We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really different !”
Review of Etosha Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etosha Village
Certificate of Excellence
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really different !”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

To those who are wild life lovers, that have no experience of it, but want to give a try, i recommend Etosha Village. You'll get a "hut-tent", with all you need, nature all around, privacy, as the other tents are far enough not to be seen. You can cook your meals or have them at the restaurant. Good cooking. Friendly staff.
Near Etosha National Park (worth a careful visit), 25 km from Anderson gate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graça V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    148
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
236
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

this lodge is right out of etosha, really close to the souther andersson gate.
it has luxury-tent - like accomodations and the bathroom is completely external. the accomodations even have a self catering structure.
common areas are well organized and the restaurant is "en plein air". dinner at taleni etosha village is really worth the experience. the dinner room is organized around a fire and during dinner the whole staff comes and start singing and dancing african songs.
the fire, the music, the excellent food... all these three elements make your experience there unforgettable.
they organize guided drives in etosha (50€ pp) of 5 hours approximately. they provide you warm blankets and they arrange a really appreciated coffee break!
PS: it could be quite cold (early in the morning and after sunset).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mteresa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namibia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

close to etosha at the andersson gate lies the most comfortable and beautiful lodge. you can choose between selfcatering or eating at the restaurant. the food is fantastic and the service is amazing. the staff will go out of their way to make you happy!!! the tented bungalows are beautiful and very clean. we have been to many lodges in namibia and can most definately recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

When we arrived we were disappointed. The rooms are tent-like with shower and toilet outside. So if you need to go there in the night you are sitting outside not seeing what´s around you..... The food was buffet, normally we don´t like this, but this one was exceptionally good. You select the meat and vegetable you want and they prepare it for you as you like....and they do it VERY good. Location to the Etosha is very good, don´t stay in the Etosha as all hotels are expensive and bad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckytukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

From the website i was expecting something fairly outstanding, Taleni Etosha villiage was good but I think for the price I could have found better. Good location very close to the gate to the park so yu can get there early.

We stayed on December 26th and it appeared there was only a skeleton staff so there was no Dinner or Breakfast the next day, this would have been nice to be told beforehand when i booked! Fortunately we had been to a supermarket on the way from Windhoek and the shop on site had the few other things we needed to cook for ourselves. Don't count on the shop having all you need though as the shelves were fairly empty.

Air conditioner dripped onto the floor all night in one of the rooms and one of our other friends conplained of ants in the bed all night.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull but i was still a l little disappointed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Nice lodge, nice rooms, family friendly, for nature lovers - great food!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iesmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Superb tented accommodation on the doorstep of Etosha, 2km from the Andersson Gate. If you cannot stay in the park itself then this is the next best thing. They have large tented rooms with full self-catering, outdoor solar heated showers and lovely staff. The meals in the main building were wonderful, huge varieties of game to chose from, cooked to order and an excellent buffet. Staff more than ready to go the extra mile, such as mending our puncture and saving a 200km round trip to a garage. The 'pet' zebra makes an interesting photo opportunity near to the small but nice pool. Great place to stay if you want to be in Etosha at dawn and like an extremely civilized form of 'camping'

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Etosha National Park
921 reviews
82.1 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
792 reviews
4.1 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#25 of 36 in Etosha National Park
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 36 in Etosha National Park
299 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andersson’s Camp
Andersson’s Camp
#15 of 36 in Etosha National Park
200 reviews
16.2 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Village

Property: Etosha Village
Address: On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 2km from the Andersson entrance gate to Etosha National Park, Etosha Village uniquely combines affordability with comfort, style and exquisite cuisine. The 40 luxury individual suites offer a fully air-conditioned bedroom with an en-suite bathroom and a patio to enjoy the beauty that surrounds you. Two small children (under 12) can be accommodated with their parents on a fold-out sleeper couch in the unit. Facilities include an open-plan bar with big screen television, 2 sparkling pools plus a kiddie pool, a restaurant serving delectable cuisine as well as a fully stocked utility and curio shop. Explore Namibia's animal kingdom with morning, afternoon or full day Guided Game Drives to Etosha National Park. Enjoy the Walking Trails on our reserve where various small game can be spotted from the lookout decks and hides. Sundowner Drives and Stargazing Sessions allow guests to experience the magic of our sunsets and famous star studded skies. Let our team whisk you away to an enchanted venue in the Mopane Forest for a magnificent Boma Dinner Experience for your special function or private dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Etosha Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing