We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mopani bush experience”
Review of Etosha Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etosha Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The tented camp is located in the Mopani bush a couple of minutes away from the Andersson Gate to the Etosha National park.
Right from the start the experience at Etosha village was above expectation. The staff was very friendly and helpfull and even with a number of couples arriving at the same time we were quickly taken through the the check-in procedures and shown the facilities available.
The tent units are scattered in the bush and are very private. The tents consist of a sleep area with two single beds and a sleeper couch for the kids. The bathroom is consist of a Mopani branch enclosed area that allow views of the surrounding area from the shower.
The outside area provide a small kitchen area, a bench for eating and a braai.
The staff at Etosha Village was by far the most professional and friendly of all places we visited during our tour of Namibia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Marcel,
Thank you for you excellent review! Glad you enjoyed our accommodation units and the professional service from our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Etosha Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are self catering and had enough facilities. Whay makes it unique is how it was built.. with twigs kept closer to keep you safe. The outdoor shoßwer was excellent
There is a big comfortable bed with suffient duvet to keep you wam when it gets chilly.

The evening buffet was quite good with wide variety. Fresh meat was available for grilling.. and this your usual pork, chicken , beef, and game ---- kudu, zebra? Etc. The stir fry was really good. The malva pudding was one of the few good ones I have tried across Africa

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Wandering Dive Geek,
Thanks for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the outdoor shower, the comfy beds, the buffet dinner and the Malva pudding so much!
We are looking forward to welcome you back for another perfect bush experience on your next trip to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The lodge is an excellent value for money option. Near the entrance but still with a bush feeling. The lodge has all the luxury extras such as bar, internet, 2 swimming pools but keeps a rustic feel. The accommodation in tent is good for the standard and big enough for 2 adults and 1 child but must be cramped with more than that.
There is a self catering option, but the lodge also offers buffet breakfasts and dinners. We had dinner twice at the lodge and the food is ok but not great (especially for the price).
The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
The only minus is the lack of maps and info on the Park, for self drive clients it would be nice to have an info centre. Although I suppose they prefer if one books the game drives with them.
I would recommend this property for couples, small groups and families as it really caters for a large range of clientele.

Room Tip: The location of the tents varies from close to the main area to further out. We preferred to stay in...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Murielle,
Thanks so much for your review and rating us as good value for money!
Glad you liked the location and the accommodation units.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were treated like royalty!service is friendly,very professional,the camp is clean,neat and tidy,close to Etosha gamepark.Food excellent,loved the sundowners!Liked that you could get unlimited supply of tea and coffee 24hrs with rusks and muffins!

Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Ursula,
Thank you for your fantastic review!
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the sundowner trip, the food and the coffee station so much! We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best Wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our stay At Eleni Etosha Village was marvelous. The tent cabins are wonderful. We stayed two nights. The meals both dinner and breakfast were exquisite. We spent a full day exploring Etosha as the location is the closest to the Etosha entrance. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The pool was a welcome relief at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a tent cabin!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomoADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear MomoADV,
Thank your wonderful review! Happy to hear you enjoyed our tented cabins, the exquisite cuisine, friendly staff and the pool!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Taleni village has nice and huge permanent tents in the middle of the bush and with good distance to any neighbours so you really feel you are alone in the bush. There is a well maintained, small pool area and the dining area again was very pretty. The buffet dinner truly was excellent with a choice of 6 antelopes and a vast choice of dishes, including a stir fry made to order. It is located just outside the Andersson gate so makes a great place to explore Etosha.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Ray,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the bush-feeling of our accommodation units, the facilities at our Village and the Buffet dinner!
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent spot just outside the south gate to Etosha Park - very convenient location! Great staff and very nice common areas - bar, dining tables, 2 pools. The rooms (luxury tents) are set up as almost camping spots with your own covered picnic area, refrigerator and sink. On a raised platform but still outside the tent is the shower, toilet and sink/mirror. Inside the tent is AirCon, dressing table, sofa and, storage and very comfy white linen bedding. It was quite hot when we were there so the A/C couldn't quite keep it cool in the tent but it was definitely better than none at all! No complaints at Etosha Village and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerichmelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Kerichmelik,
Thank you for your wonderful informative review! Glad you liked our location, accommodation units and facilities!
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next journey to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Etosha National Park
968 reviews
82.1 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
825 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 36 in Etosha National Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Toshari Lodge
Toshari Lodge
#17 of 36 in Etosha National Park
231 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#9 of 36 in Etosha National Park
315 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#20 of 36 in Etosha National Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Village

Address: On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $150 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 2km from the Andersson entrance gate to Etosha National Park, Etosha Village uniquely combines affordability with comfort, style and exquisite cuisine. The 40 luxury individual suites offer a fully air-conditioned bedroom with an en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the beauty that surrounds you. Two small children (under 12) can be accommodated with their parents on a fold-out sleeper couch in the unit. Facilities include an open-plan bar with big screen television, 2 sparkling pools plus a kiddie pool, a restaurant serving delectable cuisine as well as a fully stocked utility and curio shop. Explore Namibia's animal kingdom with morning, afternoon or full day Guided Game Drives to Etosha National Park. Enjoy the Walking Trails on our reserve where various small game can be spotted from the lookout decks and hides. Sundowner Drives and Stargazing Sessions allow guests to experience the magic of our sunsets and famous star studded skies. Let our team whisk you away to an enchanted venue in the Mopane Forest for a magnificent Boma Dinner Experience for your special function or private dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Etosha Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing