We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives and negatives here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Okaukuejo Rest Camp
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Okaukuejo in May 2012. We had a waterhole chalet, the room was really quite small but having said that it was nice and clean and we slept well there. We were about 20 metres from the waterhole which was great, the game viewing is excellent - 4 rhinos one night, we saw rhino every night which was wonderful. Also lots of elephants, zebras, warthogs. One night we heard the lions roaring not far away but they didn't come out, still nice to hear them early evening. We drove around the park every day during our stay and saw some great things, the only thing we didn't see were big cats which was disappointing.
The negatives (there are several). The service here is appalling. We spent 5 weeks travelling in Africa and this was by far the worst place for service, you ask a question and it's like you're making a real imposition on the staff. The food is average - you really get sick of it after a couple of nights. As a vegetarian with a food allergy it was difficult for me to find enough to eat at the buffet. This is a very big park and if you're keen to see specific things it would be good if the staff could point you in the right direction, unfortunately this doesn't seem to be a priority.
Etosha is a fabulous park and Okaukuejo is great for wildlife watching, just don't expect great things from the facilities, service or dining options. Stay in a couple of smaller lodges to see what great service is all about. I would stay here again though for the game viewing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 797 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were very lucky and had a premier waterhole chalet. It was beautiful, spotlessly clean and a few steps away from the waterhole. The wildlife at the waterhole was fantastic e.g. 7 black rhino at once, but you could probably sit here all day and there would be something to watch. We had read that it could be noisy, but everyone was very quiet while we were there. The food was very good, the evening buffet included an excellent selection of salads and tender game steaks. All the staff that we encountered were polite and friendly. Recommended even if you can't afford the waterhole chalet!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all this is a state lodge and it has been renewed recently.
Rooms have a very good style, some are small with a big bathroom, others are larger with a small bathroom, but they are clean and new.
The restaurant is old but quite good, but he best thing to stay here is that it is inside the park and has the best waterwhole (I stayed 1 night at the Halali). On the last night we could see at least 50 elephants, 4 rhinos and girafs, it has been an incredible experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Okaukuejo is a great place to go if you want to see wildlife. We were lucky enough to be in a holiday bedroom cottage very close to the floodlit waterhole, The room was very nice with good facilties, if a little cramped. The waterhole attracted all sorts of game. At one stage during the day there were upwards of 200 animals at the hole and in the evening the floodlights allow you to see some wonderful sights with numerous elephants and rhino etc just a few feet away from you.

The food was good but not as good as that found in South African game reserves. What was interesting was the staff. Many we came across were unfailingly polite and helpful whilst others (particularly in reception) were amongst the rudest and most unhelpful I have come across anywhere in the world. There were many comments in the guest book about this and I am surprised nothing has been done as they set a very bad example and did not show what is a wonderful place to visit in a very good light at all.

Room Tip: Get one close to the waterhole if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The star attraction of Okaukuejo rest camp are the animals and the birds in the Etosha National Park of the Republic of Namibia. You can rest assured that the standard of the accommodation is not too shabby. The advantage of staying at this resort is that you get to see the animals at the best watering hole in the world from very early in the morning and all night through under floodlights if that idea tickles your fancy. Apart from the other three resorts in the camp, all other accommodation is based outside the park with the distinct delay in accessing the park in the crucial hours of dawn and dusk. The accomodation is spred over a wide area, the best being closest to the renowned waterhole. The accommodation is expensive, but rates include breakfast and sometimes supper. The offerings in the restaurant is not bad and one can expect at least one item of game in the menu at night. I experienced very good service at reception. Processing was rapid on arrival. I spent a night in room W2, right on the edge of the waterhole. The room was cramped for space, but as I indicated, the flurry of activity at the waterhole, leaves very little time for rest and relaxation in the room itself. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom neat and clean. Bedding was clean and fresh and was changed daily, together with bath towels. I koved to room 81 for two nights. The space in this chalet was far more generous than in the waterside chalets. All in all, I had a very pleasant three night stay at this rest camp. It is one notch above what one comes to expect from government owned property in national parks. Recommended.

Room Tip: ask for the waterside chalets when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We camped at Okuakuejo and Halali. Both have a lengthy list of amenities (electrical plug-in, showers, coin-op laundry, etc.). We preferred Halali over Okuakuejo for two reasons: (1) it is quieter, and (2) it has the only friendly NWR employee in the entire park system. We're still recovering from the shock of paying $50 (US) for a campsite. Our biggest complaints at Okuakuejo were the crowded campground, the broken electrical outlet at our campsite, the clogged drain in the shower, etc. As another reviewer wrote, the campground is not well-maintained. For optimal wildlife viewing, staying inside the park is a must. I just wish that NWR facilities and service matched the natural wonders of the park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This camp seems better than Halali if you have any trouble walking or with mobility. Otherwise it equals Halali. Both wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
15.6 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,035 reviews
79.7 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 37 in Etosha National Park
272 reviews
78.1 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
527 reviews
19.1 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#19 of 37 in Etosha National Park
85 reviews
21.2 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Rest Camp

Address: Anderson Gate | Southern Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Okaukuejo Rest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing