We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well-run”
Review of Mushara Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mushara Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well-run”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Mushara Lodge at Easter 2014. The chalet was excellent and the establishment is clearly well-run. The food was very good and hot food was served on hot plates. That's a small point, but it was disappointing at other places to have hot meals on cold plates, or toast arriving 10 minutes after your (no longer) hot breakfast appeared. It was clear, in comparison with those other places, that management were competent and had a clear understanding of what clients expected. Staff were cheerful and welcoming. Mushara is located at the eastern end of Etosha and there was far more game to be seen than in the west, at least when we were there. Our game guide, Richardo, was knowledgable and friendly. Wifi in the communal area. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    60
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
141
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

we were blown away by the comfortable accommodation and stylish decor of this lodge. The food was ample and well prepared. The wine list was the best we had in all of Namibia. 2009 De Trafford Cab Sav was spectacular. Pool was well enjoyed and the whole stay was great for our family!

Room Tip: Splash out and try the De Trafford while it still lasts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lodge several times a few years ago when we lived in Namibia and loved it -always felt that we got good value and a great experience. We prefer to self-drive in Etosha for the freedom but Mushara was a great place to return to. We really feel the love when we stay there - the owners really seem to care!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BalancedCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I joined a tour and stayed in this lodge for one night.
To me this is luxury.
It felt extremely wonderful to have a cool drinks relaxingly during the hot hot daytime, when doing check-in. no hurry.
wonderful chalet. very spacious. very clean. You and your partner can brush teeth and wash face at the same time since there are two sinks. What a pity I was on my own only.There is a chair inside the shower room. shower and toilet are two separate rooms.
Nice pool. my tour mates seemed enjoying their swim very much.
Good dining atmosphere at night. One can see animals walking around if lucky.
Nice gift shop. I found something good for kids ^_^
I love staying in the lobby too.

Room Tip: No.1 Chalet seems to be the closest to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchiuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Mushara Lodge is comfortable, friendly, inviting and my children and I had the wonderful opportunity to spend three nights in the lovely family house. It is very spacious and has all you need to make your stay a pleasure.
The food is amazing we were served incredible game dishes and the eeland steak was to die for!
Thank you to the very friendly staff at Mushara you made the entire experience a very memorable one and we hope to be back soon. To Mark and Marisska thank you for your fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: The family house is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonSwakopmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Mushara is a fine property that meets all the basic standards you'd expect from a mid- to high-end safari lodge in the region. It's not going to wow you (if I had it to do over, I would probably shell out the extra cash and stay at Ongava in search of "wow"), but it's not going to fill you with rage either.

The decor and fit-out of the main building and individual bungalows is beautiful - it's clear a lot of thought and care has gone into the details. We went through two rooms with broken AC before we were assigned a third one where it worked - so fair enough, they solved the problem, but it would have been nice to see the staff troubleshoot a little more proactively so we didn't have to unpack and repack our stuff multiple times. Details.

The setting is nice enough, with roaming warthogs and antelopes and a well-maintained pool, but remember when you book that this isn't a property with a watering hole or many other animals on site, so you won't have quite the "eating dinner whilst watching grazing zebras" experience you might have other places.

The food was very good, and the staff seemed willing to accommodate special requests / needs. The service otherwise... meh. We had driven in with our petrol tank almost on empty (poor planning, but we can't be the first dumb tourists to have made this mistake!) and it took mullllllllltiple questions / pleas / escalations of our problem up the chain of command to the owner to finally be told that there was a petrol station 2 km down the road at another resort.

The two guided game drives in Etosha that we arranged through Mushara were fantastic, and decent value for money at about US $50 per person per drive - we liked our guide Beni and found him very knowledgeable. (The sunset G&Ts on our afternoon outing - served in glass cocktail glasses! - were a nice touch.)

I've read a lot of reviews extolling the fact that it's a family-run property (and the Mushara folks certainly talk this up in their literature), but the only sign of family-runness I saw was that the owners' children and their friends completely took over the swimming pool both weekend afternoons we were there, complete with screaming and splashing that didn't seem to meet with any admonishment from the owners themselves. So much for a customer-centered experience...

All in all - decent, but not stellar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gubbiofarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Conveniently situated for the Namutomi Gate on the eastern side of Etosha National Park, we stayed at Mushara Lodge for three nights. This is a professional operation with high standards. Our room was large, very attractive, stylish and well equipped with lovely comfortable beds. Free wi-fi in the public areas. The tariff works on a half-board basis as most people staying there are self-driving and spend the day in the National Park. However they also offer guided safaris into the park at extra cost if you don't want to drive yourself. There is a good pool and very nice public areas. Accommodation units are detached and well spaced for privacy. Food was good. We stayed in 13 different lodges during our month-long trip and this was one of the very best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
4.7 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
802 reviews
89.0 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 36 in Etosha National Park
938 reviews
7.3 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 36 in Etosha National Park
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.3 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
460 reviews
89.2 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 36 in Etosha National Park
306 reviews
87.8 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#25 of 36 in Etosha National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushara Lodge

Property: Mushara Lodge
Address: Namutoni, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mushara Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mushara Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing