We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful waterhole”
Review of Okaukuejo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Okaukuejo Resort
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely waterhole chalet. Spacious and clean. Separate shower, wash basin, toilet with proper door. Every thing worked. Very well positioned for the water hole. A constant stream of animals visited. Elephants, giraffes, springbok, impala, kudu, oryx, warthogs, jackal, guinea fowl, sand grouse, and, most wonderful of all - black rhino including mother and baby. Quite magical.

Restaurant was quite good. Although most of the food was prepared in advance the salads were still crisp and the vegetables which were kept warm in Bain Marie's were still recognisable. Starters were salad with seafood, mussels, crab sticks etc. The grilled meats Oryx and Eland, freshly cooked were very good. Coffee was almost drinkable. Breakfast was freshly cooked eggs to order with theoretical bacon. They ran out on the first day before we got any and there was none on the second day.

Lots of people

No Internet
Toiletries provided
No hair dryer
No complementary water
Fridge with freezer compartment
Complementary tea and coffee in room. Only dried milk. Only instant coffee.

Would go back, especially for the water hole.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lucymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 828 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room we had was quite good, situated close to the waterhole. Food was fairly indifferent, to be endured rather than enjoyed.

However, if you are visiting Etosha you need to stay here for the waterhole - fantastic array of animals - and for its location within the park for game drives. The only real negative here was the food but worth putting up with.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ximera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013. We stayed in 2 chalets with my 3 brothers. The waterhole makes this a must stay, regardless of any other issues. We saw 100+ ellies 10+ rhinos at the water hole in 2 nights.

Expect crowds during most time of the year. The restaurant can be crowded and run low on food at night. Many people do self cater here, but can still be crowded. The waterhole can be crowded (and with good reason).

The chalets are fine. Good location and easy to walk the camp. It is fenced and safe. There is AC and heat in the chalets. Good electricity and hot water. Comfortable beds than can be arranged as either 2 twins or one king bed. No kitchen in the chalet we had.

Great location with many good water holes in the area. Central location in the park and close to the gate.

Service is fine and we had very friendly waiters and waitresses despite being told the service was not good. The food was fine and better than expected based on previous reviews. We had no issues with upkeep or service at this camp.

We would certainly recommend this to anyone staying in Etosha.

Room Tip: The water hole chalets are not worth the price. You can walk to the water hole from most anywhere v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a Waterhole Chalet. Its interesting to read the negative comments here about service as we only experienced excellent service all round.
Check in was very fast and from reading their web site we already knew about the key deposit. Check out was just as fast with key deposit returned quickly. A little patience to wait for them to check the room isnt unreasonable.
In fact earlier we did have an issue at one of the other NWR camps and the General Manager at Okaukuejo went out of his way to ensure we were looked after regarding that issue. WELL DONE and THANKS.
The Waterhole Chalet was excellent with a small sitting area in front facing the waterhole and a side private area with 2 swinging glass doors accessing it. We could easily make ourselves a coffee and go to the waterhole seating to drink it.
Beds were great, and showers perfect and hot, not like many of the solar powered showers we experienced on our travels !.
The buffet dinners were fine, good selection of game/pork/chicken etc and cooked how you like,if you ask, although we tended to eat early so that we could be at the waterhole just after dark. I guess with tour groups coming in it could get a bit chaotic, but thats normal at all similar places we have stayed..

Car parking was almost next door so that made luggage transport easy.

As others have said the amount of game at the waterhole was amazing but what was annoying was the few who insisted on using camera flash, which in some cases obviously annoyed the animals. Flash is a waste of time anyway with the distance involved. Maybe a sign or 2 against this would help.
One evening we saw somewhere around15 Rhino,s. One with a baby.
We would not hesitate to stay here again. Noting we stayed at Dolimite Camp and Mushara Lodge as well.

Room Tip: My choice would be the Waterhole Chalets. We were in W24 and W25 which were perfectly located for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As already mentioned by many before: The service is not so good, and actually at times unfriendly. In any case it was the unfriendliest we experienced in Namibia.
We booked LONG in advance a family chalet at the waterhole, and there was a "problem"... they had none left. OK so they booked us into another house which was quite clean, well they forgot to put water on, but I succeeded to find the switch near the road. The 2nd day we finally got our family chalet near the waterhole, and wow, I loved it. The waterhole is fantastic, we saw so much there. Watch my photo below.
Food, not so good, but maybe we simply got spoiled in the other lodges. Oh yes I loved to see Jackals walking around in the camp and even the restaurant... but care is required because of rabies.
In conclusion, I still would go back there only for the waterhole. One remark, if you travel in May, avoid driving north-east of this Resort, we saw nearly nothing, waterholes empty or even non existent anymore. All animals where more on the western side of the park. But this year was particularly dry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Etosha is a great nature reserve. We spent 2 nights camping and didnt even need to go for a drive to see animals. We spent the whole day at the waterhole at the camp.
That said, the facilities for the campsites are not up to standard...we had to set up camp on hard rocks and dust. You would expect a big tourist attraction to at least 'sweep' the rocks a little. The ablution blocks are neat...until 150 odd people start using it. Cleaning once a day isnt enough for so many people...the smell and water puddles were disgusting...
I think staying in a chalet would probably be a better experience..if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBritsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a premier chalet (no 32) and had a good view of the middle of the waterhole. The chalet was 2 stories and had an upper deck with lounge chairs so that one could watch the waterhole from this area.
There were 2 bedrooms, 1 up with good bathroom facilities and 1 down, with an en-suite. There was a downstairs lounge area and tea making facilities. All was spotless and well maintained.
The staff were very pleasant.
The tariff of 2500 NAD included breakfast and dinner. Both were extremely good.
Breakfast had cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad and fresh whole fruit, bread to toast, muffins, cold meats and cheese, eggs cooked to order (great omelettes with lots of filling), sausage, bacon, juices, tea/coffee, all nicely cooked and plentiful. At breakfast, one had to book a table for dinner.
Dinner was great and had different game and cooked meats each night. It had soup, bread rolls, game meat, pork, sausage, lamb chops, ox-tail (varied each night), mashed potato, rice, vegetables and salads and a variety of sweets - ice-cream, cake and custard, chocolate mousse, fruit salad, cream puffs, (again varied each night), tea/coffee. All was well cooked and very tasty.
One night, the teenagers from the Okaukuejo Combined Choir came in and sang. What wonderful voices they had! We thoroughly enjoyed listening to them. They were raising funds for their school and I would say that they would raise quite a bit of money as they put so much effort into their singing and movements.
Another evening we had a jackal sitting nearby in the pool area - no threat at all and it wasn't fed by anyone.
The waterhole was unbelievable with a constant procession of animls coming - elephant, rhino, giraffe, kudu, springbok, gemsbok, jackal, lions (at night), and zebra, Having a waterfront chalet, we could see what was coming down and this was really great during the night as we could pop out and photograph.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a premier waterhole chalet. The tariff does include breakfast and dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
15.5 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,014 reviews
21.0 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
165 reviews
78.3 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 37 in Etosha National Park
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
506 reviews
79.8 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 37 in Etosha National Park
267 reviews
16.1 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#25 of 37 in Etosha National Park
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Resort

Address: Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $136 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Okaukuejo Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Okaukuejo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okaukuejo Hotel Etosha National Park
Okaukuejo Resort Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing