We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to lions as you can get”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onguma Game Reserve Campsites
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As close to lions as you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This campsite isn't advertised well but it's as near to the gates of Etosha as you can get and so much better than the government run campsites inside Etosha at Namatoni - or elsewhere. Highly recommend it. Comes with individual toilet block and large camp spaces and signs not to worry about the lions and hyena next door. V cheap. But if you want luxury the lodges and fixed tents look amazing too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timhackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Located next to Etosha entrance (Namutoni), this private reserve offers very good accomodation and campsite.
We stayed 1 night at the campsite (and 1 night a the treetop)
There are 6 pitches, with plenty of space in the shade of trees.
The staff is very welcoming (free welcome drink) and efficient.
Each space has its own toilets and shower + light + power + bassin + braai area.
It is very well maintained and clean.
If needed, you can buy wood and meat for the braai at the reception.You can also access the very beautiful restaurant (for a drink or a meal) and the swimming pool of the Onguma Bush Camp.

We were a bit disappointed by the activities offered in the reserve (the best of them are proposed in Etosha).

We stayed 2 nights in the park (at Halali camp) and ended here which was a very good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolas414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

After a full day of game viewing in Etosha, we arrived to check-in for our campsite at Onguma. The sites (there are only 6) are decent, offering a little more personal space than we'd found at Halali, but in more natural setting, and it was nice to have a private hot shower and flush toilet. Our one gripe is that we arrived hungry and low on camp food supplies because we were expecting to book our dinner at the Onguma Bush Camp restaurant, but we had arrived after 5 pm and were told that reservations for dinner needed to be made prior to 5 pm and that no exception could be made because there were already 52 diners signed up that night (close to their capacity). If we'd known about this policy ahead of time, we would have arrived earlier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onguma, Owner at Onguma Game Reserve Campsites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am sorry to hear that Traveller941 could not be accomodated at the restaurant at BushCamp.
We ask campers to book in advance as the restaurant at Bush Camp is is very popular, especially in the peak season. We do however always try and help campers with a barbeque pack and cold beverages if the restaurant is full and their camping supplies are depleted. bookings can now be done online so this should also help to book in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our party of 10 was allocated 3 adjacent campsites under tall shady trees and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Onguma. Sites had great ablutions, power points, braai areas and campers had access to the pool and restaurant bar at the Bush Camp lodge which is a 2 minute walk from the campsite. Onguma is right next to the Namutoni entrance gate to Etosha so very convenient for game viewing at Etosha. There are only 6 sites so no overcrowding and even with the daily park entrance fees this campsite worked out cheaper than those in Etosha. I would definitely go back again, but perhaps not in October which is apparently the hottest time of year!! We sweltered and were grateful for the use of the lodge pool!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillieD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the campsite next to Oguma Bush Camp, and had dinner at the Bush Camp restaurant, which was very good (no animals at the water hole though). The campsite was great. We were the only ones there, and each campsite had its own private toilet, shower and kitchen, which was really nice. Definitely better, and cheaper than the campsites in the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank lostinrome6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
12.3 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.6 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#28 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
103.3 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#22 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
91.7 mi away
Ongava Tented Camp
Ongava Tented Camp
#17 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma Game Reserve Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma Game Reserve Campsites

Property: Onguma Game Reserve Campsites
Address: Onguma, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 lovely shady campsites with individual ablutions under huge leadwood trees. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing