We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but large camp site” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etosha Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Etosha Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient but large camp site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed one night at the camp site but were not really impressed. It is pretty close to the Anderson gate but the camp site itself is rather large and more adapted to groups than couples travelling. At the reception itself, the receptionists were not quite interested in us as camp site guests. It reminded us of packed camping in Europe and did not have the spaciousness of Namibian camp sites. Also the ablution blocks were shared and not too clean. The buffet dinner at the Camp restaurant was, however, quite nice but again not spectacular. The bar itself had a nice atmosphere with live musice before dinner. Also good to know: if you want to see any black rhinos, you have to be in the park after closing of the gate. So, if that is what you want then you have to book something in Etosha itself. Simply try the office there if you were not able to prebook. We were lucky and able to change our second night at the camp site into a spot at Okakeujo. The rhinos were worth taking the loss of one preserved camp site night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee77188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Etosha Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
On behalf of our receptionists at Etosha Safari Camp we like to apologise for not having paid enough attention to you. In July, start of the high season in Namibia, things may get a bit hectic at times, especially at lodges, camps and campsites close to the main attractions such as Etosha National Park. Allthough we regard our campsite as spacious, in high season it is usually well-occupied - due to its ideal location (9 km from the Andersson gate to Etosha), its very reasonable rates and its high standard, e.g. shady and cozy sites between Mopane trees and bushes, covered with lawn, and equipped with plugs and taps. Many of our camping guests are delighted about the swimming pool and the restaurant & bar in the style of an African shebeen at the Etosha Safari Camp (in walking distance). Concerning the waterhole at Okaukuejo please allow us to note that there is no 'rhino guarantee' - you can be just as lucky to come accross rhinos, lions or other wild animals on your safari drive through the park during the day, especially when you join a drive with an experienced guide, as offered by most of the lodges and camps in and around Etosha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    378
    103
    24
    8
See reviews for
256
389
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we found this place exactly as described by others. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was pretty good. What stood out was the excellent service. And, we enjoyed the revolution-themed decor.

We could only afford a single night, but high prices seem to be the norm everywhere in Namibia. We spent the rest of our vacation camping and still came home poor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night in the cabins. Very eclectic decor but fun place. The rooms were nice and clean. We had both buffet dinner and breakfast included with our room. Both were nice.
But we really enjoyed the bar area and the live music outside in the court yard.
They also have a 'sports bar' that they set up to watch the Euro Cup game that night.
Since we were just here one night and were there only about 14 hours we didn't get a chance to explore or experience more than the bar, dining, and our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here as part of a three-week tour of Namibia and Botswana. Over that time we stayed at some very classy safari lodges, and this was no exception. Very comfortable, well presented, and every attention to detail. The food at the restaurant was nice too. The cabins are stretched out in a long line either side of reception, with the result that many are a good long walk away. Ours were about 400 metres from reception, and the furthest ones are probably 600. Level, easy walking though, lit at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here only one night but it was quite magical. We arrived after dark and everything is lit by torches or lights that give a fire-light glow. We stayed in one of the individual cabins/cabanas and thought it was well designed: space for two pieces of luggage off the floor, enough surface space for "stuff", a very comfy bed and a great shower (but no tub). Very clean. The room was nicely decorated and felt fresh and luxurious, especially after staying a night in a no-so-luxe place. The food at the lodge was very good. Loved sitting out on the verandah of the lodge enjoying our meals. The staff was very accommodating, friendly. It is very close to the Anderson Gate at Etosha and would make a good base for exploring the mid part of Etosha.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

It is the second time we visited the Etosha Safari Camp and I can recommend it and we shall be back. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich_Hellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

we stayed at the camp and all the rooms were a long way from reception. We managed to get the only jug on the premises to make a drink, our room was basic, clean and comfortable but a very long way from the restaurant. the location was good for visiting etosha np which we did for two days. Food was good and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: try to get a room near restaurant or you will have a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
85.1 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
94.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.7 mi away
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
Epacha Game Lodge and Spa
#4 of 8 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
10.7 mi away
Toshari Lodge
Toshari Lodge
#17 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Safari Lodge

Property: Etosha Safari Lodge
Address: C38 | 10 km South of Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Etosha Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the view: the restaurant and chalets, situated on a hillock, offer magnificent views of the African bush savannah. All of the 65 double room chalets have air conditioners and mosquito nets, and a choice of three swimming pools between them. Apart from the restaurant and bar there is a wooden platform for sundowners high above the Mopani bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Etosha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp Hotel Etosha National Park
Etosha Safari Lodge And Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing