We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but lacking in service”
Review of Dolomite Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolomite Camp
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location but lacking in service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We decided to stay at Dolomite so we could see the western side of Etosha. The drive out from Okaukeujo was super, we barely saw a soul (human) and the wildlife was abundant and unabashed by our presence, as opposed to the eastern side. It's a shame that the staff at Dolomite weren't as excited as we were to be there. It's a nice camp, beautiful pool and bar area and the food was good and the staff in the restaurants pleasant enough. I had booked for 2 nights well in advance yet when we checked in were told that we would have to move rooms after the first night because someone else was booked in there. After a lot of discussion they did not move on this so we gave in.
After getting the cart to take us and our luggage to the chalet (as noted they are spread far apart on a hilly path) we discovered that the bed linens were dirty. It took many calls to the front desk to have someone come out and change them (twice)since they changed them on the side of the bed that was not dirty the first time.
Fast forward to the room switch after the first night, they couldn't tell us when the other room would be ready (it was next door) so we spent a good hour messing about waiting to move our belongings, since it is a hike to the main area it wasn't worth us leaving to walk back.
Agreed with other postings, the staff are indifferent, management is lacking and it's not cheap to stay here. But on the flip side, there are great views and the chalets are very nice (when clean!)

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a long hilly way ask for a room close to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    176
    96
    43
    23
See reviews for
82
335
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feltham UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a lovely camp on a hillside in a very remote area of Etosha National Park but the beauty is skin deep I'm afraid. We were there for two nights in late September.
The tents are fine, comfortable beds well furnished rooms with fabulous views but they are searingly hot, there are no fans and no air conditioning so you will not sleep easy.
Meals were fine but service somewhat lacking, only the barman Douglas was what I would call helpful. It was a very difficult even strenuouswalk to our tent some 600 metres from the reception/dining area. The walkways are extremely steep and certainly not for those less able. One morning I asked for the buggy to collect us for breakfast and was told to walk, we are quite fit pensioners, but it was too much for us. Not a nice attitude from the recptionist either.
The lighting on the walkways at night is not good, half are not working, this is a relatively new camp but is already losing appeal, This is one of Namibia Wildlife Reserves upmarket camps but I'd think twice about staying here again.

If you are travelling to Etosha do yourself a favour and stay an extra night or two in Okaukuejo where the wildlife is abundant. If I came to Namibia again I would give this place a miss..

(Only two tents have a view of the waterhole),

Room Tip: When booking ask your agent to request for a room overlooking the waterhole, you will have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Manager was on holiday during our time here and the staff that were running the place didn't seem to care whether their guests were happy or not.

The camp is very spread out and they have a buggy system to transfer you/your luggage around the camp. The buggy only seats four people, so at night, after dinner, a queue forms while they ferry people back and forth. We stayed in room 10, which was a 15 minute walk to the main reception across fairly steep ground.

The game drives are not worth the money. They squeeze 9 to 10 people in one vehicle and at the time we stayed there, only one vehicle was available.

The food in the restaurant was good quality.

The reception was not manned during the morning, everything had to be done through the barman, who was not very communicative.

Room Tip: Room 1, 2 or 20 provides the shortest walk to the main guest areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our 3 night stop at Dolomite was designed for downtime after a couple of weeks of being on the move constantly. Dolomite camp itself is lovely... but be prepared for walking! The front desk, restaurant and bar are on one side of the outcrop and all the chalets are on the other side. So there is a lot (A LOT) of walking involved. We were unprepared for that, but our family is fit and healthy and had no problems. There were others, however, that really struggled. The resort offers a golf cart for moving people around, but it is in high demand and we could never find it when we needed it. The positives about Dolomite include the remoteness and the small size of the camp. It was quiet, intimate, and a relaxing place. The negatives are that it really wasn't designed particularly well. There is no place to see the water hole right below the chalet, which strikes me as idiocy. To view the waterhole you must walk down half a kilometre to the parking lot, get in your car, and drive about 3km around to the waterhole off the road. Yet from our chalet (#15) we could just barely (barely) glance the side of it. There is a path you can walk down, but it just stops and there are a couple of tree trunks, but the view is still obscured. Since the whole point of Etosha is to view animals, I am baffled as to why there is no view of the waterhole! In terms of facilities, the beds were comfortable, staff very accommodating, and the food plentiful - though not the best we've had. But given how remote the camp is, it must be hard to get supplies in and out. Finally, on leaving the camp there are almost no signs telling you how to actually get out the new western gate. So overall, we liked Dolomite. Though I would not recommend it for a family with children under about 8 (very rocky & dangerous) or for anyone at all with mobility limitations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to watch the sun RISE, not the sunset. The west-facing rooms get very hot in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The reason to go to Dolomite is to view the western side of the park. When we left Dolomite to go to the center of the park, we were dismayed to find that 80 percent of the drive was through burned land, thus no animals.
We were unimpressed with the food. The safari tents were unusual, which was appealing until night came and it was very hot and there were no fans provided. Turn down service, chocolates, not in our unit.
The walk from the unit we stayed in to the was very difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeReiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent two nights at Dolomite camp in September. What a great place to stay. Large, comfortable tents with thatched roofs, fridge, tea making facilities and although the shower had a slatted floor to allow the water to flow onto parched ground, it was the best shower we had in Namibia. Each tent has a stoep to sit outside and although our tent faced west which meant it got quite hot in the afternoon (no worries, we were out game watching) it meant that we could sit out and have sundowners and watch the game pass below on their way to the waterhole. and watch the sun set. We were lucky and saw plenty of animals including two large families of elephants. The dinners and breakfast were good, all freshly cooked and although maybe a bit slow arriving, they were worth waiting for and were served by staff who were more than ready to please, and there was nowhere to rush to!.
Nearby waterholes had plenty of game, but the leopard still proved elusive!
The paths to and from the tents to the restaurants and bar were a little uneven and those who are not great at walking up and down hill need to take advantage of the golf buggy available(a bit noisy though).
All in all a wonderful place to stay.
A word of caution. If entering Etosha by the Galton gate. The staff at the gate would not accept R200 notes to pay the fees to enter and stay in the park , and have no Visa facilities. We had to pay at Okakjuevo as did others. There is no problem in usng R200 notes in any of the camps, though.

Room Tip: We had rooms 10 and 11. Great rooms for game watching and sunsets but could be hot. Cool quickly onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubiera, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in chalets nr 16 and 17 and the view was amazing; I would suggest to ask for chalets on this side so you may have both views, the one of the rooms on one side of the mountain (my favourite) and the swimming pool one on the other side.
The rooms are very nice, altough all the lodge is made of very beautiful but fragile pieces of woods and other materials and everything needs daily maintenance. If they don't look after the small details, in a few years time this lodge will be destroyed.
Now it is beautiful, but signs of unsufficient care are already present.
Both rooms and restaurant are very clean.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Food is excellent.
(Post cards very expensive !)
We came from Okaukuejo with a lot of driving hours on our shoulders, so the time we spent here was only for relaxing before a further long trip and this place was perfect for that purpose. We spent two nights and a full day on the swimming pool with a paradise view on our eyes, everything quite and wide.
Reaching the chalets is a bit hard, tough. During the day it could be a long walk up and down under the sun; at night the staff pick the guests up and bring them to the resaurant with the golf buggy, since the whole area is not fenced (of course they bring them back to the chalets after dinner); but during the day you usually move by feet, so don't forget anything in the room, it will take you some energies to get it!!!
Once you arrive at the parking place, you should leave the car there and someone will come and pick you and the luggages with the buggy. Don't drive up, after the sign "No Entry", because you will have to go down again and it is a very narrow and not good road (besides there isn't enough space for more than two cars on the top, then it could be difficult to go back).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
169.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
97.8 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
99.4 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#27 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.0 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
94.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomite Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomite Camp

Property: Dolomite Camp
Address: Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Dolomite Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing