with Okaukeujo. We also made the mistake of having lunch here. The service was APPALLING, and despite the dreadful food the dining area was full, we had to sit at a fly infested table full of other guests lunch remains while we waited for the waitress to attend to us. Very little choice - and quite expensive.
The pool is a good place to chill out - although it seems day trippers are allowed to swim making it quite full. The campsite was quite dusty and charmless, but the ablutions - of which there are many - where the best we had encountered in Etosha. The waterhole is also definitely worth a visit, especially after dark as a powerful spot light picks out a wonderful procession of game as they come to drink during the evening. In one night we saw elephants, a leopard and rhino. There are scavengers in the camps - notably jackals, but we were also harrased by a Honey Badger - in most cases a lovely sighting, but not up close and personal - as they are fearless and scrappy.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusannahH622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the outside, Halali is what us South Africans are used to in terms of Parks Board camps. The inside of the rooms, however have been very well done and we were extremely comfortable with a lovely bed, aircon, double shower and crisp cotton linen. We took a honeymoon suite for the jacuzzi, but I wouldn't do that again. The jacuzzi bakes in the hot sun all day and is boiling hot......could hardly put our fingers in it. Also it seems to attract bees and at least 75 were buzzing around it during the day at any given time...many get drowned despite the cover, and when the water had cooled sufficiently in the evening to be able to get in...it was a bit like bee soup with nothing to scoop them out with....so we didn't use it.

I found the meals were reasonably good. Not a huge selection, but tasty.....It killed me to walk past the huge platter of prawns every night, but we don't eat shellfish in remote rural areas so far removed from the sea, so sadly walked on past that platter.

The waterhole was really enjoyable, but a bit of a walk from the camp. We sat there for hours in the morning, mostly alone, which was fantastic. Lots of little creatures when the big ones aren't around. I noticed that tourists pop in and if nothing much is happening at the time, they disappear quite quickly instead of waiting to see what comes around next.

The service and check in were friendly and great. Only one waitress was really slack and offhand, appearing only when it was time for a tip as we were leaving......but she didn't get one.

A very enjoyable camp overall, but now that we have traversed the whole of Etosha, there is only one place I would return to again and that is the mind blowing Okaukuejo waterhole!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theXmases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Halali campsite was our least favorite campsite of all those in which we stayed during our trip. The sites are too close to each other and so it has more of a tail-gate/parking lot atmosphere as opposed to a natural setting. The one saving grace for us was the Moringa waterhole, which is located just a 5 minute walk away. We were skeptical that a flood-lit waterhole would seem too contrived, but it was actually a fun experience for one night and the unpredictability of the animals added the needed element of surprise. We saw several black rhino, including a mother leading her baby, nine elephant including a few youngsters, plus a lioness, several species of antelope, warthog, kudu, countless birds... We appreciated that the spectators at the waterhole were, for the most part, reasonably quiet. Since this type of camping (and wildlife viewing) isn't our favorite, this was the only night we stayed inside the park so we cannot compare to the other NWR sites inside Etosha. Our campsite had a braai block, picnic table and concrete stools, a camp light, electricity, and water. Ablution blocks had hot water showers, flush toilets, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This camp is simple and quiet. Its located away from the national park entrances and does not suffer from the busloads of day trippers who stay outside the park and venture inside just for a day. The accomodation is in motel style buildings, simple but with extremely comfortable beds and a clean ensuite. The food was simple but plentiful, I don't expect gourmet food in the middle of a national park, miles away from the nearest city. The waterhole here was really quiet, very few foreigners were bothered to get up for sunrise so we watched in silence giraffes and elephants drinking with just a handful of tourists and a school class of Namibian children who were camping at the site-it was magical. We came to Namibia to see wildlife without a zoo, we got exactly that here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unfortunately the accommodation is badly in need of updating...looking very tired. Food fine....probably the best of the 3 park camps and staff verypleasant and helpful. Do ask them where the owls are !!
But this camp is a must for some wonderful animal viewing plus the location and proximity to great waterholes....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
41.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
44.6 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
41.5 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.9 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
60.3 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
56.9 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halali Resort

Property: Halali Resort
Address: 70 km from Okaukuejo, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Halali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Halali Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing