We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent in the Bush”
Review of Etosha Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etosha Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our group of 36 people decided that we would have barbeques (braais) at out tented encampments instead of the buffet on order. We purchased supplies on the way in and the staff were very helpfull with equuipment, wood etc and a lot of fun was had by all.

The tented airconditioned rooms are very pleasant and the on-suite but open to the heavens shower and toilet are a great experience in the bush.

Some opted for a packed breakfast to take into the Etosha Game Reserve early the next morning and other made use of the excellent breakfast which was available before 6.00am for those wanting to be at the park gate which opens at six.

A great stop over for Etosha.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Afriod,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed the bush experience and scrumptious breakfast.
Please visit us again on your next trip to Etosha!
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surpised when arriving form our long drive from Windhoek Aiprort. Starting with our complementry welcoming drink and friendly reception from Bella the goat and staff, we felt as though we were truly welcome.

The accomodation, a structure surrounding a big (5 star) tent with two comfertable single beds, outdoor shower and bathroom was basic, but exactly what yo9u need when in Africa.

The food was AMAZING! All the diffrent game you can imagine, with salads and sweets just as great.

The staff, once again, from grounds staff all the way up to the GM are friendly and will go out of there way to stop and have a chat with you, (if you wish)

Highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: try take the rooms away from the main area, this is a bit of a walk, but the absolute silence is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Dale,
Delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience and for the kind compliments to our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our Village.
Best Wishes,
Bella and the Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The surroundings, tent and bed comfort were very acceptable. There is even air conditioning inside the tent - a lovely surprise! A very big negative, for us, was the bathroom. It is considered 'en-suite', but while the bathroom is attached, it is outside and very dark. There were mosquitos everywhere so we didn't want to turn the lights on to attract them. This also made for an uncomfortable shower, because the bugs couldn't be kept away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Dear travelerfan,

Thank you for your feedback - it will help us to improve and provide the very best to future customers. We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.

Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
102112
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The are lots of great things about this lodge, first good location without breaking the budget. Buffet was very nice with great selection of food cooked on demand. They have a wheelchair accessible room and had the sense to have a brick path to the ramp of this tent, although it would be nice if the placed a solid surface at the kitchen area as the gravel was a bit hard with wheelchair. What I did not like about the place was the actual tent construction as it was not on a concrete base but had a wooden floor with open spaces for everything to crawl in. They also had a box spring and bed skirt on the bed which is just insane. I prefer raised bed with open space under the bed. when we opened the door the first thing we saw was a scorpion crawling up the bed and settling between the towels on the bed. I know it is Africa and I love the creepy crawlers, I just don't want to sleep with them. As most of the lodges in Namibia, this one is also a mixed bag of positives and negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Luvtotravelalot,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review – we appreciate the feedback.
Glad you enjoyed our buffet dinner experience.
We used wooden decks in the construction for ecological reasons and to ensure minimum impact on the natural environment. Apologies for not meeting all your expectations...
We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

To those who are wild life lovers, that have no experience of it, but want to give a try, i recommend Etosha Village. You'll get a "hut-tent", with all you need, nature all around, privacy, as the other tents are far enough not to be seen. You can cook your meals or have them at the restaurant. Good cooking. Friendly staff.
Near Etosha National Park (worth a careful visit), 25 km from Anderson gate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graça V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

this lodge is right out of etosha, really close to the souther andersson gate.
it has luxury-tent - like accomodations and the bathroom is completely external. the accomodations even have a self catering structure.
common areas are well organized and the restaurant is "en plein air". dinner at taleni etosha village is really worth the experience. the dinner room is organized around a fire and during dinner the whole staff comes and start singing and dancing african songs.
the fire, the music, the excellent food... all these three elements make your experience there unforgettable.
they organize guided drives in etosha (50€ pp) of 5 hours approximately. they provide you warm blankets and they arrange a really appreciated coffee break!
PS: it could be quite cold (early in the morning and after sunset).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mteresa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

close to etosha at the andersson gate lies the most comfortable and beautiful lodge. you can choose between selfcatering or eating at the restaurant. the food is fantastic and the service is amazing. the staff will go out of their way to make you happy!!! the tented bungalows are beautiful and very clean. we have been to many lodges in namibia and can most definately recommend this one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickyNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,023 reviews
82.1 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
880 reviews
91.7 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#26 of 37 in Etosha National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101.9 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#14 of 37 in Etosha National Park
134 reviews
16.2 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
168 reviews
4 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 37 in Etosha National Park
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Village

Address: On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $136 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 2km from the Andersson entrance gate to Etosha National Park, Etosha Village uniquely combines affordability with comfort, style and exquisite cuisine. The 40 luxury individual suites offer a fully air-conditioned bedroom with an en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the beauty that surrounds you. Two small children (under 12) can be accommodated with their parents on a fold-out sleeper couch in the unit. Facilities include an open-plan bar with big screen television, 2 sparkling pools plus a kiddie pool, a restaurant serving delectable cuisine as well as a fully stocked utility and curio shop. Explore Namibia's animal kingdom with morning, afternoon or full day Guided Game Drives to Etosha National Park. Enjoy the Walking Trails on our reserve where various small game can be spotted from the lookout decks and hides. Sundowner Drives and Stargazing Sessions allow guests to experience the magic of our sunsets and famous star studded skies. Let our team whisk you away to an enchanted venue in the Mopane Forest for a magnificent Boma Dinner Experience for your special function or private dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Etosha Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing