We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”
Review of Onkoshi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Onkoshi Camp
Garden Route, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We found the staff to be friendly and efficient and the food to be of a high standard. The rooms have the most amazing views, but no aircon is a major minus, it was extremely hot when we visited and we certainly would have appreciated it, I do understand though that electricity isn't something that can be taken for granted in such a remote location. Not having a fridge in the room is also a minus, we had our own as we were alternating between camping and staying in lodges, but would have missed having cold drinks if we hadn't been self sufficient in that respect.

The location is unbeatable, when the pans have water it would be spectacular, but dry they have a magic of their own. We were in our own vehicle and saw plenty of game during our visit, we were privileged to see a pride of lions, with at least 4 cubs, lying under a tree next to the road, only 100 metres or so from the lodge on the morning that we left.

Altogether a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Wow! Beautiful amazing location in Etosha! Greeted in such a way that you forget about all your worries! We reached Onkoshi after sunset around 6pm on the 4th of May after driving in circles and were welcomed by a gentlemen dressed professionally at the entrance with a cocktail for each of us assuring us that we were not late. He showed us around, our room, and took his time to make sure we were comfortable. Dinner and breakfast was great. Service in the dining area is really good. Clean and very beautiful, stunning views and absolutely gorgeous sunsets!!
Only recommendation is that as a 5 star lodge they should have a welcome letter with directions at Namutoni camp (where you have to check in before heading over to Onkoshi).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Luxury in wilderness

Perfect service and delicious food, peace, infinity, a fantastic place to be. We spend here three nights, service was excellente.






Luxury in wilderness

perfect service and delicious food, peace, infinity, a fantastic place to be

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willemke2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 9 days in total in Etosha at all the various NWR camps and Onkoshi was by far the biggest disappointment. It is trying to be a 5 star type establishment but the staff, whilst they do try, do not have a clue and the management are weak and seem to prefer sitting behind their desks all day rather than dealing with guests. Having been to Dolomite earlier in our trip we were expecting a similar or better calibre of accommodation and service given the price but were disappointed on both counts.

The accommodation is neat and clean but the tent does get very hot during the day, the pool is tiny and faces onto the decks of half of the units and the communal and dining areas are average. The curtains are often drawn in the dinning area obscuring the view of the pan.

Staff and management don't seem to think about or anticipate what their guests may want. Despite perfect weather the staff do not set up any tables or seating on the outside deck for dinner or sundowners and then scramble to do this only when guests arrive at the main area and ask. Most of the guests ended up carrying their own chairs out onto the deck to watch the sunset. We were at least lucky enough to get ice with our G&T for sundowners being the first to arrive but they ran out soon after. They also ran out of swimming towels at the pool with only 8 guests in house. We did enjoy the food during our stay.

We enjoyed the beautiful location overlooking the pan and can imagine that in the wet season there will be a lot more wildlife activity. We were however glad that we made the journey to the camp in our own 4x4 because the game drives are pricey and go all the way back down to the Namuntoni area which is where we had just spent 2 days. We were happy to self-drive around the area which allowed us to appreciate the smaller mammals, snakes and bird life rather than rush to the far off watering holes. Although we did not do a game drive the game rangers did seem professional and knowledgable when we spoke to them.

To sum it up the lodge has a lot of potential in terms of facilities and location but the staff and lack of management make for a very disappointing experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Onkoshi was a final treat I planned for my wife and I at the end of a 14 day self drive vacation from Joburg to Etosha and back. Having stayed at and enjoyed Halali camp for a greater portion of the vacation we had our hopes up for a sumptuous finale to the vacation. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that we were the only guests. On further inquiry the "acting" manager informed us that they were reviewing pricing as bookings were very low and the camp was struggling. The honeymoon suite I had booked was superbly appointed with 180 degree views of the pan right in front of the elevated patio. We had three days of solitary bliss but I soon understood the limitation of the camp. You are driven in and may not drive around in your own vehicle, so the only way to view game in that area is on paid game drives at R500.00 per drive. The area is also not prime for big cats and birding from a paid game drive has its limitations. Highlight : the design of the camp on elevated walkways and the position on the pan. Lowlight : Very few guests and the staff are slightly demoralized due to low occupancy.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This camp was the biggest disapointment of out trip/ The staff were hopeless! The rooms were hot and had no aircon, no fridge, no drinking water and no ice. The food was very 'School Dinners'; Only two choices chicken orkudu, the chickenwas hammered to within an inch of its life to make it dry and taseless, the veg were frozen. We had millions of insects battering us, our plates and food all through dinner in the restaurant. The manager interupted our conversation and stood by our table mumbling in an inarticulate way...this was the first time we had seen him all day. We were not taken to our hut but some one pointed to where we must go. The walkways were only half lit in the dark and we had to go out at 7am to get a flask of hot water if we wanted coffee.
I was served a gin and tonic in a lager glass with an advert on it. We could not wait to leave.
The staff were inefficient with a could not care attitude.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hadawayandfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This camp is way to expensive for what you get and in our opinion is poorly managed. Maybe it was because we were the only guests apart from the night we arrived, that they let everything slide. We paid R6000 (at time of booking - about GBP 500) per couple per night DBB and apart from a beautiful view of the pan, there is no game there as the nearest water holes are many miles away. Game drives are an extra R1000 per couple per drive, and you pay additionally for lunch and obviously beverages. The camp is not self drive and one is collected at Namutoni in order to be driven to Onkoshi. We arrived at Namutoni at 11am to be told that collection had been 10.30 am and that they couldn't reach the camp via telephone at the time and had no idea when anyone would be coming through again, if at all that day and that we should just wait and they would see what they could do. No one had informed us of a fixed collection time at reservation, and in fact it turned out to be a load of nonsense. We sat in the hot baking sun for 2.5 hours with no joy, during which time I phoned Head Office reservations in Windhoek. I was told to get hold of the Namutoni manager and ask them to sort it out. All of a sudden the camp could be contacted and we were told someone was on their way to collect us.

The setting with a view right over the actual pan is lovely. The food is good...the only exception being Namibian beef steak which is as tough as blazes. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed chatting to them and they were helpful when in sight.

We spent 2 nights and due to late collection, essentially only had the following day there where we were the only guests. After breakfast, we arranged lunch at about 1pm and returned to our room. A few hours later, we decided to go to the pool and also have a few drinks. Everything was locked up and the staff had all gone back to their village, so we had no access to anything, not even the pool. Not acceptable at these prices! We found a staff member and he ran to the village to get someone to unlock for us an hour later. Ashtrays a day later weren't emptied either in the room or in the main lodge area.

The rooms are all west facing with windowed sides and in the afternoon the rooms are unpleasantly hot. Temperatures were around 39C. There is no aircon, the fan is above a mosquito net, so is ineffective, no bar fridge, can't drink the tap water and the running cold water is as hot as the hot water.

On our last evening after dinner, we walked the approx 300 m back to our room and most of the lamps along the wooden elevated walkway had been switched off, so was in virtual darkness.

When the pan has water, It would be beautiful to see the flamingos and pelicans, but that would be in even hotter temps than we experienced.

We were very disappointed. They don't come remotely close to delivering the service relative to the 5 star prices they charge. It's a lovely camp and has so much potential.

Room Tip: Don't bother to book the honeymoon suite, it's the same as the others, but with a bigger bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theXmases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
74.2 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 35 in Etosha National Park
916 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 35 in Etosha National Park
790 reviews
70.7 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.3 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#24 of 35 in Etosha National Park
58 reviews
72.7 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
297 reviews
21.5 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onkoshi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onkoshi Camp

Property: Onkoshi Camp
Address: Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onkoshi Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Onkoshi Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing