We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect campingssite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etosha Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect campingssite”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed one night on the campingsite with our car. My recommendations are only based on our camping experience.

The campings site is close to the restaurant and pool area.
There are plenty of clean and nice bathrooms and toilet facilities.
For every campsite there is a lamppost with power outlet.
Campsite is on a lawn, well maintained with personell constantly maintaining and cleaning.

Did not try the buffe but drank a beer and played pool in the bar area. Staff were very friendly.

Perfect for a night of camping before or after visiting Etosha national park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
How pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Etosha Safari Campsite. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our campsite. We are glad that our staff could provide you with a memorable experience and that the service could meet your expectations. Your kind words have been passed to our staff. We would love to welcome you back to our campsite in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    390
    105
    25
    8
See reviews for
263
401
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights at the Etosha Safari Lodge. We enjoyed every moment. We had a great game drive, the food was nice, the service was very good and the manager went out of his way to find back some lost binoculars! Thanks for a great stay! Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This large lodge comprises about 60 chalets, strung out along a hillside, with a central restaurant/bar/reception area, Some of the chalets are a considerable distance downhill from the main building and a shuttle service is offered I believe. The track up to the lodge is about 3 or 4 km from the Andersson Gate. There had been extensive bush fires prior to our visit (October 2012), so the immediate countryside was charred and barren, but the distant views from the long terrace and sun deck are magnificent. Sitting there at nightfall, I was glad I had come to Namibia.
The lodge has 3 pools, and we enjoyed the one close to chalet 55 (I think), as it was quiet and detached.
The chalets were comfortable, with air conditioning, mosquito nets and a walk in wet 'room' off the bedroom, however, one felt quite isolated, and a room safe would have been useful
The food was reasonable, but there was limited choice from the buffet, and the dessert was 'set'.
Plenty of cold meats and cheese for breakfast, but the bacon was cold. Surely it is not difficult to keep food and plates hot?
Staff were attentive and eager to please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wow! We were blown away! We arrived off the hot, dusty and dry road to homemade ice tea and cold face cloths, followed by friendly faces and smooth booking in. The rooms are spread out quite far to the left and right, but you can drive to reception if you get a room to far down - the quiet solitude of being further off is what some people are looking for after all. We stayed in room 47 relatively close to the lodge and enjoyed the spacious and clean lodgings. The staff went over and beyond for anything we required and we felt very looked after. The manager is on hand for anything and really impressed us with his constant enquiries if all was ok, and pitching in to help the staff around the lodge when the people began pouring in from their day at Etosha. The view is stunning and the food even better! The chef even sent back a spoon that fell in the sauce for a clea one - which compared to our stay the previous night in Okaukuejo was a great great improvement! If you do stay here, make a turn at the Etosh Safari Camp bar as well - for Jeffreys amazing margaritas and pina coladas, just the best after a day out in the sun. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of walking up the winding path for ten or so minutes to the main lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstinWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is quite a large lodge which accordingly caters for some larger groups and this is what is probably its failing, it’s impersonal. The setting is nice, on a hill with views in most directions particularly from the sundowner deck. But all rooms are the same price yet are far from equal. Some rooms get great views over the tops of low acacia trees to the horizon beyond, others are on the flat with acacia tress feet from their patios so the view is very limited. Seems the bigger the group and the more regularly you bring a group the better the room you get. So for the independent traveller I’d say look at your room and if you don’t think it’s one of the better, or at least reasonable ones, get it changed.

Rooms are ok. Clean and functional but without any facility for making a tea or coffee and no fridge for an in-room drink. And no room service available at all which probably makes it easy for the lodge as some rooms are 400 metres from the lodge but is a long way for you to collect a drink. You can park outside your room, but beware if you don’t have a high clearance 4WD, in many parts its very loose large stones and uneven.

Breakfast is buffet. Good choice if you are up with the crowd at 7.00 – 7.30, although its very busy around the food stations at those times. From 8.15 onwards, fresh fruit, breads and some cooked items are no longer available despite breakfast not finishing until 09.00. Not really acceptable for a large establishment. Dinner is usually buffet starter, buffet main choice and dessert served at table. I just wish it was served with a smile! Probably the smile was withheld because we insisted on moving tables. Tables are allocated and room numbered. If you don’t like it, they are not happy you upset their routine by changing it. We wanted it changed because of a table full of smokers next to us. Smoking in restaurants is illegal in Namibia, but as this was dining outside on the verhanda of the dining room it seemed this was being ignored by staff and upsetting their table allocations was not well received.

We did a game drive with ESL. Not very successful, save your money and go on your own. Strangely for somewhere with so many tour buses their game drive was only us two people which was very pleasant. How other people are satisfied with game viewing on a 52 or 28 seater bus amazes me.
Nice swimming pools. Main one by lodge is ok, others are discretely located away and quite private. Most people are away game viewing but if you spend an afternoon here you can have a comfortable rest and have the pool all to yourself. Like the rooms though, don’t expect any service by the pools.

Oh, and the second time we visited after a few days on the eastern side of Etosha a bush fire swept through the camp. OK, not their fault as it affected a large area and many camps, 20km along the road to the camp at least. But when we arrived there seemed little organisation. Were we staying? If so in what, smoke filled rooms with no electricity? It seemed Outjo 90km away was filled with people cancelling if they were supposed to be nearer Etosha. So, really no choice but to stay here. And for putting up with this uncertainty...and fear for some people. Organisation, no. Leadership by the hotel, no. Even a drink to calm the nerves or by way of some small gesture, no. The fire is hopefully is a one off, but just in case you get caught in an emergency situation in a Gondwana Collection hotel I’d hope for far better.
All in all big, impersonal, functional but uninspiring with poor service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review above. Gondwana's lodges offer accommodation and service of a good standard and at reasonable prices. This is only feasible if the lodges have a certain amount of rooms. Obviously a 60-room lodge cannot be as personal as a 10-room lodge. However, guests of our lodges usually commend the good service and the friendliness of our staff. We do not offer luxury such as fridges or room service which comes at much higher rates. The rooms of Etosha Safari Lodge are equipped with telephone and coffee station (water kettle, cups, instant coffee, creamer, sugar, tea bags) - we apologize that it was obviously missing in your room. The chalets are built in a row on the slope of a hill in order to provide maximum privacy and bush atmosphere for each guest. Naturally, the chalets differ, not only in view, but also in distance to the central restaurant/reception. The driveway for the cars consist of a cemented two-track path.

We like to apologize for the shortage of some items on the breakfast buffet and the unfriendly behavior of your waiter at dinner. The lodge management will remind the kitchen and service team to deliver the best service possible at all times.

We also regret that you have been unlucky on our safari drive through Etosha National Park. Our guides are in the park on a daily basis, thus having a good idea of when and where to spot certain types of game. In contrary to self-drivers they are in contact with other guides via mobile radio in order to inform each other about sightings of exciting animals like elephants, lions or rhinos. However, as animals roam freely - unlike in a zoo - the sightings of animals in the Etosha National Park are not guaranteed.

We finally like to apologize about any inconvenience the fire caused for you. A bush fire is a natural force, life threatening and unpredictable. Our whole lodge team were non-stop on their feet, fighting the wide-spread fire, caring for the safety of our guests and assisting guests in finding alternative accommodation. Fortunately we could organize rooms and transfers to some lodges in the area which were not affected by the fire. We are also relieved that none of our staff got injured and all of our animals survived. The blackness of the burnt grass and bush will turn into a fresh green of new grass and leaves by the first rainfalls that are to be expected this time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rating: 9/10 (4/5 on TA's scale). When you drive into the campsite, al you see is green, soft grass! So your fist thoughts are that this must be a 10/10 campsite. Well, all sites have electrical power, a braai place and a fixed table and there are some nice shade trees around. The bathrooms are kept clean and so is the whole campsite. So why not a perfect 10? The bathrooms are a bit old and need some attention. Not all the showers have hooks for your clothes etc – they are missing or broken. The lower of the two also has very small basins and no hot water taps for shaving.

Bird life here is awesome and there were birds literally everywhere. There was some wildlife around, including a honey badger, which tipped over all the rubbish bins looking for food. There is also a swimming pool that can be used by campers.

It was quiet when we camped there, so maybe it added to the charm. We enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safrican4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I arrived in the late afternoon to the Etosha Safari Lodge and were immediately sruck by the way in which all the chalets are built on both sides of reception along a ridge line. This made for spectacular views and wonderful sunsets. Unfortunately it means a longish walk to the restaurant if you score one of the outlying rooms. The chalets were spacious and well appointed. The staff were efficient and welcoming and the restaurant provided very good meals. the balcony outside the restaurant also provides excellent views and quite a crowd gathered in the evening to see the sun go down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception if you have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downunder62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comment on Etosha Safari Lodge. It is a 7 min walk from the main building of the lodge to the farthest chalet. Guests can park their car next to the chalet and for dinner the lodge team will organize a shuttle on request. Guests who really have difficulties walking will be accommodated by our receptionists in chalets as close as possible to the main building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
84.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#27 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
94.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Safari Lodge

Property: Etosha Safari Lodge
Address: C38 | 10 km South of Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Etosha Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the view: the restaurant and chalets, situated on a hillock, offer magnificent views of the African bush savannah. All of the 65 double room chalets have air conditioners and mosquito nets, and a choice of three swimming pools between them. Apart from the restaurant and bar there is a wooden platform for sundowners high above the Mopani bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Etosha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp Hotel Etosha National Park
Etosha Safari Lodge And Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing