We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible close up wildlife viewing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okaukuejo Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Okaukuejo Rest Camp
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible close up wildlife viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were very lucky and had a premier waterhole chalet. It was beautiful, spotlessly clean and a few steps away from the waterhole. The wildlife at the waterhole was fantastic e.g. 7 black rhino at once, but you could probably sit here all day and there would be something to watch. We had read that it could be noisy, but everyone was very quiet while we were there. The food was very good, the evening buffet included an excellent selection of salads and tender game steaks. All the staff that we encountered were polite and friendly. Recommended even if you can't afford the waterhole chalet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    260
    240
    52
    30
See reviews for
130
370
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

First of all this is a state lodge and it has been renewed recently.
Rooms have a very good style, some are small with a big bathroom, others are larger with a small bathroom, but they are clean and new.
The restaurant is old but quite good, but he best thing to stay here is that it is inside the park and has the best waterwhole (I stayed 1 night at the Halali). On the last night we could see at least 50 elephants, 4 rhinos and girafs, it has been an incredible experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Okaukuejo is a great place to go if you want to see wildlife. We were lucky enough to be in a holiday bedroom cottage very close to the floodlit waterhole, The room was very nice with good facilties, if a little cramped. The waterhole attracted all sorts of game. At one stage during the day there were upwards of 200 animals at the hole and in the evening the floodlights allow you to see some wonderful sights with numerous elephants and rhino etc just a few feet away from you.

The food was good but not as good as that found in South African game reserves. What was interesting was the staff. Many we came across were unfailingly polite and helpful whilst others (particularly in reception) were amongst the rudest and most unhelpful I have come across anywhere in the world. There were many comments in the guest book about this and I am surprised nothing has been done as they set a very bad example and did not show what is a wonderful place to visit in a very good light at all.

Room Tip: Get one close to the waterhole if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The star attraction of Okaukuejo rest camp are the animals and the birds in the Etosha National Park of the Republic of Namibia. You can rest assured that the standard of the accommodation is not too shabby. The advantage of staying at this resort is that you get to see the animals at the best watering hole in the world from very early in the morning and all night through under floodlights if that idea tickles your fancy. Apart from the other three resorts in the camp, all other accommodation is based outside the park with the distinct delay in accessing the park in the crucial hours of dawn and dusk. The accomodation is spred over a wide area, the best being closest to the renowned waterhole. The accommodation is expensive, but rates include breakfast and sometimes supper. The offerings in the restaurant is not bad and one can expect at least one item of game in the menu at night. I experienced very good service at reception. Processing was rapid on arrival. I spent a night in room W2, right on the edge of the waterhole. The room was cramped for space, but as I indicated, the flurry of activity at the waterhole, leaves very little time for rest and relaxation in the room itself. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom neat and clean. Bedding was clean and fresh and was changed daily, together with bath towels. I koved to room 81 for two nights. The space in this chalet was far more generous than in the waterside chalets. All in all, I had a very pleasant three night stay at this rest camp. It is one notch above what one comes to expect from government owned property in national parks. Recommended.

Room Tip: ask for the waterside chalets when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We camped at Okuakuejo and Halali. Both have a lengthy list of amenities (electrical plug-in, showers, coin-op laundry, etc.). We preferred Halali over Okuakuejo for two reasons: (1) it is quieter, and (2) it has the only friendly NWR employee in the entire park system. We're still recovering from the shock of paying $50 (US) for a campsite. Our biggest complaints at Okuakuejo were the crowded campground, the broken electrical outlet at our campsite, the clogged drain in the shower, etc. As another reviewer wrote, the campground is not well-maintained. For optimal wildlife viewing, staying inside the park is a must. I just wish that NWR facilities and service matched the natural wonders of the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etosha National Park hotels

OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This camp seems better than Halali if you have any trouble walking or with mobility. Otherwise it equals Halali. Both wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Okaukuejo was the start of our three night Etosha adventure (we stayed at Halali and Namutoni rest camps for the other two nights). This was the second best kept camp out of the three at Etosha and had all the usual amenities we had come to expect from the Namibia Wildlife Resorts campgrounds: a spacious camp site with a big shady tree, electricity points to park beside and plug in our fridge from the vehicle, a good braai pit with grid, fantastic washrooms with hot water showers and flushing toilets, communcal laundry facilities and kitchen prep area, restaurant and pristine swimming pool. It's supposed to be rather dusty, but it was fine when we were there. We didn't stay in the chalets (we were just in our own tents) but they looked nice from what we saw.

The water hole is huge and the lookouts are plentiful. It was just so beautiful. We booked a guided game drive for early the next morning, but it wasn't really worth it. The roads are so well marked in the park, if you have a decent 4x4 then it's just as good to do your own game drive which is exactly what we did for the rest of our 2.5 days in Etosha. We didn't feel we lost out by not having a guide for the rest of our time there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
78.3 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
15.6 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
12.0 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
29.6 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.2 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okaukuejo Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okaukuejo Rest Camp

Property: Okaukuejo Rest Camp
Address: Anderson Gate | Southern Entrance, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing