We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elephants galore at Okaukuejo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okaukuejo Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okaukuejo Resort
Suffolk
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Elephants galore at Okaukuejo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were looking forward to the waterhole but not looking forward to the camp. Okaukuejo was the biggest camp we stayed at and we were worried by the reports of noise and rowdiness that we had read on the Internet. Yes it is big but the accommodation is well spaced with many trees and open space so it does not give the impression that there are too many people. Do not waste money on the bungalows near the water hole; there are probably only three two storey ones that can actually see the water hole and even those are probably obscured by trees. Our bungalow was just across the road and well fitted out with a kitchen, living room, bedroom etc and with an outside BBQ area.

Reserving a table for dinner on arrival is a must and the food itself, buffet style has choice for all tastes.

The water hole is the main attraction here and we made a bee line for it on arrival and were able to witness a herd of about 40 elephants wallowing at will. Advice is too eat early and then go to the floodlit waterhole and on our two nights there we saw eight black rhinos each night. The ones on the second night were not the same as on the first for they were younger and we watched as they played amongst themselves just like children.

Whatever your reservations may be about the camp if you go to Etosha then you must spend one night at least at Okaukuejo.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money by booking a water hole view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felixstowejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    309
    210
    81
    35
See reviews for
154
384
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

While camping our way through Africa we sometimes had opportunities to upgrade from tent camp sites to rooms. Etosha's lodge was the best upgrade during the trip. The bed was very comfortable. The room includes A/C, fridge, towels, and toiletries. We had a 5 min walk to the watering hole. Breakfast was included with the room and was pretty good. I hope to return for a longer stay and to see more wildlife. The two days we were there in mid-January were hot and the wildlife was pretty sparse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with 3 friends, we stayed at Waterhole chalet 2. The interior of the chalet is wonderful, great beds and duvets and the aircon worked a treat. The water hole is amazing and the chalet is 10 meters from the edge of the viewing deck, the amount of game is incredible and overwhelming. The resort was neat and tidy, the pools lovely and cool, breakfasts were good with a variety of food available, dinners were buffet and included in the price as well as breakfast and very good. The shop is very under stocked and they are missing out on a huge amount of sales, I enquired about a night drive and they could give me no indication of what was viewed the previous night, basic info wildlife lovers want to know, and they seemed very disinterested in giving more info, so they lost out on N$2400.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The wildlife here was excellent as the rains were late and there were plenty of animals around the water holes this February. A night safari was particularly good with lions on their kill and charging elephants!
Having stayed in so many camps with wooden structures, canvas construction and eco considerations, this concrete jungle with mass catering was disappointing. We had reserved a Premier Waterhole Chalet which was the saving grace for us.
We had a 2 storey 2 bedroom spacious chalet with air conditioning and which overlooked the waterhole. From the upper bedroom balcony we were able to view the wildlife and the sunsets. With a kettle and a fridge we were happier, especially as the small on site shop had the basics like gin and tonic!
The first morning we were a little late for breakfast and there was very little left on the buffet - just slices of bread, yogurt and coffee, and no cooked breakfast. The second morning we were in good time and the breakfast and omelettes were excellent.
Dinner was disappointing on both evenings and the restaurant was really a 'food hall' with no atmosphere and mediocre service from the staff.
During the day the pool area is sometimes used by coach tours and becomes noisy and crowded. The self service cafe offers burgers or toasted sandwiches with beers or fizzy drinks - poor show.
NWR should reconsider their strategy and not just sit on their laurels because of their unique locations inside the national parks.

Room Tip: Premier Waterhole Chalets expensive but worth it given the concrete all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was here in the second week of February. There had been little if any rain and as a result the game viewing at the waterholes was spectacular. A drive down any of the roads in the park yielded lots of viewings. A night drive was spectacular as we saw a lion and lioness on a fresh kill, several elephants and nine rhino at one waterhold.

I was staying in a double room as a solo traveller. The room was fine if somewhat pedestrian.
The food was okay and the service was just okay.

Somehow the park and the camp need to get their act together. Having to supply the same information to three different people and paying two different cashiers is to say the least annoying. In addition not being able to charge meals, drinks etc to your room is an inconvenience.

These people have a monopoly so don't really need to be too concerned about the visitors concerns. This place was okay but could be spectacular with very little extra effort.

Room Tip: probably pick something for a higher price near the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Once again in Namibia, the total lack of information. Upon arrival the water tank had broken down so there was no water. Inventory list in the room that you had to go through, where half of everything was missing. As we got back to the reception another couple was just complaining about the same thing. The answer to them as well as us was; it’s ok, don’t worry. But see of course it takes time to go through everything in the room and with regards to this place being run by the government you definitely do not want to get in trouble with the law in Africa.

The pool area was nice. Food wise; there was a buffet for 170$N and we both became sick. Avoid everything that is not cooked as well as veggies like broccoli or mushroom that is hard to wash at this place. They won't inform you about the grill in your garden and about the meet they sell in the supermarket, so maybe that’s something we would have preferred if would we have known, however maybe the slowest woman on earth is working the cash register so be sure not to be in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were prepared for disappointment after reading some TripAdvisor reviews of this facility. To our very pleasant surprise, we found the staff friendly and helpful, our waterhole chalet quite clean and fully functioning, and the park itself fabulous. The numbers of animals streaming through the waterhole were incredible, and the Etosha Pan, with waterholes around its rim, was fabulous. This is not to say that Okaukuejo is a five star resort - it is not. It is, at it's heart, a National Park facility in a remote setting which strives to serve everyone from self-catering campers to chalet guests. The restaurant is buffet style, and the food is OK but not great, except for the game steaks, which were excellent. Expect incredible game viewing, dramatic scenery, and a pleasant and adequate hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCal_Joe_95650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
78.4 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
15.5 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
11.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
29.5 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
16.0 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Resort

Property: Okaukuejo Resort
Address: Western Park Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Okaukuejo Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Okaukuejo Hotel Etosha National Park
Okaukuejo Resort Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing