We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room and waterhole, but.....”
Review of Okaukuejo Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okaukuejo Resort
Reviewed June 16, 2013

...but the service, check-in and meals all leave significant room for improvement. Check in was a nightmare. We had booked into and paid for a waterhole chalet. We were told flat out that none were available and we would stay in another room near the lodge and then move the next day to the waterhole--Oh, and the dinner we paid for would not be included with our first night. What a rip-off! Next was the cash requirement for a stupid key. I think it was $50 but can't remember. Interestingly we got our exact same cash back later. Meals are buffet style and are quite boring after a couple of days. OK for one or maybe 2 but not more. Wines are good and reasonably priced. Note that there is no ATM at this concession nor internet. The waterhole is special and was quite active while we were there. This is about the only reason to stay more than 1 day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Okaukuejo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 807 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced with a good wine selection. The waterhole has spotlights at night and is a great place to sit. We saw a large herd of elephant as well as black rhino and some jackal. It is a great place to eat and to stay over for a night or two.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet close to the waterhole.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The resort is located at a very convenient location which makes it a perfect stop while you are traveling within Etosha. Here are some of the highlights

1. Waterhole - The waterhole is basically in a wide open space where you could not only see wildlife while its there but can also spot them while they are coming from far distances. We loved the waterhole here and it was the best. I would recommend staying here at least 2 nights and spending time at the waterhole for the most part. You'll see a lot of wildlife there.

2. Food - Mediocre but far far far better than Halali. Service was very good and the food was good too. No vegetarian options though.

3. Rooms were good too. You can park your vehicle right infront of your room which is always a convenience.

4. The whole property was very well kept and looked very clean, open and beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had our final night in Namibia scheduled for Etosha, but did not know where we would be staying. Well, to say the least we were extremely happy with the accommodations. Our chalet was not right on the water hole, but we could see it from our deck area. We were able to see that the rhinos that came in the dark the night before were back at first light so we did get some great photos at that time. The lions we spotted and the one that stayed about ten feet from the vehicle and seemed to just be posing for us were phenomenal. The lions also woke us up during the night when they came in to the waterhole, very cool to hear.
We ate the evening buffet and the morning buffet. They were both very good and we had great service.

Room Tip: If possible get close to the waterhole, it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitnaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great place to be and relax enjoying the views.

Stayed at water challet 34 and 35 but the 31 is the best one with total clean view and it is great to sleep outside in the balcany and listen to the night souds watching the animals coming to have a drink.

Whatched lions arriving at midnight, as well as white and black rhinos almost all the others.

Get the night safari to whach some of the other animals. We got the leopard for some 30m.

Clean rooms with everthing you need. Dinners and breakfeat was excelent and superb.

Room Tip: Its absolutely needed to book in advance a good water hole challet. Get 31 is the best. Next is 34 w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosPakitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lots has been said about this place, yes it might be Disneyland, we call it an American housing estate but the waterhole is topping everything we saw so far.
We stayed one night in a waterhole chalet and booked a 2nd in the campsite. This was a mistake. The campsite is not so nice, compared to other nice ones we stayed in before. So forget the campsite, invest in a waterhole chalet. We did the same for our 2nd night and as we were 4 they booked us in to room W34. From the upstairs bedroom you can lay on your bed and observe the waterhole. You do not need to drive anymore, just get comfortable at the waterhole viewing area or on your veranda which is no more then 50 m from the action. Chalet 1 or 9 or a 2 floor chalet W34 highly recommended.
It is so quiet here that you forget that behind is actually a big resort.

I would stay here again and book a waterhole chalet without exception. On our 1st night we saw 5 rhinos including a baby, elephants, giraffes, all the antelopes, zebras, and the best thing was not just one or two, they arrive in big groups. Jackals are becoming a problem within the camp. Also during the night we heard the roaring of the lions, and sure enough they also made an appearance at 1 am but we went to bed at midnight and missed them. We made up for this by seeing 16 the next morning on our drive.

Food is nothing special and service was atrocious at times but again you come here for the waterhole and that's what our review is based on.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Davecorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we checkend in we were confronted with paying cash (!) for the key! Never in the whole world I had this experiance!!!! No were mentioned that this is a must! Ok, we still had some cash, but some guests did not cash, so you have a problem.
The room was clean and big, no problem, one bedside lamp was not there. The waterhole expericene was nothing.....no animals and why with lights! Not animal friendly.
Supper only a buffet was there. Chaos in the restaurant, a lot of big groups, who got all the attention. Then we saw the prepation of the meat by the "chef", and when we saw jow, we walked out, no supper for us. The raw meat was not chilled and with a tonsil they took the raw meat, put it on the grill and with the same tonsil, they handeld the already grilled meat!!! So cross contamindation 100%!! We donot want samonella! We made a complain to the restaurant manger the next day, but he looked if we were nuts! Also he said we had to pay for supper, but we didnot eat there at all. We only put our name on the diner list. Also breaksfast was so poor and no chilling of the yogurt and so on.
The staff does not care of the guests at all, they get there montly wages anyway from the state.

We also had problems with dougy guys hanging afound the car and the houses. The camp was not fully closes, so they got in.

Better to stay in a lodge outside the park! And please watch out for the food over there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
15.5 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Etosha National Park
968 reviews
78.3 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
825 reviews
11.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 36 in Etosha National Park
68 reviews
21.0 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#3 of 8 in Etosha National Park
154 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#9 of 36 in Etosha National Park
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Resort

Address: Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $139 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Okaukuejo Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Okaukuejo Hotel Etosha National Park
Okaukuejo Resort Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing