We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but something missing..”
Review of Dolomite Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolomite Camp
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This camp is in a beautiful location and the accommodation was well situated with a view over the savannah. The kids' beds were cushions on the floor and took up much of the floor space of the room but apart from that the room was lovely. Ours had a private decking with splash pool which was blissful.
A golf type buggy is used to transport guests from the car park to the camp and from the restaurant and bar area to the rooms which are up a hill. This was a pain and a lot of time was spent waiting for the buggy.
The staff at the camp were very unfriendly, possibly as a result of the majority of guests staying for a single night. The personal touch of customer service was missing. We also did a game drive with a guide who sped through the park exceeding speed limits and causing zebra and warthog to flee.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have a view of the water hole. The deluxe chalets have the private deck with spla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 601 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

An Ideal and well appointed location particularly as it is relatively new and in the western side of Etosha recently opened up to everyone. It was booked as one of multiple locations on a self drive safari trip booked through Imagine Africa. The lodges are on quite a steep hill so there is golf buggy which ferries people to and from their chalet. Service was pretty good but we walked it several times just for the exercise. My main disappointment was when we had an electrical problem and when this was fixed I provided what I regarded as a fully acceptable tip it was made plain that more was expected. This left a bad taste and it was noticeable that the golf buggy driver expected something on each occasion even though there was a central tip box. Apart from that the place was wonderful. Food choice was limited but restaurant service was good. Many Elephants, Rhino, Zebra, Orynx and Giraffes were frequent visitors to the waterhole and in the evening a troupe of a baboons came onto the rocks for the night.

Room Tip: Rooms 13 and 14 have the best views over the waterhole with 12 seeing most of it. All rooms are up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On arriving at Dolomite Camp guests are required to park their vehicles in the parking area at the foot of the hill. From this area you, and your luggage, are then transported (by golf cart) up the hill to reception. Except that there is no one actually looking out to see if anyone has arrived (!) and no means of communicating with reception from the parking lot. After waiting for about 25 minutes, we decided to drive up to reception. A journalist from the Namibia Broadcasting Corporation had been waiting since before we got there and also followed us up the ‘no entry. ‘The staff was not pleased but we had a lot of luggage and an 11 month old baby. This was just the start of the transportation problems. My 11 month old daughter and I were placed in the second-last unit from the end (the units are set linearly along the side of a ridge) which was a good 10 minute walk from the central area (dining and so on). There is a golf cart to transport guests but only one for the entire lodge. This meant that many people were constantly waiting to be collected/taken to their cars/taken to the pool at any one time. Moreover, while walking and carrying a little one during the day was ok (to avoid the bumpy golf cart and avoid wasted time) one is not permitted to walk alone at night (the camp is unfenced). The golf cart itself was also incredibly noisy and the path bumpy so it was a fairly hairy ride each time. The driver also complained that the brakes weren’t working that well – which simply added to our discomfort

I hasten to add that aside from the gold cart, this lodge is wonderful and excellent value. The rooms really are beautiful: generous and wonderfully built; everything works from the lights to the gushing hot shower. Paraffin lamps are used but with LEDs; the pool is fabulous and the décor spot on.

Food: Limited choice but all good

Staff: Wonderful service staff; reception disinterested; gold cart driver (understandably) harassed and exasperated

Room Tip: Essential: stay in rooms 1,2, 19, or 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great camp in the western side of Etosha. It is very remote and unfenced. There are no camping or self service facilities. There are about 20 safari style stents. They have reliable electricity to the tents. Only people staying in this camp can visit the western side of etosha.

The camp is located along the Dolomite escarpment at the end of the last hill.

The tents can be set up with either a king size bed or two twin beds. Tents 19 and 20 have a private dip pool. Each tent has a private, en suite bathroom and shower. Hot water for several showers (solar heater).

The camp s unfenced so take care walking alone along the side walk (especially at night). Lions do roam the hillside and we spotted a leopard 300 yards from the tents our last morning.

I stayed with my 3 brothers and we had 2 tents. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is very good. We had them prepare lunch boxes to go each day. Breakfast is cooked to order eggs and meats along with a simple buffet of fruit, bread, cheese, meat, yogurt and juices. Dinner is a limited menu with 2 or 3 choices and side items. It was very good each night we were there.

This camp gives access to some great game viewing areas and watering holes. Very few people on this side of the park. We had amazing sightings. The dolomite water hole just past camp is quite nice during the dry season.

I would highly recommend this camp. It was the best camp in the park.

Room Tip: Staying in room 1 or 2 or 20 will limit your walk from your tent to the dining area and check-out ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

5 weeks in Namibia and we finally hit Etosha for 9 nights. 3 at Dolomite.
What a pleasant surprise after reading some of the negative comments here.
Yes the buggy was a bit of a pain but some patience and it always arrived. We are in our mid 60,s and didnt find the paths to bad. Most times we preferred to enjoy the walk to dinner or the waterhole viewing area. Think we were in the middle around chalet 7.
Our Chalets overlooked the Western Plains. These were alive with animals from elephant to antelope to giraffe thru most of the day. We even saw a rhino just before dark. Binoculars are a must though. The waterhole was outstanding for elephant. It is worth sitting on the rocks around the lookout area, cant see why that hasnt been developed though, and watching the animals come in around sunset. Note there ARE lions in the area as 2 were seen near the access road by our friends.
Rooms although smallish were fine, and beds comfortable, and showers good. Noting we opened, and left open, all the zipped windows to get a nice breeze thru. Summer heat may be an issue for some though.
Tea/coffee in the rooms was a nice touch. The rooms also have a small fridge.
No complaints with service, again a bit of patience helps. I do think a battery buggy could fix many complaints. The present one for the car park to reception, and battery vehicle for the rooms.
We found Housekeeping to be excellent. Meals were fine considering the remoteness of the camp, and difficulty in getting fresh food. The game was delicous and cooked perfectly.

The local waterholes were great, in fact some of the best we visited in all of Etosha. Klippan we could easily have sat at all day.

From Dolomite we headed to Okaukuejo. Allow enough time to drive safely on the rough roads, in patches, and enjoy the waterholes along the way.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Positives:
The location is spectacular, views are breathtaking (especially from room 13)
The lodge is beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished.
The bar is a great hang out spot. The barmen were both the most personable and offered good service.

Negatives:
The advertise night drives on their website. Upon arrival we were told they do not in fact run night drives. They dont have a permit.
They advertise morning/afternoon game drives. Upon arrival the vehicle had been 'hit by a rhino' and we could not go on a game afternoon drive either.
The food is average. This was a big disappointment as the food doesn't seem to match the 'grandeur' of the camp. Only two choices at lunch and dinner and breakfast is poor.
Waitresses were all slow, failed to bring things, cant be found when you need them, dont anticipate wheat you may need, dont bring drinks. Most guests we sat with felt the same way.
Manager came around to 'chat', but was so busy fooling around and trying to be funny that he didn't ask a serious question. I would have loved him to ask: How is your stay? Is there anything you need? His sense of humour I fet helped him avoid getting any real answers to the questions he didn't want to ask. We spoke to many guests and at least everyone had a problem with something. I dont think the manager knew about any of it?
Checking out is a shambles. Barman doing it, receptionists sending you here/there. Seriously?

OVERALL - it is a long drive so if you go stay for two nights. Dont expect much from service or food and plan to drive yourself around to find game. If you are happy with that then you will love it!

Room Tip: Room 13 is by far the best. Has the (only) view of the Watering Hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynRosePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Dolomite for 2 nights and it was a delight.
1. Location - This one cannot be beaten. The lodge is built on a mountain and while you are driving towards it you just get amazed and excited to start experiencing it. Due to its location, it gives you breathtaking views from across the property and from your rooms too.

2. Staff and food - The staff was great and very friendly. Always there to help you out. The food was mediocre not very good and not very bad. It definitely looked like that there was room for improvement. No vegetarian options at all apart from a generic greek salad

3. Wifi - They had internet which was awesome. But it can only be accessed from the reception and not from the rooms. I couldn't complain as this was the first place which even had this facility :)

4. Rooms - on the smaller side. 80% of the room space was occupied by the bed and there was very little space to move around. However since the rooms are also on a mountain I guess it might be hard to get more space there :)

FLAW

Here comes the interesting part. The location on the mountain gives you gorgeous views but also makes you walk like crazy when you go from your room to the reception or the dining area. We used to climb one portion of the hill which was very steep almost 30 - 40 degrees incline before we started to descend on to the reception. It was fine for 1-2 times but then it became a nuisance. It came to a point that before leaving the room in the morning we had to plan what to take so we don't have to come back to the room later. If you stay there 3 nights you'd easily burn 1000 calories no doubt. The walk with this kind of climb was the thing which upset us

Room Tip: choose rooms lower than 4 and higher than 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
97.7 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,014 reviews
169.2 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 37 in Etosha National Park
267 reviews
169.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 37 in Etosha National Park
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.0 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
506 reviews
83.4 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
165 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#12 of 37 in Etosha National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomite Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomite Camp

Address: Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Dolomite Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing