We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lodge is situated on top of the hill with an excellent view from the rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etosha Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Lodge is thrilling when you got through the main building and got a view of the extended land looking to the North( where the sun is in these countries) . Their are Giraffes you can see from your terasse of the rooms. All situated in an own building. The Lodge is 3km farther land inwards from the main road than the Etosha Safari camp.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the units with room and bathroom are small apartments, situated next to...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are charmed that you enjoyed your stay at the Etosha Safari Lodge and shared your positive experience with us. Guests rave about the view of the African bush savannah and love to relish the never ending vastness. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful landscape around our lodge and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Etosha Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 966 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here during our trip around Namibia. Situated just outside the Etosha National Park so a great base to start your game drive through the Park. We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in a family suite, well appointed, nice amenities, no fridge but staff promptly arranged a cooler on request to chill our drinks. The pool is amazing, infinity style overlooking the landscape, sunset bar perfect for relaxing after a long day viewing game. Dinner served buffet style, the usual fare, salads, veges, game meats etc, breakfast nothing spectacular. Staff were very professional, and seemed to enjoy genuine hospitality. Simon the manager was a pleasure to talk to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your optimistic review of our lodge. We are very proud of our staff and delighted to hear that they could contribute towards such a memorable stay for you and your partner. We would be happy to welcome you at the Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp on your next vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

In a good position 10km from Andersson Gate, Etosha and well signposted from the main road. A long drive leads to the Lodge. 20 chalets at least spread along an escarpment with good views, room clean and simple. Food served on terrace of large dark unwelcoming restaurant with tin roof, making a racket when raining. Service terrible, waitresses, plenty of them, standing around chatting with no apparent supervision. Milk for tea requested and served in either a glass or a teapot! "Forgot" to ask if we wanted eggs at breakfast. Buffet dinner at N$220 very expensive compared to other lodges in Namibia and only average quality

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Etosha Safari Lodge and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are aware that a lot of effort and work has to be put into the service sector and we are constantly trying to improve our service by organizing training sessions for our staff. We want to thank you for your valuable feedback concerning the bad service as this gives us the chance to improve. We invite you visit our lodge in the Future and leave with a positive service experience.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent tow glorious nights here whilst exploring the famous Etosha Pan .. loved everything about the place, especially the Shebeen styled bar and restaurant at the Safari Camp. It is conveniently close to the Anderson gate making it ideal for visiting the Pan for the day and coming out again in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director of Gondwana Collection at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! Our lodge is closely situated to all attractions within Etosha, making it the ideal location for your African safari. We're delighted that you enjoyed the Shebeen styled bar facilities, we're very proud of our African bar experience!We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind Regards
Mannfred Goldbeck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Special in this lodge is the main building, which mimics a township setup in the Okambashu restaurant and the Oshebeena Bar.
Staff is very friendly; food is not very special.
After diner, visitors assemble around the campfire in the open bar to enjoy the African folk songs by the restaurant staff - a remarkable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the African flair at the Etosha Safari Camp and would love to welcome you at our lodge again on your next vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Large lodge with 60 chalets. This is why a lot of groups stay here. However the service in restaurant and at the front desk have been very friendly and helpful. In the restaurant the individual travelers are seated on the patio and not in the impersonal dining hall. Dinner is served as a buffet, good quality of food.Practically furnished rooms with ac and coffee maker, no safe or minibar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all4witters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the positive review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp. We have recently added safes to all our rooms to provide some more safety for personal belongings. Furthermore, we are currently putting the finishing touches on the enlarged patio, enabling all of our guests to experience a wonderful dining experience out in the open. Unfortunately we will not be able to provide a minibar in the near future. We are looking forward to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed one night on the campingsite with our car. My recommendations are only based on our camping experience.

The campings site is close to the restaurant and pool area.
There are plenty of clean and nice bathrooms and toilet facilities.
For every campsite there is a lamppost with power outlet.
Campsite is on a lawn, well maintained with personell constantly maintaining and cleaning.

Did not try the buffe but drank a beer and played pool in the bar area. Staff were very friendly.

Perfect for a night of camping before or after visiting Etosha national park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

How pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Etosha Safari Campsite. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our campsite. We are glad that our staff could provide you with a memorable experience and that the service could meet your expectations. Your kind words have been passed to our staff. We would love to welcome you back to our campsite in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
84.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 36 in Etosha National Park
823 reviews
3.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 36 in Etosha National Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Toshari Lodge
Toshari Lodge
#18 of 36 in Etosha National Park
230 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 36 in Etosha National Park
315 reviews
94.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#29 of 36 in Etosha National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Safari Lodge

Address: C38 | 10 km South of Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $152 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Etosha Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the view: the restaurant and chalets, situated on a hillock, offer magnificent views of the African bush savannah. All of the 65 double room chalets have air conditioners and mosquito nets, and a choice of three swimming pools between them. Apart from the restaurant and bar there is a wooden platform for sundowners high above the Mopani bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Etosha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Safari Lodge And Camp
Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing