We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Okaukuejo Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa(Etosha National Park)
$339
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mokuti Etosha Lodge(Etosha National Park)(Great Value!)
$147
$138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Onguma Bush Camp(Etosha National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halali Resort(Etosha National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Namutoni(Etosha National Park)
Reviews (1,714)
Filter reviews
1,715 results
Traveler rating
226
669
558
182
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
669
558
182
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterhole chaletwater holerest camppost officewatering holefloodlit waterholethe main attractiongame viewingself cateringbuffet styletwo nightsdry seasonblack rhinopetrol stationair conditioningnamibia wildlife resortsviewing area
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 1,715 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The room was just big enough for a bed - No chair, no bedside tables, no reading lights, no safe. The decor was gunmetal gray concrete. There was no view, no private sitting area outside. I'm sure that situation is OK if you want to use the room only for sleeping but for relaxing and feeling comfortable it was a disaster. Our booking was for 3 nights but checked out after 2. The food was passable, typical catering for large groups. Like the previous reviewer said the bureaucracy was unbelievable.
The one redeeming feature was the water hole and that was superb. The constant parade of animals was a wonder to behold.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

...but the service, check-in and meals all leave significant room for improvement. Check in was a nightmare. We had booked into and paid for a waterhole chalet. We were told flat out that none were available and we would stay in another room near the lodge and then move the next day to the waterhole--Oh, and the dinner we paid for would not be included with our first night. What a rip-off! Next was the cash requirement for a stupid key. I think it was $50 but can't remember. Interestingly we got our exact same cash back later. Meals are buffet style and are quite boring after a couple of days. OK for one or maybe 2 but not more. Wines are good and reasonably priced. Note that there is no ATM at this concession nor internet. The waterhole is special and was quite active while we were there. This is about the only reason to stay more than 1 day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced with a good wine selection. The waterhole has spotlights at night and is a great place to sit. We saw a large herd of elephant as well as black rhino and some jackal. It is a great place to eat and to stay over for a night or two.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet close to the waterhole.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The resort is located at a very convenient location which makes it a perfect stop while you are traveling within Etosha. Here are some of the highlights

1. Waterhole - The waterhole is basically in a wide open space where you could not only see wildlife while its there but can also spot them while they are coming from far distances. We loved the waterhole here and it was the best. I would recommend staying here at least 2 nights and spending time at the waterhole for the most part. You'll see a lot of wildlife there.

2. Food - Mediocre but far far far better than Halali. Service was very good and the food was good too. No vegetarian options though.

3. Rooms were good too. You can park your vehicle right infront of your room which is always a convenience.

4. The whole property was very well kept and looked very clean, open and beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've been warned this is a place run by the Ministry of Tourism and not to expect much, but I must say the cottages are really nice, have AC, are very, very clean and the sleep quality is just great. The restaurant is not so great and the overall and permanent bureaucracy is terrible. From check in to check out, from booking a table for dinner and paying for drinks the system is a pain in your ...neck and time consuming. Never thought people could invent a system to make life so complicated. But, whatever, the best was still to come: the waterhole in the middle of the camp is so great and offers you a life show of wild animals day and night. There is no better place to see animals in an easy way with a glass wine in your hand.

Room Tip: The waterhole huts are marketed as better and a bit more expensive. The truth is the other ones are equally good, just not so near to the waterhole.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaduZaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews