We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room and views; horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Okaukuejo Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okaukuejo Resort
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely room and views; horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Namibia is stunning. But this national park resort, sadly, fits the stereotype of what you get when government operated. The room we had (premium) was lovely in setting (right next to a waterhole) and in design (2 bedroom chalet/loft), BUT not well maintained or serviced. We had a toilet and shower that didn't operate correctly downstairs and an A/C that didn't work properly (leaked water all over/had to turn off) upstairs. It's really too bad, because if they had responded to our complaints that things were broken it would have been okay...we "get it" that things break. What we don't appreciate, when paying top dollar for a room, is poor service. The reception ladies were insolent and apathetic...and basically dismissed us with their disregard. Our package was a breakfast, dinner and room; food was just okay...buffet style (lots of bees and moths flying around). I recommend that you stay outside the park.

Room Tip: The waterhole chalets are the only reason to stay here...but beware of no service if things are malf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    312
    215
    82
    35
See reviews for
158
387
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a Waterhole chalet, which was small but clean and comfortable. You couldn't see the waterhole from the chalet though so I don't think it was worth the extra money that we paid for a waterhole room. We only saw a few wildebeest and jackels at the waterhole, but we stayed in December so we didn't expect much game at the hole anyway. I'm sure it would be fabulous in the dry season.
The resort is nice and it was great to stay within the park, but the service was generally poor. It took ages to check in because the staff were so slow and service at dinner was also very slow. Staff were largely disinterested, which is something we hadn't experienced at other accommodation in Namibia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I wasn't expecting anything more than comfortable accommodations and we got just that. The food in the restaurant was bland and actually not really worth the time. The service was pretty haphazard in just about every area of the resort from the front desk check-in experience to the restaurant. You got the feeling that no one really cared that you were there or not. We stayed for one night and that was plenty. The waterhole can be a wonderful experience but we found that most people gathering around the viewing area were just not well informed about etiquette around a waterhole: Noisy humans and flashes = no animals. A few signs reminding people about this might have improved the viewing experience for everyone. While we were there, people gathered around the waterhole area were acting more like this was an outdoor neighborhood BBQ than a viewing area for wildlife. Kids running around, bottles and glasses clanking, loud talking, and flash photography. When the noisemakers got bored and left because there weren't any animals, the rest of us had the privilege of viewing an elephant, 2 lions, and a rhino - really unusual for this time of year. I'm not really sure what other options are available as we booked through an agency but I would suggest maybe doing a little research before committing to staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSweatTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Despite paying for a waterhole chalet, we had no view of the waterhole from the sofas in front of our room. Indeed, most 'waterhole chalets' did not have views, and there is no advantage of paying the extra. This should be made more clear on the website. The room itself was clean but very very small. The bed took up most of the room, and to walk around it required squeezing past. Money would be better spent towards a chalet at one of the other waterholes in Etosha. Despite the disappointing room, the waterhole itself was great, and well set up with chairs to enjoy at night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etosha National Park hotels

Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
810 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Chalets near the waterhole are nice though a bit small. Beds are comfortable and AC works well and it is quiet. Plenty of towels and toiletries. A small refrigerator and coffee pot are also part of the room amenities. No place to sit inside the room, but there is a small patio with two large chairs and small table. These chalets are about $180 usd for two people per night and that includes breakfast and dinner. There are cheaper accommodations in this camp, but when we came only the chalets were available. We arrived without a reservation although we tried booking before getting there. The booking system for Namibia parks is not as good as the one in South Africa. It is not possible to book directly online and therefore making a reservation is more involved. After November 1st rates go down a bit since it is supposedly no longer the high season. In spite of being the low season we noticed many tours and the campground was full at Okaokouejo when we arrived leaving us no choice but to get the chalets which were the only accommodation available. My advice to make reservation early enough. Otherwise be prepared to pay more if you get there and all the cheaper accommodation is taken. I should point out that the chalets are much closer to the waterhole than the cheaper double rooms. This is nice since you can get up at any hour to go see what animals are at the waterhole and you don’t have to walk as far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a waterhole chalet which location wise was good but room was just adequate. Quite small compared to other lodges we stayed at. It had air con and a fridge but no safe. Restaurant was a big canteen where meals were buffet style. Organisation was a shambles. No one properly explained where we should sit despite supposedly having g a reservation for 8.00 pm. Tables weren't cleared properly or reset. This is a big camp with various types of accommodation. If visiting Etosha again we would stay at a smaller privately run lodge outside of the National Park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
434 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The game viewing was the best in all of Etosha. We saw many predators and roads were easy to navigate. Of course the waterhole is fantastic, truly the best anywhere we have ever been in Africa. Do not miss it.
Campers can utilize the general facilities which we did. During the heat of the day we lounged at the pool. Nice sun beds with pads and a bit of shade.
Ablution blocks were fine, realatively clean, although a bit dated.
The only thing we didn't like about it was how many large overland groups utilize this camp. They tend to set themselves up right by the ablution blocks so it's difficult to navigate the kitchen area or toilets. Still worth it. Try to get a quiet place away from the big groups and you will be happier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
78.3 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
15.5 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
11.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
29.5 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#22 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Resort

Property: Okaukuejo Resort
Address: Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Okaukuejo Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Okaukuejo Hotel Etosha National Park
Okaukuejo Resort Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing