We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etosha Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A good place to stay at the western entry gate to Etosha. Its a beautiful setting , high on a hill looking over magnificent bush. All the cabins lookout, with little patios to sit ..BUT the only problem with self-drive and lots of luggage to take out from a hot car, was that only a few of the 60 cabins can you park outside of. We had to beg the receptionist to find us one with a car space outside, eventually she gave us one which still was a way from the cabin, but better than the initial one. So when booking you must specifically ask for a cabin with a parking space, that's if you do need one. Otherwise ..wonderful food, great staff, and the chef so obliging with a special diet requirement. We love being here, and hiked the hiking trail below the hotel and it was nice to have this opportunity as all day you are sitting in a vehicle being driven around the Park.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a parking space if you need one, otherwise they are few and far between!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very good time. Our room was very comfortable, very clean, amazing veranda with a very nice view over the park. The food was great and the staff very sympathetic and always willing to help. We had a technical problem in the room and the hotel manager did a nice discount (after some negotiation). We were very happy!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nuno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The bungalows in the Camp side of Etosha Safari are very neat and in private settings, but basic. No fridge in room and only liquid soap in a dispenser, although they will sell you bar soap at reception. Staff are helpful.
The buffet dinner is great, fortunately, because there's nowhere else close by for non-campers to get food.
The restaurant and bar are wonderfully decorated and will be enjoyed.
The Lodge side is more expensive and well-appointed, but the buffet dinner was not that much better than the Camp's.
It is on the road to the Etosha gate.

Room Tip: Stay in the cheaper bungalows in the Camp, then drive to the Lodge for the sunset view (free bar sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAtoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed one night at the camp site but were not really impressed. It is pretty close to the Anderson gate but the camp site itself is rather large and more adapted to groups than couples travelling. At the reception itself, the receptionists were not quite interested in us as camp site guests. It reminded us of packed camping in Europe and did not have the spaciousness of Namibian camp sites. Also the ablution blocks were shared and not too clean. The buffet dinner at the Camp restaurant was, however, quite nice but again not spectacular. The bar itself had a nice atmosphere with live musice before dinner. Also good to know: if you want to see any black rhinos, you have to be in the park after closing of the gate. So, if that is what you want then you have to book something in Etosha itself. Simply try the office there if you were not able to prebook. We were lucky and able to change our second night at the camp site into a spot at Okakeujo. The rhinos were worth taking the loss of one preserved camp site night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

On behalf of our receptionists at Etosha Safari Camp we like to apologise for not having paid enough attention to you. In July, start of the high season in Namibia, things may get a bit hectic at times, especially at lodges, camps and campsites close to the main attractions such as Etosha National Park. Allthough we regard our campsite as spacious, in high season it is usually well-occupied - due to its ideal location (9 km from the Andersson gate to Etosha), its very reasonable rates and its high standard, e.g. shady and cozy sites between Mopane trees and bushes, covered with lawn, and equipped with plugs and taps. Many of our camping guests are delighted about the swimming pool and the restaurant & bar in the style of an African shebeen at the Etosha Safari Camp (in walking distance). Concerning the waterhole at Okaukuejo please allow us to note that there is no 'rhino guarantee' - you can be just as lucky to come accross rhinos, lions or other wild animals on your safari drive through the park during the day, especially when you join a drive with an experienced guide, as offered by most of the lodges and camps in and around Etosha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we found this place exactly as described by others. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was pretty good. What stood out was the excellent service. And, we enjoyed the revolution-themed decor.

We could only afford a single night, but high prices seem to be the norm everywhere in Namibia. We spent the rest of our vacation camping and still came home poor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night in the cabins. Very eclectic decor but fun place. The rooms were nice and clean. We had both buffet dinner and breakfast included with our room. Both were nice.
But we really enjoyed the bar area and the live music outside in the court yard.
They also have a 'sports bar' that they set up to watch the Euro Cup game that night.
Since we were just here one night and were there only about 14 hours we didn't get a chance to explore or experience more than the bar, dining, and our room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here as part of a three-week tour of Namibia and Botswana. Over that time we stayed at some very classy safari lodges, and this was no exception. Very comfortable, well presented, and every attention to detail. The food at the restaurant was nice too. The cabins are stretched out in a long line either side of reception, with the result that many are a good long walk away. Ours were about 400 metres from reception, and the furthest ones are probably 600. Level, easy walking though, lit at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
84.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
905 reviews
3.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
534 reviews
14.7 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#2 of 8 in Etosha National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#19 of 37 in Etosha National Park
85 reviews
94.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#26 of 37 in Etosha National Park
230 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 37 in Etosha National Park
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Safari Lodge

Address: C38 | 10 km South of Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $171 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Etosha Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the view: the restaurant and chalets, situated on a hillock, offer magnificent views of the African bush savannah. All of the 65 double room chalets have air conditioners and mosquito nets, and a choice of three swimming pools between them. Apart from the restaurant and bar there is a wooden platform for sundowners high above the Mopani bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Etosha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Safari Lodge And Camp
Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing